$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

3 stars
3516 Waccamaw Boulvard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Pleasantly Surprised

I wasn't sure what I was going to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay... See full review

  • Tim Family Man
  • Jul 4, 2014
Not bad

nothing great / nothing bad.....just a good place to stay. See full review

  • Aikenite
  • Jul 1, 2014
A taste of the traditional for travelers on a budget in Myrtle Beach

With a flair for the traditional, the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Myrtle Beach is a popular option for travelers visiting nearby Coastal Carolina University or Hard Rock Park. For guests on a budget, the property builds value into the stay, thanks to free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free accommodations for children under 18 with a paying adult. An indoor pool and lending library add extra incentives.

Highlights
  • Affordable hotel near Coastal Carolina University
  • Children under 18 stay free with a paying adult
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free deluxe continental breakfast
  • In-house lending library program
Rooms

Each room at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel boasts cable TV, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and more, while suites have extras such as Jacuzzis -- ideal for honeymooners or romantic getaways -- and a separate area for lounging, sleeping (on the pull-out sofa) and working at the desk.

Dining
 Guests of the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Myrtle Beach hotel indulge in the most important meal of the day-breakfast--right on the property. Eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit and more go perfectly with the free copy of USA Today.
Recreation

Inquire about the Read it and Return program, an in-house lending library that enables guests to check out books on the assurance that they will return the book on their next visit. An indoor pool and Jacuzzi -- housed in a sauna-like annex -- snag travelers starved for relaxation.  A fitness center expands the recreational choices.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.7 mi./4.3 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (13.5 mi./21.7 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.2  mi./3.6 km)
  • Palace Theatre (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (2.7 mi./4.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.4 mi./5.4 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.5 mi./5.6 km)
  • Hard Rock Park (6 mi./9.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.4 mi./13.5 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms with space for up to 85 guests
  • 24-hour business center with free printing services and Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment

Hotel Map

33.7199 -78.9289
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
MYRTLE BEACH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (MYR), 3.60, MI, NW; CONWAY-HORRY COUNTY AIRPORT, (HYW), 13.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, This hotel is located near the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 2.3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.6 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.7 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 3.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 4.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.6 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi

Dining

Bob Evens Restaurant
Located .10 miles from the hotel.
Outback Steakhouse
Located 3 miles west of the hotel
Country Barn
Located 1/4 of a mile from the hotel
Hard Rock Cafe
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Planet Hollywood
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Liberty Steakhouse
Located 2 miles from the hotel
T-Bonz Steakhouse
Located 2 miles from the hotel
Breakfast Room
Breakfast room is located near the lobby.
Red Lobster
Located 1 mile from the hotel.
Captain Georges
Located 2 miles from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Softballmom721
Virginia
Mar 12, 2013

Softballmom trip

Accomendations were great! Easy access to attractions, dining and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Dan18
Greencastle, PA
Aug 25, 2012

Great Time

This a great place to stay. Close to the beach and to Conway, where my daughter is going to CCU. Staff very friendly, nice complimentary breakfast and just minutes from the beach. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIL RN 2012
Southgate, Michigan
Jul 6, 2012

Birthday get a way

The hotel was centrally located to many eateries, shopping plaza, broadway at the beach, beach boardwalk and many other attractions. Easy access to the freeway. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was sufficient but they often ran out of food and we had to wait. Otherwise, it was a great stay and I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you make reservations for the jet skis, helicopter ride and the sea thunder dolphin watch cruise, all worth the cost

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slack Dude
North
Jun 29, 2012

Quick trip

I felt this hotel was in a sort of slummy area. It was right next to a strip bar. Not good for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VJ83
Florida
Jun 12, 2012

Horrible experience

I booked a 1bedroom suite to enjoy my marriage anniversary, when we reached hotel and received key to our we found that its lock was broken. When we contacted front desk they said all the suites are booked if we want they can give us a standard room but they were not willing to refund anything although it was their fault. Ultimately we had to stay in the same room. Room service was also bad. I will never stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Ashley
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

First trip to myrtle beach & this hotel

This hotel was great. Speedy check in\out, helpful staff, nice pool..cold though, great bed, and I loved how close the hotel was to everything. I do think u need more non starch selections at breakfast. We would absolutely stay here again.great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go in the off season to save on room price.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debs
NY
Aug 24, 2011

vacation

Athought I only stayed for one night, The hotel was good. I was comfortable, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was great!! The only thing that was bad was that next door is an adult place called Girls Girls Girls, which is innappropriate for children to see when staying at the hotel. I think that place should move out. Other than that, the hotel is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2011

Dirty Myrtle Nightmare

This place is a dump, but before I talk about the hotel, I want to share the nightmarish customer service I received from [...] the hotel staff.[...] It started off poorly when there some error in transferring my reservation to the hotel. Apparently only part of my last name showed up in the computer and the front desk clerk couldn't find my reservation. She couldn't have been less concerned [...]. Once the reservation was straightened out, we got to the room and realized that it was not what I booked. The room was supposed to have two beds and a fold out couch; it only had the two beds. I had booked a two night stay, so with it already being late, we decided that we would stay the first night, and find a decent place for the second. So I took my proposition to front desk clerk[...] pleading with the apathetic front desk clerk to let me cancel the second night of our stay. This seemed like a very simple and reasonable request given that I had been given the wrong room [...].During my 3 hour battle, I was greeted with about as much concern and compassion as you would receive if you brought the wrong form to the DMV. It was so ridiculous that I wouldn't have been surprised if Ashton Kutcher jumped out from behind the counter to tell me I was being Punk'd. Finally by some miracle, the front desk begrudgingly agreed to refund the second night of our stay (probably just to shut me up) and I thought it was over. [...] I still have a couple of days until the refund is supposed to finally process, so I'll have to wait and see if that actually happens. [...]On to the hotel itself … as I mentioned, it is a dump. Scenic views include the bustling traffic of Hwy 501, a bum pushing a shopping cart around an abandoned shopping center and the neon lights of Fantails Adult Show Club. Parking becomes an issue at night due to overflow parking from the adjacent strip club and it was somewhat surprising that the rooms were not also offered at an hourly rate because of this convenient proximity. We had to park in a no parking area, because all of the acceptable parking was full. My initial feeling after the debacle with front desk was that we would wake up and the car would have been towed … it was not, this was most certainly the highlight of the stay. There was also constant muggy feeling, not just from the humidity in the hot July air, but from the very real feeling that you could be mugged or stabbed at any moment in the area surrounding the hotel's dimly lit parking lot. Honestly, a 1 star rating is far too high but unfortunately that is the lowest possible option. The customer service rating for the hotel [...] should definitely be a negative number.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shares parking lot with a strip club, with another winthin a short walk.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte
Apr 23, 2011

Spring break

The hotel was nice and clean the staff was very friendly and helpful it seemed they were not very prepared for the amount of guest since it was not only Easter weekend but spring break. They were under staffed for the breakfast bar and had no extra towels for the pool or rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach, SC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountainview
Business
Hendersonville,NC
Dec 19, 2010

Fantastic Hotel and Front Desk

I never stayed at a Country Inn and Suites until this one. I went to Myrtle Beach to go Christmas shopping. And they had a fireplace that was lit it was in the lobby just so beautiful. The lady that checked us in was very nice and helpful with places to eat and directions to all the malls and even gave me coupon books. I will be staying here every time we are in the Myrtle Beach area.The breakfast where you can make your own waffles and the country gravey bisc were very good. Did I mention they had there own library to pick out a book to read. Very cozy place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search