$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

3 stars
3516 Waccamaw Boulvard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay... See full review

  • Tim Family Man
  • Jul 4, 2014
Not bad

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay. See full review

  • Aikenite
  • Jul 1, 2014
A taste of the traditional for travelers on a budget in Myrtle Beach

With a flair for the traditional, the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Myrtle Beach is a popular option for travelers visiting nearby Coastal Carolina University or Hard Rock Park. For guests on a budget, the property builds value into the stay, thanks to free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free accommodations for children under 18 with a paying adult. An indoor pool and lending library add extra incentives.

Highlights
  • Affordable hotel near Coastal Carolina University
  • Children under 18 stay free with a paying adult
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • In-house lending library program
Rooms

Each room at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel boasts cable TV, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and more, while suites have extras such as Jacuzzis -- ideal for honeymooners or romantic getaways -- and a separate area for lounging, sleeping (on the pull-out sofa) and working at the desk.

Dining
 Guests of the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel indulge in the most important meal of the day-breakfast--right on the property. Eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit and more go perfectly with the free copy of USA Today.
Recreation

Inquire about the Read it and Return program, an in-house lending library that enables guests to check out books on the assurance that they will return the book on their next visit. An indoor pool and Jacuzzi -- housed in a sauna-like annex -- snag travelers starved for relaxation.  A fitness center expands the recreational choices.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.7 mi./4.3 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (13.5 mi./21.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.2  mi./3.6 km)
  • Palace Theatre (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (2.7 mi./4.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.5 mi./5.6 km)
  • Hard Rock Park (6 mi./9.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.4 mi./13.5 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms with space for up to 85 guests
  • 24-hour business center with free printing services and Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment

Hotel Map

33.7199 -78.9289
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
MYRTLE BEACH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MYR), 3.60, MI, NW; CONWAY-HORRY COUNTY AIRPORT, (HYW), 13.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, This hotel is located near the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi

Dining

Bob Evens Restaurant
Located .10 miles from the hotel.
Outback Steakhouse
Located 3 miles west of the hotel
Country Barn
Located 1/4 of a mile from the hotel
Hard Rock Cafe
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Planet Hollywood
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Liberty Steakhouse
Located 2 miles from the hotel
T-Bonz Steakhouse
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Breakfast Room
Breakfast room is located near the lobby.
Red Lobster
Located 1 mile from the hotel.
Captain Georges
Located 2 miles from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smoking adverse consumer
north Carolina
Jul 17, 2010

lots of bad and overwhelming ugly no go

Awesome to be greated by the smokers and the ashtrays provided by the hotel staff who think "this is America " and don't believe they can prohibit smoking at a property advertised as non smoking..... Of course there is no other entrance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

topless bar next door

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VJ83
Florida
Jun 12, 2012

Horrible experience

I booked a 1bedroom suite to enjoy my marriage anniversary, when we reached hotel and received key to our we found that its lock was broken. When we contacted front desk they said all the suites are booked if we want they can give us a standard room but they were not willing to refund anything although it was their fault. Ultimately we had to stay in the same room. Room service was also bad. I will never stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2011

Dirty Myrtle Nightmare

This place is a dump, but before I talk about the hotel, I want to share the nightmarish customer service I received from [...] the hotel staff.[...] It started off poorly when there some error in transferring my reservation to the hotel. Apparently only part of my last name showed up in the computer and the front desk clerk couldn't find my reservation. She couldn't have been less concerned [...]. Once the reservation was straightened out, we got to the room and realized that it was not what I booked. The room was supposed to have two beds and a fold out couch; it only had the two beds. I had booked a two night stay, so with it already being late, we decided that we would stay the first night, and find a decent place for the second. So I took my proposition to front desk clerk[...] pleading with the apathetic front desk clerk to let me cancel the second night of our stay. This seemed like a very simple and reasonable request given that I had been given the wrong room [...].During my 3 hour battle, I was greeted with about as much concern and compassion as you would receive if you brought the wrong form to the DMV. It was so ridiculous that I wouldn't have been surprised if Ashton Kutcher jumped out from behind the counter to tell me I was being Punk'd. Finally by some miracle, the front desk begrudgingly agreed to refund the second night of our stay (probably just to shut me up) and I thought it was over. [...] I still have a couple of days until the refund is supposed to finally process, so I'll have to wait and see if that actually happens. [...]On to the hotel itself … as I mentioned, it is a dump. Scenic views include the bustling traffic of Hwy 501, a bum pushing a shopping cart around an abandoned shopping center and the neon lights of Fantails Adult Show Club. Parking becomes an issue at night due to overflow parking from the adjacent strip club and it was somewhat surprising that the rooms were not also offered at an hourly rate because of this convenient proximity. We had to park in a no parking area, because all of the acceptable parking was full. My initial feeling after the debacle with front desk was that we would wake up and the car would have been towed … it was not, this was most certainly the highlight of the stay. There was also constant muggy feeling, not just from the humidity in the hot July air, but from the very real feeling that you could be mugged or stabbed at any moment in the area surrounding the hotel's dimly lit parking lot. Honestly, a 1 star rating is far too high but unfortunately that is the lowest possible option. The customer service rating for the hotel [...] should definitely be a negative number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shares parking lot with a strip club, with another winthin a short walk.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WE 24
Central VA
Jun 26, 2013

