$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
very nice

Very spacious hotels and very clean. There was plenty of parking and service was great. Very... See full review

  • kevin a.
  • Jul 2, 2015
mothers day vacation

I loved everything about it.this is my hotel for now on out.saving up for next year already. See full review

  • keith L.
  • May 14, 2015

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Property features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Nearby attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Policies

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$69
3.3 / 5 172 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 550 reviews
★★★
$64
3.9 / 5 186 reviews
★★★★
$90
4.3 / 5 275 reviews
★★★
$54
3.6 / 5 148 reviews
★★★
$89
3.5 / 5 107 reviews
★★
$69
3.6 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$52
2.6 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$96
4.2 / 5 33 reviews

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ellen
Family
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

Crew are not organized with their own task

For three days stay was good enough in that place. Elevator did not work as it suppose to be, i got stung from wasp while in that lazy river, experienced three hours of no power, and finally we went to the conference center coz we want to do parasailing, thursday morning, afternoon and evening we went there and they told us, to wait for that andrew, finally came back friday morning and this one lady helped me and just ask me for the payment and thats it. IN that ticket there was a number about calling reservation which we didn't know or not even that crown reef lady told us. The downwind sails lady told us well they should have made the reservation for you guys and i said, well obviously they're not doing there job. They just want to get paid. The people at LOCO GECKO restaurant ARE SUPER nice. the place itself is great its just need renovation and proper trained crews

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nelda b.
Family
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

nice trip

the only complaint I have is the woman who was doing the braids by the pool ripped me off for $180.00. she led me to believe the the braids were going to be $4 for each person. then when she done she told me that will be $180. I about had a cow . she said $4 for each braid. that was money I didn't have on me but I had to get . I was so upset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patti
Friends
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Spur-of-the-Moment trip

Upon arriving at the hotel we realized you have to check in across the street. Once we parked there were no signs directing you to the front desk. We saw elevator signs. After walking around we finally asked someone where to register. Ber were pointed to the door, but again there was nothing saying to register at that door. The housekeeping staff was very helpful when trying to locate carts when checking in and out. For a hotel this size there weren't that many carts... Even the staff said the same thing. Beds were very comfortable! Overall a nice experiebce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kellie W.
Couples
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Last minute booking

I've stayed here when I was younger probably 15 years ago and we were looking for a one night stay because we arrived a day early and was staying at our time share. I remembered the hotel so I figured it's clean and everything will stay, there were bugs in our room I was grossed out used my own pillow and blanket. The staff was great other than that I will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elizabeth Allen
Family
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Nasty!!

Upon checking in we went swimming. When we shut the bathroom door in the room it locked. We had to call maintenance. He said there was something wrong with the lock. Took an hour. There was blood splattered on the wall by bed and the headboard. Housekeeping came and cleaned it. Also could not find remote..has to call and ask for one. Ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kevin a.
Family
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

very nice

Very spacious hotels and very clean. There was plenty of parking and service was great. Very friendly staff, i would recommend to anyone. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and pools were well maintained as well. I will look forward to staying there in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorie S.
Family
N/A
Jun 16, 2015

Very Relaxing Stay

My family I were down recently for a weekend of baseball...... We had a great time hanging at the pool and eating at the hotel. It was nice to be able to stay and hang there without ever leaving. Definitely will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keith L.
Family
N/A
May 14, 2015

mothers day vacation

I loved everything about it.this is my hotel for now on out.saving up for next year already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morgan
Friends
Gary
May 13, 2015

Girls Trip

My college friends and I took a last minute, girls trip to myrtle beach. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Although, the rooms were a bit outdated we still enjoyed the experience for what it was and we were comfortable. The three of of us each had our own beds.The suite was spacious and had a good view of the beach. We saved a lot of money with the on suite kitchen, but we're still in walking distance of some great local spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikes2679
Couples
king
May 6, 2015

Great trip

Great resort. Clean room and the staff was friendly. Would recommend this resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top