$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
235 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A T W
Lancaster, SC
Aug 7, 2012

Very Dissatisfied

I was utterly disappointed in my recent stay at Crown Reef. The stove that was in the unit should be in a dumpster. It was literally falling apart. The carpet had an odor of urine. This was first and last time staying at Crown Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
my2boys
cle ohio
Jul 30, 2012

i had to buy lysol and cleaning products

Wouldn't recommended this hotel... very dirty pictures are deceiving.... would never go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel

Every thing was great. All the shopping and dining is in the hotel. Makes it great when you dont have to load your kids and everyone up to find something to eat. We did not even leave the resort once we checked in. That's great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Columbia, South Carolina
Jul 25, 2012

Not what we expected

Nothing was up and running, didnt look like the pictures. Didnt spoil our time, just not what we were looking forward to staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thomasyne
Manning, South Carolina
Jul 23, 2012

Waste of Vacation Time at Check-In

I would NOT recommend this hotel at any cost! 6 of us set out on a Saturday to check into a 2 queen, murphy bed, and a pull out sleeper sofa on the beach. 1:30pm- Arrived to the hotel check-in on Saturday because I called ahead 2 times just to be sure we could use the pools before check-in at 3pm. 1:45pm- Got to the reservation counter. The front desk clerk asked me when I made the reservation, and I told her a month and a half before the date of my stay. She then told me to hold on just a few minutes and that she'd be right back. 2:00pm- Clerk returns from a back room. Tells me they did not have my reservation and that the hotel has no vacancy. Told me to call The Travel Agency and sort it out while she checked in other customers. 2:10pm- The Travel Agency called the front desk and faxed over the information about my reservation. Was told to take a seat and they would call me back up there in a moment. 2:30pm- Manager called me over and told me the only thing they had available was a King efficiency suite on the beach at no extra cost and that it was available right now. We agreed that this was fine and he told us he would be right back with our check in information. 3:00pm- I am frustrated and standing at the counter waiting for the manager to return from the back room. Finally at this point I interrupted a clerk and asked for the manager because he said our room was ready and that he was going to get our info and it has been 30 minutes and we haven't seen him. She went and got him and he told us he figured one of the clerks would have helped me close out my check in. 3:20pm - Yes, 20 minutes later, because apparently it takes them FOREVER to check anyone into their hotels, we headed to the resort. 3:45pm- Only 1 of their elevators work and it is an 11 story building. We finally piled into the elevator and headed to our room. 4:00pm- As we arrived the maid was still in our room cleaning. So we waited and then entered the room once she was finished. Let me list the issues we then faced. 1. Weird stale smell. 2. Stains on the walls. 3. Flat screen tv was skipping. 4. Carpet was stained. 5. Lamps and light switches did not work. 6. Outlets did not work as well. 7. Weird smell on telephone receiver. 4:10pm- We decided this was not worth the price so we were not staying. I called down to the front desk and said that we were not happy with the room at all, and he quickly told me that he understood and that I was to go back to registration and get my refund and to call The Travel Agency and tell them to refund my payment. The travel agency said no problem and then the very nice lady offered to search for hotels in the same area. No luck because everything was booked up so we sent half of our group out to go from hotel to hotel trying to find us another one. Which they did. 4:25pm- Meanwhile, I stood outside of our room for 15 mins waiting on the elevator to eventually reach our floor, only to skip it and go to the top floor and then come back to us after another 5 minutes. 4:30pm- Arrived at front desk, there is a line of 40 or so people waiting to check in. I know it is rude, but I passed all of them and went to the front and explained that I have waited and wasted more than enough of my vacation at this hotel and that all I want is to return the room keys and to check out and get my refund. 4:45pm- I had my refund and I left with glee to head to the other hotel we found! The resort website has photos but I have no idea where those rooms are because ours looked NOTHING like them! I would not stay here ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama DCapps
Collinsville, VA
Jul 16, 2012

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

We stayed there 7/12/12 - 7/15/12 - the hotel definitely needs to be updated. The rooms are average but the A/C worked great! The housekeeping is where they definitely need improvement. The coffee, sugar & creamer was not replenished....I had to track down a housekeeper and request it. Then, what really threw me was instead of making up the bed, all she had done was pulled up the sheet & comforter....this is how most children make beds. Though we went to the beach rather than the pools, they did look nice. We won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Emjayshort4Mojo
Alexandria VA
Jul 11, 2012

Stay Away !!!

Horrible Hotel. Time to gut and remodel!!! This is not where anyone should spend $190.00 per night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway on Boardwalk

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brownie Mom
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Extremely disappointed!!!!

It was extremely dirty. Our phones in the room did not work and we had a broken bed. The hallways always had garbage on the floors and the elevators wreaked. We had a beautiful view to the ocean front, but nothing in the hotel worked!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apparently in a garbage dump
Jun 29, 2012

All I can say is WOW... Run AWAY!

If you have reservations here cancel them now and go elsewhere. I arrived on Tuesday - a walk in - I thought i was getting a deal at a great resort I was wrong. After waiting for 5 hours for them to get a room ready for me because it had to be "inspected" before they could show it to us, we walked in to our suite.... There were still fingerprints on the window to the balcony - enough to where you could not see from knee down, and a substance of unknown orgin on the bathroom wall. After waiting 5 hours to see the room and not being able to check for other rooms in the area I was pretty much stuck with this or not staying on the beach.... so we got the room and housekeeping was at the room cleaning it when we got back to the room... After a trip to buy cleaning supplies and air freshener to erase the armpit smell the room was tolerable at best. Day 2 - Wife stepped on a glass bottle in front of the hotel on the beach... cant blame them but still.... also no housekeeping came by. We simply thought we had missed them and we had enough towels to get us by so no big deal .... called downstairs housekeeping runs from 10 to 3. When walking to our room we smelled what can best be described as funk.... The trash chute room was left open in front of our room and of course we now know where the smell in the room was coming from. Day 3 - We were out of the room for 5 hours from 10 - 3 - came back to the room - no housekeeping. Called downstairs they said someone would be right up. 1.5 hours later housekeeping arrived and we left. The room looked OK. When we went to bed we discovered they didnt even pull up the sheets ... they only pulled the covers up over the bed... seriously... a small thing but still.... oh yeah and the trash chute was still open.... Day 4 - We were gone from 10 - 3 again - again no housekeeping ... housekeeping knocked on the door at 5:30 we asked them to come back in 15 minutes so we could finish showering and leave. They said OK after drying off with washcloths we left.... This time when we came back we were greeted by a vacuum cleaner still left at our door, along with all of our trash and our neighbors. I went down to complain at the guest services and they said they would have someone up to clean it up. After a 1.5 hour walk on the beach the trash was still there. I then went across the street to complain ... I was informed i should call when housekeeping is in house as they cannot do anything now and there is no manager on duty i can complain to. In summary ... Save your money - or go somewhere else. They are doing the bare minimum to be called a "resort", and are failing at the basic services that even a motel would provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you decide to stay here Big Lots is a short drive away for cleaning supplies and air freshener.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TKudico
Warren, MI
Jun 11, 2012

Crow Reef-not Crown Reef

The hotel didn't have anybody to run the shuttle so we had to pay a taxi and then get reimbursed. The room was decent but the carpet was filthy as my feet turned black everyday just walking in the room. The balcony was covered in bird droppings - not very sanitary. None of the pools are heated and the spa was only warm. The restaurants must be only seasonal since 1 was only open for breakfast. The pool bar wasn't operational and most of the time staff members were not seen. The housekeeping staff is the only thing that gets kudos from me as they at least stopped by every day with fresh towels for us. This place SUCKED! I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top