$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
View map of 2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
187 reviews
Great Weekend Get Away

This was booked as a quick family weekend getaway. We had such a good time and loved the hotel and... See full review

  • Stephanie M.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Great Stay

This hotel is wonderful with all its amenities and location. We really enjoyed our stay again here.... See full review

  • CD02
  • Aug 16, 2015
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area's largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools - truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.
All guests occupying a room must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$59
3.8 / 5 243 reviews
★★★
$54
3.9 / 5 212 reviews
★★★★
$90
4.3 / 5 275 reviews
★★★
$54
3.6 / 5 148 reviews
★★★
$54
4.1 / 5 216 reviews
★★★
$59
3.8 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$69
3.3 / 5 172 reviews
★★★
$62
3.0 / 5 366 reviews
★★★
$89
3.5 / 5 107 reviews

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 187
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hudsonlady
Couples
New England
Sep 16, 2014

Long weekend away

The Compass Cove was 'average' at best. The room was clean, not particually pretty, but served it's purpose. The room & hotel are in need of updating. The gym was the best part of the deal. We got what we paid for. Our room had an ocean view; the ocean and the beach were fantastic. As this was our first trip to Myrtle Beach, next time we visit we will stay in the north end where there are more things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OnlyEnt
Couples
Greenville, SC
Apr 10, 2014

Great Stay For a Little Getaway!!

Everything was simple and easy. The staff was nice & friendly. Checkin & out was easy, quick, & simple. The biggest perk of the room were the free DVD rentals they had for each room. My bf & I really enjoyed being able to lay around at night & catch up on movies we hadnt seen. It gave you that little something extra to do when you didnt feel like leaving the room. My only & biggest complaint was being on the first floor. I paid for an Oceanfront room (and although I guess that was what it was) ...being on the first floor the pool area and landscaping was blocking my Oceanfront view. The only other complaint was thatthe hotel was so far from the little shops & attractions. I had to drive to everything I did. Overrall for what I paid it was an awesome room. I will definately look to stay there again. Just not on the 1st floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is AWESOME day or night!!

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunwalker2001
Couples
yonkers
Apr 22, 2014

ok short stay

This hotel could spend a few bucks to spruce things up a bit. Mattress cover on a bed was riped up,blanket was thread-bare,ready for garbage can. Maid needed instruction on how to make a bed. There was one tiny bar of soap in bathroom(for sink&tub use for 2 adults!) They were very quick to send a new heating/ac unit up,though how they could rent room, not knowing unit was not working is terrible. Breakfast rest.is good. Avoid evening dining spot-fried fast bar food,good for indigestion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

avoid timeshare sell in hotel lobby!

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pinkypee
Couples
North Carolina, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice place for your $$

One thing I didn't like was the parking is right outside your rm. It's convient but not 2am when someone car alarms go off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris 2407
Couples
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Mar 3, 2012

Two nights at compass cove

I booked online for the Compass cove at what I thought was a good off season price. I've seen the property before so I had an idea about the hotel. We were put into a room right beside the underground parking garage in a breezeway off the side street. It was an "ocean view ' room if you went out onto the street . It was extremely noisy late at night and in the early morning. I arrived home with four welts on my forearms that weren't there when we booked in(bugs?). I guess you get what you pay for. The high rise portion of the hotel is beautiful but i guess those rooms are being booked online. There's plenty of pools and hot tubs and the kiddie area is very well laid out. Great place for families if you don't get the 100 series rooms in the older section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
all is good
Couples
Myrtle Beach, SC
Mar 16, 2013

Just right

The location was great! We had a nice ocean view room in the Pinnacle tower. The elevators were a bit slow and parking was tough to find if you return to the hotel after 10 pm. The welcome staff at the desk were a bit curt and they were not that busy. Kids were playing with firecrackers in the balconies beneath ours so it was a bit noisy at night. Overall it was still a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaysen
Couples
North Carolina
Sep 16, 2013

Great for the price.....

The room was fantastically average. We kind of expected a bit more from the pictures and what reviews we did read, however the room we stayed in was just that, AVERAGE.... Things went smoothly except for wanting to check in at 2:45 and come to find that ther room had not been turned over and was possibly not going to be ready for the 3:00 check in time. Again on checkout we made the mistake of thinking we had a 12:00 check out and found out it was really a 11:00, which in my opinion is way to early for a Sunday morning. We were rushed to get out by the front desk and housekeeping and threatened with a 50$ late checkout fee if not done ny a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
matjas14
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2013

Like the hotel did not like the location of the room

Parking was horrible at this hotel. Room was good and well stock with plates, silverware, coffee maker, etc, clean and confortable. The room was in front of the door to the parking deck so you could here the door opening and closing all night/the deck was facing the kiddy pool and that was loud so sitting at the deck to enjoy the view of the water was not something we could do. When we checked in they wanted a deposit and when we checked out they would not give us a receipt because of who we booked. Where is my deposit?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaleighJetsetter
Couples
Raleigh, NC
May 19, 2014

Limited Ocean View + Lengthy Check-In + Disorganized Management

We stayed at this hotel for my husband's 30th birthday; check in took forever because they had us in a room with double beds and no ocean view and we booked a king room with an ocean view. Sadly, it took a while to get this sorted out, even at midnight, when we checked in. The next day, the manager called to ask us to move rooms, when we were only there for 2 nights. Thankfully we didn't have to move rooms but they did give us the room right next to elevator and hotel bar. It wasn't super loud, except around 2am and 8/9am. The balcony wasn't private because 1/2 of faced the patio for dining for the restaurant. The room itself was sizable and had a kitchen; which was nice. Sadly, there was a leak in our room during our stay so the carpet near the door and bed were soaked but other than, it was a nice stay. Hotel amenities are much nicer than room amenities!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe is AMAZING!

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Louisville, KY
Jul 15, 2007

General hotel

Was somewhat disappointed. I found the hotel typical of every other hotel along the beach. I was led to belive it would be an ocean view. It was, after looking past all of the other hotels in front of the view. (Sea Side) Not Ocean Front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top