$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluesman2013
Rock hill sc
Jan 1, 2013

One year anniversy

I enjoyed the stay at crown reef resort. Everyone is friendly. Beautiful rooms, and clean ones at that. I will be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hollister
Business
NC
May 20, 2014

Disappointed

Definitely not like the pictures online. I expected it to be a fun place with huge pools, a nice room, etc (like the pictures) but I got the complete opposite. The room was decent, none of the furniture matched but that’s not really a big deal. The carpet was wet from the air conditioner which was kind of gross. What I was most displeased with was the tower we were placed in. We were in tower 3 which looked like the only tower at this resort that hasn’t been renovated yet. Towers one and two looked much better than ours. Our elevators were broken the whole weekend so we had to walk up and down 9 flights of stairs. Luckily we found the staff elevator but it was clanky and dirty. There were no signs telling you where to go or what elevators to take since they were renovating the place. We ran into a bunch of dead ends and construction areas and had to turn all the way around. The pools advertised that they closed at 11 but when we got down there Thursday night at 8:30 they were already closed and the hot tubs were freezing. The pools were not indoors at all and were too cold to enjoy. The only thing I liked about our stay was the friendly staff and the Loco Gecko restaurant. I was expecting a lot more, very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daniel cross
Business
south Carolina
Mar 21, 2014

was not good at they should have let it be known that they was under renovation

I will not go back they never said anything about being under renovation and the have charged my card for over 100 dollars gave it back and now that I'm home I see where they have charged me over 100 dollars again has been by far the worst time I ever had with any hotel now I guess I got to call them and see about getting the money the hotel keeps charging me back I never thought I would have to worry about paying the hotel over 100 dollars but with that said they will never get me again I will look and check into the hotels a lot closer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Puckett52
Business
North Carolina
Feb 26, 2014

Unsatisfactory conditions

The following is our list of complaints regarding our stay at Crown Reef from 2/21/2014 – 2/23/2014 • Our non-smoking room had a light smell of stale smoke which permeated our clothes when hung in closet • Elevator dirty with floor tiles cracked; emergency phone missing and inspection was out of date • Walked on dirt floor over wires and yellow power cords to get to pools • Massive construction was our view from balcony • Breakfast was across street • Maid service consisted of emptying our trash. • VMB card wouldn't scan We were not informed of this massive ongoing construction either on Crown Reef website or upon checking in. We found this place to be dirty and hazardous with very few of the amenities mentioned online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elizabeth W
Business
sc
Jan 3, 2014

great getaway

Room didn't have microwave but was still fine and little restaurant has great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thunt6
Business
Lumberton, NC, USA
Dec 2, 2013

Bad experience

Substance looked like feces on door seal. Beer bottle left in the room. Bathroom semi clean. Room in need of severe upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Griffin
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 18, 2013

Good price, good location

It was a good price and good location. Had an ocean view. Only real negative I noticed was a huge red tinted stain on the carpet, no movie channels, and the Wi-Fi was a little sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runaway Grandma
Business
Greenville, SC
Sep 17, 2013

great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower so stairs can be an option but the elevator service was good. Little or minimum waiting. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregoryrr
Business
San Francisco ca
Sep 10, 2013

Not a good value

I have NO idea how this property was rated 3 stars. it is if no one ever actually went to this property because not even clos to 3. i would give it a half star but that isnt a choice. Staff is friendly. Outdoor areas are reasonably nice. Beach access is great. That's the good stuff. Thief hotel owners need to open up the checkbook and spend some money on this place! Paint is peeling, carpets are worn and dirty, the top of the tv in the room was partly melted, the mini refrigerator was cracked and wouldn't get cols enough to matter, bed spread was ripped and you didn't want to let it touch your skin. In short, the room was gross. This place has potential but until the rooms are upgraded, I would avoid this location. There are many places that are a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truthseeker
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 6, 2013

the place is awful

Awful The.place was dirty and the elevators did not work. The pools were dirty and the guys that kept the outside clean did not do anything. The beach is very nice.The Do not go there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philaviametro
Business
Philly
Sep 3, 2013

Family Getaway

It was nice... Just miner prblems with the tub. But we was able to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top