$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Talladega, AL
Jul 30, 2010

Room was very disappointing

This hotel's website made it look fantastic. I have to say the pool area I was very satisfied with along with the lazy river. The location of the hotel was also great. View from the balcony was fantastic. My main problem with this hotel was the room itself. I wouldn't mind paying $178 per night (which I did)if the room was updated and in good shape. The wallpaper was coming off the wall at the seams in places and the appliances had to be 25 years old as well as the carpet. Also for this price a complimentary breakfast should be included but is not. Will look for something better next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Captain's House Restaurant is very good. My wife and I were very satisfied with our meal and service.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Former Surfer Dude
Couples
NC
Jun 12, 2010

Ho Hum.........

Average hotel experience. Not bad, not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons Sunday brunch was great and just next door to the hotel.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
boston ma
Apr 20, 2011

unbeatable location for the prce

locations was great for us. We visited friends in Murrell Inlet. Close to hotel. This was still off season, restaurants and bars in hotel not open till Friday and saturday. Had to visit nearby establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

month of april, not too much night life...

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
S.Carolina
Jul 14, 2010

It was pretty good

No free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Minnesota
Jul 8, 2011

alright hotel

It was a nice room and had a nice view of the beach. I didn't like how the hotel associates had their drama right Outside my room. It felt to me very unprofessional. Some of their associates weren't very friendly either. For the money I spent on that room, they could have smiled or something. Also, there was still beach sand on the beds when we first arrived. Other than that, experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Louisville KY
Jun 26, 2010

beach vacation review 2010

This was a nice place to stay and was clean would have preferred something closer to the heart of town without having to pay to park to do everything. Also the bathroom was rather small for a resort and blowdryer was terrible. However after 2 days we called and they were quick to install one that worked better. Was not able to enjoy last night due to the package and the early flight out. Also we were quoted a package and did not realize we would be charged an additional resort fee on check in. With all that being said it was a clean place and fairly quiet with a good view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed dining at the Seacaptain's House on the ocean, it was fabulous very good seafood and a spectacular view of the ocean. They also had a parking lot for the customers. One of the few places right in Myrtle beach where we did not have to pay to park.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Raleigh, NC
Apr 20, 2011

Crown Reef Review

OK hotel for the price. Currently renovating, but I was not in one of those rooms. The staff was very friendly. Great location. One of the best restaurants in town is right next door, Damon's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For awesome food, go to Damon's.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vieda Wedding Attendant
Couples
North Carolina
Sep 15, 2014

Lacking that resort status special something

Staff very friendly but unable to assist with purchasing attraction tickets. Sent us elsewhere to purchase tickets. Once there, the ticket office's computer was down. Air condition unit seemed to be malfunctioning, either too cold or too warm. Coffee pot in rooms was dirty. Room and bathroom was clean. Comfortable beds. The cafe was under par charging $4.00 for two cups of coffee. Pool area and water slide affords lots of fun. Family friendly. Did not expect ocean view to be behind water slide tubs. Lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daemon's really nice menu. Great meal. Hotel close to many shopping and common-need stores. Very quiet at night. Family friendly.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark o.
Family
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

weekend getaway

Real impressed with the resort could tell that it had been recently updated. Price was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and nicely updated. Liked the quite end of the beach and restaurant next door was amazing. Will be planning a stay back there in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morgan
Friends
Gary
May 13, 2015

Girls Trip

My college friends and I took a last minute, girls trip to myrtle beach. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Although, the rooms were a bit outdated we still enjoyed the experience for what it was and we were comfortable. The three of of us each had our own beds.The suite was spacious and had a good view of the beach. We saved a lot of money with the on suite kitchen, but we're still in walking distance of some great local spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top