$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEnglish
Business
EL Paso, TX
Aug 26, 2013

BEach room

The location was far away from all the excitement of Myrtle beach but close to the airport. The beach front experience was great... great views!!. However, my room was horrible! There was mold, horrible smell, Fridge did not work and the room was just not good!! The hotel was also very old! I did not like the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nctsiawd
Business
Burlington, North Carolina
Aug 22, 2013

Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrspooda
Business
sc
Aug 22, 2013

it was ok

The hotel needs some serious upgrading for.the money they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyrebus54
Business
Lexington, SC
Aug 19, 2013

Great Getaway

My wife and I were looking for somewhere nice but not extravagant for a short getaway. This place was a little older property but clean with a very helpful and fun staff. Great bartender Sam and housekeeping personnel were very pleasant and courteous. if you a lot of bang for your buck this is the place. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courtney Weekend getaway
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 19, 2013

Disappointing experience.

This hotel was no where near worth what I paid. It takes 5-10 just for the elevators to arrive. The parking garage was overly crowded and horribly setup. Overall, the hotel was not very clean either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Week getaway
Business
Upstate, SC
Aug 17, 2013

Much better than expected.

Been to the beach before and wasnt expecting much. The hotel was nice, the front desk clerk even let us check in early after driving all night. The setup took a couple hours to get used to with the checkin and office across the road, but once we settled in, we found that we did not need anything. The room was very spacious. the king jacuzzi suite had 2 seperate bedrooms, and a split bathroom with FULL kitchen. WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT! the split rooms was great because it allowed privacy both between us and our travel guest, and allowed us each to independantly watch tv and control our comfort with the AC :) Its at the end of Ocean Blvd, which is the major downside, but a short drive north and enjoyable scenery made that a minor point. The only two downsides I seen was the king suite was not on the balcony side of the unit. (murphy bed and sleeper sofa was in balcony room, king bed in entry bedroom) I would have swapped them for the ability to keep balcony open and listen to the ocean at night. and #2, they were having elevator issues while there. Of the 3 elevators in our building 2, one was down the entire week. However elevator techs were there all week working on each one, so maybe they are improving. Very comfortable stay, room was clean. We didnt even get a chance to check out all they have to offer, many many many pools, lounges, resturants. Definately a repeat stayin the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Pirate Voyage Dinner show was fantastic. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
virg
Business
myrlte beach sc
Aug 12, 2013

family vacation

local charges should have been 27.50 but where 31.10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCoop
Business
Anderson SC
Aug 8, 2013

summer vacation

Horrible experience with check-in. Took over one hour and then room not ready. Unable to get in room until 6:30pm. Elevators either broken or took 30 minutes to get, so took stairs entire week. Unable to locate luggage cart or get staff assistance with this. Carried all luggage up stairs to room. Once in room, cleanliness OK but no shower curtain and not enough towels. Unable to get staff assistance for several hours. Restaurants in building not open at convenient hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mannie Sue
Business
South Carolina
Aug 8, 2013

Weekend getaway

The hotel was really an awesome experience for us. We had less than a 2 minute wait to check in, the parking was conveniently located in the parking garage underneath the hotel & the South location had almost no hotel traffic. The stay was wonderful. We had a fully stocked kitchen with coffee maker which we used because they provided coffee, creamer, sugar & cups. The bathroom was spotless. The staff came and cleaned up on regular basis & if we needed anything they brought it right up. We got to stay on the very top floor, 11th, and the oceanfront view was spectacular at sunrise. The lazy river and pool was great & very clean. The room had a beachy feel. The walls was a peach color, beach pictures were hanging on walls, the bed was clean & it had a beachthemed color pattern. We had a flat screen on wall, dresser with mirror and provided hangers in closet. Plus we had an iron, ironing board & a safe! At the day of checkout, it didnt take 1 minute to get us checked out! The experience was the best we have ever had & I couldn't ask for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MeOhMy
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 5, 2013

Just Horrible!

This is surely not a 3-star hotel, hardly even a 1! The best thing about this hotel was the view from the balcony, that is all. When we got off of the elevator and approached the door we were disgusted - and we hadn't even been in the room yet! The door was filthy, the curtains were filthy from the outside looking through the window, we were afraid to go in. When we went in, it smelled of mildew. The furniture was outdated, there was a hole in the wall - YES, a hole in the wall! The light in the bathroom wouldn't come on. We requested it to be repaired twice and both times it was not fixed. Housekeeping didn't clean the room. We had to catch her in the hallway and ask if we can get the beds made, trash emptied, and fresh towels. It took about 4 attempts before we got fresh towels. The bathroom was never cleaned during our stay. The water drained out Slowly from the tub when we showered. So we had to stand in dirty water while showering in a dirty tub that housekeeping never cleaned during our stay, the room was just horrible. I would not recommend this place to anyone. It was not worth it the money that we paid! I want a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to a visitor's center for coupons!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top