$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi266666
Business
St Josep,h Michigan
Jul 23, 2013

disappointed

Well when I arrived, which was around 9:45, I went to go check into my room but was tolkd I could not check in early due to the fact that check in is at 4pm? So, I had to sit around and wait until 4pm with my luggage until my room was ready. Then once I got to the room, it was not clean, the bathroom needed to be wiped down and the floors needed to be swept. So, I basically waited to get into a dirty room. The hotel is beach from but no real attractions. I suggest you purchase a hotel more North Myrtle beach off of Ocean blvd, there is a whole lot more to do than just the beach amenities and pools at the resort. Other than that, my stay was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want live entertainment and things for the family to do, I would not recommend this hotel. Go more north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lucon
Business
kenilworth,nj
Jul 16, 2013

very dirty

no staff around any where ,the room is very dirty smell bed ,the pillow have hair .when was check in no people have to wait .never come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
this question should be d
Business
Greenwood SC
Jul 6, 2013

Bad place to stay

The hotel room itself was okay. The room obviously has not been updated since built.There was no maid service during our stay not even clean towels each day. The pool area was dirty with trash and pools were dirty to the point of looking unsanitary. We were afraid to even get in any of the pools or spa.This hotel must have been one of the best when it was built but has been allowed to deteriorate to the point that I would not stay there again. With some money spent to upgrade and clean up this hotel could become a very nice place to stay. I don't think it deserves the 3 star rating yo have given. Also, quit asking for nicknames ln these reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole48146
Business
Michigan
Jul 2, 2013

Something for Nothing

Amenities are great, location on the beach is wonderful, staff (except 1 person) was phenomenal. Thank you for the 1 night stay before the fire displaced us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kpc777
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 1, 2013

NOT customer oriented

I can forgive the fact that there was very little within walking distance to the hotel (that's not their fault#, but there are certain problems I cannot forgive. For one, it took a full FIFTY MINUTES to check into this hotel -- an that's just to get through the first line where I had to re-enter everything that had already been entered on the computer through the booking agency (why do they need me and every other customer to fill out several pages worth of time-consuming paperwork in the age of computers?) After I made it through this line, the receptionist told me to stand in another line to get my parking pass -- apparently this was so that they could up-sell me some tourist stuff I didn't need! Very unprofessional and very NON-CUSTOMER ORIENTED. It's almost as if they have no intention of gaining repeat customers. What a mind-bogglingly frustrating way to start a vacation, especially after a long drive! And to top all of this off, the entire hotel has a run-down feel to it. There is no reason simple maintenance can't be done to make the place look a bit more presentable. Again, I am convinced they are not concerned about repeat customers. The only saving grace for the hotel was their restaurant staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach,SC
Jun 28, 2013

Do Not Stay Here

This hotel is filthy and disgusting.....the rooms, the pools, the hot tubs.......NOTHING is clean. I will never stay here again and do not recommend for others to choose this hotel either........Myrtle Beach is a great place and has lots to offer so keep looking and don't stay at Crown Reef

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset Penn Mann
Business
Martinsville,Va.
Jun 28, 2013

Disappointed

The hotel is in need of an upgrade, I was very disappointed in the rating of the hotel. The beds are old, the carpet is old, the décor is out dated. The grounds needs upkeep and the concrete around the hotel is all cracked up and in need of repair. We do not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Common Market, we enjoyed the dinning an the shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
Business
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jun 27, 2013

YUK!!!

Yuk!!! This place is very nasty, needs better up keeping. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisydoo78
Business
South Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Have been there before but won't be back...

I have stayed at the Crown Reef before for buisness conferences and for personal family vacations but this last stay (June 2013) was awful!! We stayed in Tower 1 and the elevators didn't work, the overall apperance of the hotel was nasty and outdated and smelled of mildew, the room left a lot to be desired although the view was amazing. The pools were visibly dirty and cloudy and the kids pool wasn't even open. Sorry I will be taking my money elsewhere on the strand for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtw
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2013

Family get away

Not bad place for the family, but the kitchen and room could be a little cleaner and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top