$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel

Every thing was great. All the shopping and dining is in the hotel. Makes it great when you dont have to load your kids and everyone up to find something to eat. We did not even leave the resort once we checked in. That's great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Week getaway
Business
Upstate, SC
Aug 17, 2013

Much better than expected.

Been to the beach before and wasnt expecting much. The hotel was nice, the front desk clerk even let us check in early after driving all night. The setup took a couple hours to get used to with the checkin and office across the road, but once we settled in, we found that we did not need anything. The room was very spacious. the king jacuzzi suite had 2 seperate bedrooms, and a split bathroom with FULL kitchen. WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT! the split rooms was great because it allowed privacy both between us and our travel guest, and allowed us each to independantly watch tv and control our comfort with the AC :) Its at the end of Ocean Blvd, which is the major downside, but a short drive north and enjoyable scenery made that a minor point. The only two downsides I seen was the king suite was not on the balcony side of the unit. (murphy bed and sleeper sofa was in balcony room, king bed in entry bedroom) I would have swapped them for the ability to keep balcony open and listen to the ocean at night. and #2, they were having elevator issues while there. Of the 3 elevators in our building 2, one was down the entire week. However elevator techs were there all week working on each one, so maybe they are improving. Very comfortable stay, room was clean. We didnt even get a chance to check out all they have to offer, many many many pools, lounges, resturants. Definately a repeat stayin the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Pirate Voyage Dinner show was fantastic. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
virg
Business
myrlte beach sc
Aug 12, 2013

family vacation

local charges should have been 27.50 but where 31.10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCoop
Business
Anderson SC
Aug 8, 2013

summer vacation

Horrible experience with check-in. Took over one hour and then room not ready. Unable to get in room until 6:30pm. Elevators either broken or took 30 minutes to get, so took stairs entire week. Unable to locate luggage cart or get staff assistance with this. Carried all luggage up stairs to room. Once in room, cleanliness OK but no shower curtain and not enough towels. Unable to get staff assistance for several hours. Restaurants in building not open at convenient hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mannie Sue
Business
South Carolina
Aug 8, 2013

Weekend getaway

The hotel was really an awesome experience for us. We had less than a 2 minute wait to check in, the parking was conveniently located in the parking garage underneath the hotel & the South location had almost no hotel traffic. The stay was wonderful. We had a fully stocked kitchen with coffee maker which we used because they provided coffee, creamer, sugar & cups. The bathroom was spotless. The staff came and cleaned up on regular basis & if we needed anything they brought it right up. We got to stay on the very top floor, 11th, and the oceanfront view was spectacular at sunrise. The lazy river and pool was great & very clean. The room had a beachy feel. The walls was a peach color, beach pictures were hanging on walls, the bed was clean & it had a beachthemed color pattern. We had a flat screen on wall, dresser with mirror and provided hangers in closet. Plus we had an iron, ironing board & a safe! At the day of checkout, it didnt take 1 minute to get us checked out! The experience was the best we have ever had & I couldn't ask for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeOhMy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 5, 2013

Just Horrible!

This is surely not a 3-star hotel, hardly even a 1! The best thing about this hotel was the view from the balcony, that is all. When we got off of the elevator and approached the door we were disgusted - and we hadn't even been in the room yet! The door was filthy, the curtains were filthy from the outside looking through the window, we were afraid to go in. When we went in, it smelled of mildew. The furniture was outdated, there was a hole in the wall - YES, a hole in the wall! The light in the bathroom wouldn't come on. We requested it to be repaired twice and both times it was not fixed. Housekeeping didn't clean the room. We had to catch her in the hallway and ask if we can get the beds made, trash emptied, and fresh towels. It took about 4 attempts before we got fresh towels. The bathroom was never cleaned during our stay. The water drained out Slowly from the tub when we showered. So we had to stand in dirty water while showering in a dirty tub that housekeeping never cleaned during our stay, the room was just horrible. I would not recommend this place to anyone. It was not worth it the money that we paid! I want a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to a visitor's center for coupons!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conniehoney
Business
Commerce Ga.
Jul 28, 2013

Not Happy

Room not clean . Chairs and table out side had mold on them. 409 and Clorox would take care of that. Floor did not look like it had been cleaned for a while. Bathroom door Handel was very bad I clean it with soap . When I booked the room it said all rooms had a microwave it did not . A bowling lane and a Starbucks not. When I call to complain I was told they needed to up date there site. I could have had a better room at hotel 6. Not worth the money. Would not stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parkranger420
Business
walkertown nc
Jul 28, 2013

Will not stay again

Trash on walkways by rooms, cigarette butts overflowing trash cans pizza boxes etc. and this was the entire week. Pile of cigarette butts on floor by elevator NEVER CLEANED UP! Room dated and cramped. WiFi was so weak could not log on. Elevators were very slow, expect a long wait. On the day of check out waited 45 mins for elevator ended up carrying luggage down 6 flights of stairs. Pool was extremely dirty. Will never stay there again. Folks I ain't exaggerating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi266666
Business
St Josep,h Michigan
Jul 23, 2013

disappointed

Well when I arrived, which was around 9:45, I went to go check into my room but was tolkd I could not check in early due to the fact that check in is at 4pm? So, I had to sit around and wait until 4pm with my luggage until my room was ready. Then once I got to the room, it was not clean, the bathroom needed to be wiped down and the floors needed to be swept. So, I basically waited to get into a dirty room. The hotel is beach from but no real attractions. I suggest you purchase a hotel more North Myrtle beach off of Ocean blvd, there is a whole lot more to do than just the beach amenities and pools at the resort. Other than that, my stay was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want live entertainment and things for the family to do, I would not recommend this hotel. Go more north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lucon
Business
kenilworth,nj
Jul 16, 2013

very dirty

no staff around any where ,the room is very dirty smell bed ,the pillow have hair .when was check in no people have to wait .never come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
this question should be d
Business
Greenwood SC
Jul 6, 2013

Bad place to stay

The hotel room itself was okay. The room obviously has not been updated since built.There was no maid service during our stay not even clean towels each day. The pool area was dirty with trash and pools were dirty to the point of looking unsanitary. We were afraid to even get in any of the pools or spa.This hotel must have been one of the best when it was built but has been allowed to deteriorate to the point that I would not stay there again. With some money spent to upgrade and clean up this hotel could become a very nice place to stay. I don't think it deserves the 3 star rating yo have given. Also, quit asking for nicknames ln these reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top