$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

3 stars
3516 Waccamaw Boulvard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay... See full review

  • Tim Family Man
  • Jul 4, 2014
Not bad

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay. See full review

  • Aikenite
  • Jul 1, 2014
A taste of the traditional for travelers on a budget in Myrtle Beach

With a flair for the traditional, the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Myrtle Beach is a popular option for travelers visiting nearby Coastal Carolina University or Hard Rock Park. For guests on a budget, the property builds value into the stay, thanks to free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free accommodations for children under 18 with a paying adult. An indoor pool and lending library add extra incentives.

Highlights
  • Affordable hotel near Coastal Carolina University
  • Children under 18 stay free with a paying adult
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • In-house lending library program
Rooms

Each room at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel boasts cable TV, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and more, while suites have extras such as Jacuzzis -- ideal for honeymooners or romantic getaways -- and a separate area for lounging, sleeping (on the pull-out sofa) and working at the desk.

Dining
 Guests of the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel indulge in the most important meal of the day-breakfast--right on the property. Eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit and more go perfectly with the free copy of USA Today.
Recreation

Inquire about the Read it and Return program, an in-house lending library that enables guests to check out books on the assurance that they will return the book on their next visit. An indoor pool and Jacuzzi -- housed in a sauna-like annex -- snag travelers starved for relaxation.  A fitness center expands the recreational choices.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.7 mi./4.3 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (13.5 mi./21.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.2  mi./3.6 km)
  • Palace Theatre (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (2.7 mi./4.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.5 mi./5.6 km)
  • Hard Rock Park (6 mi./9.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.4 mi./13.5 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms with space for up to 85 guests
  • 24-hour business center with free printing services and Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi

Dining

Bob Evens Restaurant
Located .10 miles from the hotel.
Outback Steakhouse
Located 3 miles west of the hotel
Hard Rock Cafe
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Planet Hollywood
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Sticky Fingers
Located 2 miles from the hotel
T-Bonz Steakhouse
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Breakfast Room
Breakfast room is located near the lobby.
Red Lobster
Located 1 mile from the hotel.
Captain Georges
Located 2 miles from the hotel.
Cracker Barrel
Located 1 mile from the hotel, casual dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 45
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N. C. Golfer
Business
North Carolina
May 9, 2013

Nice place to spend a night.

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. No problem with check-in or check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2011

Dirty Myrtle Nightmare

This place is a dump, but before I talk about the hotel, I want to share the nightmarish customer service I received from [...] the hotel staff.[...] It started off poorly when there some error in transferring my reservation to the hotel. Apparently only part of my last name showed up in the computer and the front desk clerk couldn't find my reservation. She couldn't have been less concerned [...]. Once the reservation was straightened out, we got to the room and realized that it was not what I booked. The room was supposed to have two beds and a fold out couch; it only had the two beds. I had booked a two night stay, so with it already being late, we decided that we would stay the first night, and find a decent place for the second. So I took my proposition to front desk clerk[...] pleading with the apathetic front desk clerk to let me cancel the second night of our stay. This seemed like a very simple and reasonable request given that I had been given the wrong room [...].During my 3 hour battle, I was greeted with about as much concern and compassion as you would receive if you brought the wrong form to the DMV. It was so ridiculous that I wouldn't have been surprised if Ashton Kutcher jumped out from behind the counter to tell me I was being Punk'd. Finally by some miracle, the front desk begrudgingly agreed to refund the second night of our stay (probably just to shut me up) and I thought it was over. [...] I still have a couple of days until the refund is supposed to finally process, so I'll have to wait and see if that actually happens. [...]On to the hotel itself … as I mentioned, it is a dump. Scenic views include the bustling traffic of Hwy 501, a bum pushing a shopping cart around an abandoned shopping center and the neon lights of Fantails Adult Show Club. Parking becomes an issue at night due to overflow parking from the adjacent strip club and it was somewhat surprising that the rooms were not also offered at an hourly rate because of this convenient proximity. We had to park in a no parking area, because all of the acceptable parking was full. My initial feeling after the debacle with front desk was that we would wake up and the car would have been towed … it was not, this was most certainly the highlight of the stay. There was also constant muggy feeling, not just from the humidity in the hot July air, but from the very real feeling that you could be mugged or stabbed at any moment in the area surrounding the hotel's dimly lit parking lot. Honestly, a 1 star rating is far too high but unfortunately that is the lowest possible option. The customer service rating for the hotel [...] should definitely be a negative number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shares parking lot with a strip club, with another winthin a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 12, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway

While in Myrtle Beach, I went shopping, dining, to the beach and basically just hung out. Hotel was very clean, we were treated well and the pool area was clean. Not enough facilities to wash laundry but staff tried to accommodate us as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of restaurants but did not see any healthy eating places at all. Watch your intake of fast food while vacationing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 29, 2010

The hotel was clean the staff friendly.

We rented two rooms, and requested connecting rooms. At check in we found out the hotel did not offer connecting rooms. Since there were 5 of us ladies sharing the two rooms we wanted to be able to see each other without going outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not beach front. Did not have a dvd to play movies and music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe From NY
Business
New York, NY.
Jul 27, 2009

Joe from NY

Its a $15.00 to $20.00 taxi ride anywhere you want to go, and its located next door to a raunchy strip club. They had no ATM in the hotel. However, the staff was good, and the place was clean. Plus best of all super comfortable beds;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
May 26, 2007

Stressful

It was very difficult to find in the dark. Our plane arrived late and it was dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must drive to any recreation or attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top