$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beachbum in NC
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Nov 3, 2012

Not a good place to stay

This hotel has been around a long time and it shows. If they want people to stay there and pay for it, they should make it a half way decent place to stay. The room was so old, dirty, smelly, and out dated I will never stay there again. I didn't even want to touch the buttons in the elevator, that smelled like urine, dirty and walls were filthy. I wouldn't stay here again even if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is close to the mall, eating places and shopping in surfside beach.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larry retired military
Business
Sumter, SC
Oct 9, 2012

Stay Away!

After entering our room, we looked around. There were potato chips at the head of the bed and under the fold down bed. The refrigerator was rusting from leaks, the Jacuzzi was filthy with a film in it, the TV in the sitting room was an old model and you couldn't see the picture because it was so faded. To top it off, when we woke up in the morning, the mattress on the king bed actually slid about a foot to the side overnight. We wanted to save some money but this was ridiculous. Next time we'll stay further north and in a name hotel. Never again will I visit this resort. O***** was a good experience but the hotel was definitely not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee Dee workaholic
Business
Summerville, SC
Oct 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Reserved a king room and got a room with 2 queen beds. Very outdated fixtures, bed was hard. Got burnt from the shower, hot water was way to hot. It was worth the price for the off season, I would never pay the peak season price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Self again
Business
Charleston, sc
Oct 1, 2012

Unplanned weekend away

We went to this hotel on short notice in the off season. The amenities are very nice, but in the off season some are not available (as expected). Since the price was reduced in the off season, this is expected and nicely done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lumberton, NC
Sep 17, 2012

Rooms always available!!!

I have stayed at the Crown Reef twice. Efficent, reasonable, with a good location. Lots of parking. It does lack a sauna. But it has quite a lot of hot tub-pools. Due to it's large size there is generally a room available - where as a smaller hotel/ motel would be full at Myrtle Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quality Seafood--Chesapeake House, Quantity with Quality Seafood--The Original Captain Benjamin's, Quality Steak--Carolina Roadhouse.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mighty Bill
Business
Prosperity, SC
Sep 17, 2012

Ok Last minute getaway

The kitchen faucet leaked and was very hard to move. They did not give us a map of the hotel layout, the hotel restaurants were not opened and we were not informed of this. Not enough baggage carts available. Breeze way carpets were torn and worn. The night stand was not cleaned when we checked in, it had something sticky on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HudsonFamily
Business
Lancaster, SC
Sep 10, 2012

NEVER AGAIN!

I never write bad reviews, but this place turned my stomach. Our dishes were filthy, with red ... something on them. Our bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. (Never.) The wallpaper was patched, DIRTY, and peeling. I could go on and on. It was disgusting. And when we complained, the front desk guy said that he would "pass our concerns to housekeeping." NEVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SoniaandBobby Trip
Business
Belmont NC
Sep 4, 2012

Worst Place to stay ever

This hotel was horrible. The rooms were the worst I have ever stayed at when at the beach. The plumbing did not work in the room and they did not refund us a night for the sink and tub stopping up when we took a shower. The kitchen applicances were falling apart. We went down to the pool and someone had vomitted in the pool and we told security and they acted like they did not care and it was never cleaned out of the pool for the couple days were there which is nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Damon's on the Beach

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed WE Traveler
Business
North Carolina
Aug 21, 2012

Bad Low budget hotel at resort prices

Rusty interior, bad/old and in some instances non-working elevators, poor parking, lack of paint, strange layout and apparently missing real managment and short of adequate staffing. SAVE YOUR MONEY$ and stay someone else. Upon arrival, I noticed that the parking lanes in the parking deck were very narrow. Upon arrival in the room it became very apparent that the rooms had not been updated in possibly a decade or two. Although the online pictures depict a resort, the experience was nothing less than a road-side low budget hotel. I only stayed one night at a unfortunately at a rate of almost $200 and later booked a non-oceanfront room in a reputable establishment for the remainder of my visit. Honestly, this place should be sold to another owner that "genuinely" cares about its guests and/or condemned and closed down until all appropriate maintenance and updates are made. This place was nothing short of "FALSE" advertising. I highly do not recommend this place to anyone at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A T W
Business
Lancaster, SC
Aug 7, 2012

Very Dissatisfied

I was utterly disappointed in my recent stay at Crown Reef. The stove that was in the unit should be in a dumpster. It was literally falling apart. The carpet had an odor of urine. This was first and last time staying at Crown Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top