Not Impressed

Where to begin. The location was nestled right next door to an adult entertainment club which doesnt colate with a family atmosphere. Especially when the parking for this hotel was in the back parking lot for this adult club and not an ideal situation when arriving back after dark. Not to mention there was another adult entertainment club directly accross the street. The breakfast was less than appetizing and that is being generous. If you love coffee in the morning your are definately in the wrong place. The elevator attends its patrons at the speed of smell. The overall cleanliness of the property made one feel grimey. The toilet after flushing ran the entire time which is not environmentally friendly as they state they have become. We didnt want our feet to touch the floor it was so dirty looking. Made you want to sleep in full body armour. The property mimicked a beach graduation dive more than a well maitained family getaway. This trip and stay was a reconnaissance for future FAMILY vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Adult Entertainment Club right next door!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slack Dude
North
Jun 29, 2012

Quick trip

I felt this hotel was in a sort of slummy area. It was right next to a strip bar. Not good for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Recent guest family
NC
Sep 23, 2013

Less than mediocre

It did not bother me that this hotel is located right next to a strip club, but what was amiss is the fact that the cleanliness was very much less than desirable. The toilet, shower curtain, and window curtains were nasty. That only made me feel even more uncomfortable about the cleanliness of the beds and sofabed linens. I was surprised that there were a good bit of breakfast options, but some of the food was inedible. The staff is friendly and check in/out is pretty quick, as most hotels are. There were no flat panel/screen tv's and you cannot adjust the temperature in the room. You can only turn it off and on. If you are looking for luxury and value, keep on looking. Never staying there again would be too soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Businesstraveler12
Business
TN
Jun 10, 2014

Country Inn & Suite Myrtle Beach

Decent hotel in a decent location. Could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob Robert
Mount pleasant sc
Jul 24, 2010

Just ok

Upgraded when air conditioner did not work in first room. Breakfast selection was very poor and got worse each day. Opened an hour later on weekend which meant we could not use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hazeelam
Gainesville, VA
Jun 15, 2010

Country Inn at Myrtle Beach

Overall, I was fine with the hotel because we didn't stay in that much so even if there's some issues, I didn't care. To get to the elevators, we had to pass the pool. It was wreeked with the smell of chlorine. I didn't bother using the pool cause I was going to pass out just walking by it.Wasn't able to use the indoor pool was not good because the weather outside was too hot for the beach. The look and fell of the hotel was fine, nice and neat. But first impression counts. When we walked in, looking clueless, the male receptionist act like we weren't there. Not even saying "Hi". He was stuck-up and just threw paper work at us to sign. The lady there was nice and friendly. Besides all that, we had a great time at Myrtle beach. There were many attractions to see, shops to shop, things to do and buy, and especially awesome food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Broadway restaurants (Broadway at the Beach)

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan Dan Super Man
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2009

Very close to strip clubs!

When I stayed here the hotel was almost empty. It looks like it may be struggling financially judging from the no-frills experience. Overall, the hotel is maintained fairly well and is fairly clean. I say fairly because there were areas that the carpets were dingy, the sofa cushion had a big hole in it and the bathroom had some pubic hair action going on. The breakfast was a joke...it was edible but please don't plan on anything beyond waffle and stale cereal. The icing on the cake was the strip clubs very close by. The hotel has a nice front porch in which you can sit all of the people from the strip club going in and out...wait...I mean strip clubs. There is another one across the highway you can see. I was shocked to see how close it is. Less than 100 yards from the front door of the hotel to the front door of the strip club. Good for a bachelor party i guess! Overall, the location is bad...hard to get to and remote (aside from the strip clubs). On the good side, the room was relatively inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlets are 5 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search