$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
200 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kpc777
Raleigh, NC
Jul 1, 2013

NOT customer oriented

I can forgive the fact that there was very little within walking distance to the hotel (that's not their fault#, but there are certain problems I cannot forgive. For one, it took a full FIFTY MINUTES to check into this hotel -- an that's just to get through the first line where I had to re-enter everything that had already been entered on the computer through the booking agency (why do they need me and every other customer to fill out several pages worth of time-consuming paperwork in the age of computers?) After I made it through this line, the receptionist told me to stand in another line to get my parking pass -- apparently this was so that they could up-sell me some tourist stuff I didn't need! Very unprofessional and very NON-CUSTOMER ORIENTED. It's almost as if they have no intention of gaining repeat customers. What a mind-bogglingly frustrating way to start a vacation, especially after a long drive! And to top all of this off, the entire hotel has a run-down feel to it. There is no reason simple maintenance can't be done to make the place look a bit more presentable. Again, I am convinced they are not concerned about repeat customers. The only saving grace for the hotel was their restaurant staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach,SC
Jun 28, 2013

Do Not Stay Here

This hotel is filthy and disgusting.....the rooms, the pools, the hot tubs.......NOTHING is clean. I will never stay here again and do not recommend for others to choose this hotel either........Myrtle Beach is a great place and has lots to offer so keep looking and don't stay at Crown Reef

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset Penn Mann
Martinsville,Va.
Jun 28, 2013

Disappointed

The hotel is in need of an upgrade, I was very disappointed in the rating of the hotel. The beds are old, the carpet is old, the décor is out dated. The grounds needs upkeep and the concrete around the hotel is all cracked up and in need of repair. We do not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Common Market, we enjoyed the dinning an the shopping.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jun 27, 2013

YUK!!!

Yuk!!! This place is very nasty, needs better up keeping. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisydoo78
South Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Have been there before but won't be back...

I have stayed at the Crown Reef before for buisness conferences and for personal family vacations but this last stay (June 2013) was awful!! We stayed in Tower 1 and the elevators didn't work, the overall apperance of the hotel was nasty and outdated and smelled of mildew, the room left a lot to be desired although the view was amazing. The pools were visibly dirty and cloudy and the kids pool wasn't even open. Sorry I will be taking my money elsewhere on the strand for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtw
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2013

Family get away

Not bad place for the family, but the kitchen and room could be a little cleaner and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DreamGirl1
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2013

Wonderful Trip

I really enjoyed my stay, The room was beautiful and comfortable, the view was awesome. The staff was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PattyBob
Virginia
Jun 23, 2013

Not Happy

This hotel does not live up to its billing ! The room was not very clean - hair in the sink and dirt on the floor. This was to be a special weekend for my wife's Birthday, and we were very disappointed upon arrival. Parking is also a nightmare. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stick58
Roanoke VA
Jun 22, 2013

SLIMEY CRUD

Let me see-- where do I start-- We basically lost 2 days of our vacation which was suppose to be fun.. Upon checking in-- 1st of all--It took quite a long time.. After we finally got checked in, we got to our room finally after climbing 9 flights of stairs because only one of the elevators worked in a 3 tower resort.. We asked for a lower room because of the elevators.. They give us a room on the second floor only for us to find out that evening that the air condition did not work.. (good thing we had a fan with us) that helped us survive the night of sweating.. Trying to get some air, we took a tour of the whole place.. SLIMEY!! Looking at the many pools and hot tubs that they had-- most of them was slimy-- green and again-- SLIMEY.. bugs crawling all over the place outside, stinky and crud everywhere.. I was sick to my stomach at this point. No staff on duty to clean at all, and not maintenance to fix the ac.. Needless to say, we packed the car up at 7am and finally got checked out 9am.. Then another day wasted trying to find another resort to stay, which we did, but couldn't check in until 4pm.. So 2 days wasted of a 4 day vacation.. I gave a 1 star for amenities only because they have lots of them, but nothing in even good condition. I'm asking you for a refund of the nights stay at CRR..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overall87
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Understaffed, Rude, and VEry late check in times

I got there at 11am was told I couldn't check in until 4pm. Went to check in at 4pm and there was a line all the way out the door with only 2 staff members there to help everybody. The staff was rude and was in no hurry to get everyone out of there. The hotel is old and not very well maintained. I would not recomend this hotel it is definitely not worth the price. If you can get it for about $70 a night then go for it but other than that find somewhere else in North myrtle beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk

Back to menu Return to top

Change search