$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brownie Mom
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Extremely disappointed!!!!

It was extremely dirty. Our phones in the room did not work and we had a broken bed. The hallways always had garbage on the floors and the elevators wreaked. We had a beautiful view to the ocean front, but nothing in the hotel worked!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Apparently in a garbage dump
Jun 29, 2012

All I can say is WOW... Run AWAY!

If you have reservations here cancel them now and go elsewhere. I arrived on Tuesday - a walk in - I thought i was getting a deal at a great resort I was wrong. After waiting for 5 hours for them to get a room ready for me because it had to be "inspected" before they could show it to us, we walked in to our suite.... There were still fingerprints on the window to the balcony - enough to where you could not see from knee down, and a substance of unknown orgin on the bathroom wall. After waiting 5 hours to see the room and not being able to check for other rooms in the area I was pretty much stuck with this or not staying on the beach.... so we got the room and housekeeping was at the room cleaning it when we got back to the room... After a trip to buy cleaning supplies and air freshener to erase the armpit smell the room was tolerable at best. Day 2 - Wife stepped on a glass bottle in front of the hotel on the beach... cant blame them but still.... also no housekeeping came by. We simply thought we had missed them and we had enough towels to get us by so no big deal .... called downstairs housekeeping runs from 10 to 3. When walking to our room we smelled what can best be described as funk.... The trash chute room was left open in front of our room and of course we now know where the smell in the room was coming from. Day 3 - We were out of the room for 5 hours from 10 - 3 - came back to the room - no housekeeping. Called downstairs they said someone would be right up. 1.5 hours later housekeeping arrived and we left. The room looked OK. When we went to bed we discovered they didnt even pull up the sheets ... they only pulled the covers up over the bed... seriously... a small thing but still.... oh yeah and the trash chute was still open.... Day 4 - We were gone from 10 - 3 again - again no housekeeping ... housekeeping knocked on the door at 5:30 we asked them to come back in 15 minutes so we could finish showering and leave. They said OK after drying off with washcloths we left.... This time when we came back we were greeted by a vacuum cleaner still left at our door, along with all of our trash and our neighbors. I went down to complain at the guest services and they said they would have someone up to clean it up. After a 1.5 hour walk on the beach the trash was still there. I then went across the street to complain ... I was informed i should call when housekeeping is in house as they cannot do anything now and there is no manager on duty i can complain to. In summary ... Save your money - or go somewhere else. They are doing the bare minimum to be called a "resort", and are failing at the basic services that even a motel would provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you decide to stay here Big Lots is a short drive away for cleaning supplies and air freshener.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TKudico
Couples
Warren, MI
Jun 11, 2012

Crow Reef-not Crown Reef

The hotel didn't have anybody to run the shuttle so we had to pay a taxi and then get reimbursed. The room was decent but the carpet was filthy as my feet turned black everyday just walking in the room. The balcony was covered in bird droppings - not very sanitary. None of the pools are heated and the spa was only warm. The restaurants must be only seasonal since 1 was only open for breakfast. The pool bar wasn't operational and most of the time staff members were not seen. The housekeeping staff is the only thing that gets kudos from me as they at least stopped by every day with fresh towels for us. This place SUCKED! I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
l smith
Single
Oak Ridge< TN
Jun 9, 2012

An exccellent Resort

I would recommend Crown Reef for families or couples. IIt has been several years since I had visited the resort. It has not changed. Still the same great friendly faces, clean room. It is located near the new "The Market Common". A nice place to walk, shop, eat and see a movie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Leaving the Crown Reef driving to Broadway or Barefoot Landing there is a time saver way thru "the Market Common then t o go thru all the traffic and lights trying to get to North Myrtle Beach.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shirley2012
Family
Hico WV
Jun 8, 2012

we had a great time

The hotel was very nice but needs to be updated! The room was very old looking wall paper was coming down but the room was clean:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T. R. T
Family
South Georgia
Jun 3, 2012

What a fabulous getaway

Our stay at the Resort was great. The room was clean and the staff was very polite. I would stay there again. We loved the idea of being right on the beach...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mozarti
Raleigh, NC
May 29, 2012

Needs Updating, Bad!

From the pictures on the website, this place looks great. When I opened my room, the place looked like a dump. While it wasn't dirty, it was old and falling a part. A rusty lamp on the dresser. Cupboards that had seen much use. A bathroom that looked dirty, but was just old, rusty and falling apart, The grounds were in a similar state of age. The elevators were stinky and you could barely see the numbers from the rust and decay. I guess it's ok for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for something special, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirate Voyage was great. Just get there early and get a drink before you sit down.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Couples
Columbia, South Carolina
May 24, 2012

Not what we expected

We were blown away by the website but when we got there it was not to our liking. The pools were broken even when their website bragged about how many pools they have. The restuarant they advertised selling breakfast, lunch, and dinner was only open for breakfast. Other than that we were still able to stay and enjoy our time away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John EL
Friends
Virginia
May 15, 2012

Senior week

Hotel was likely very nice 20 years ago, but is now an empty building. out of three 10 floor towers, there were likely 30 rooms. filled. Certainly not a hotel for 20's. Do have a lot a pools and a nice lazy river. Hotel right on the beach. Decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's next door has good food, especially bbq. good price and happy hour

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tink Tink
Family
Eden, NC
May 8, 2012

Alone time together

This is a very good hotel and would stay there again. The only bad thing was that the housekeeping staff did not come around on Sunday to get the trash or to give new towels so we had to go find someone to get them from. It was really nice to be able to sleep with the door open and listen to the waves crash. Hope to get back there soon. Need to be able to use the hot tubs and pools after 10 cause alot of people don't get to unwind till after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top