$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
149 reviews
Great Stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. Our room was very clean and the service was great! One... See full review

  • J Prince
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great room and view

Our efficiency ocean view room was amazing. The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The... See full review

  • LDeng
  • Sep 2, 2014
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area’s largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools – truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Hotel Map

33.6674 -78.9086
Area served
Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand of South Carolina
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located on the south end of Myrtle Beach, Compass Cove is close to airport, many local area attractions, shopping, parks, restaurants and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northcarolina girl
Charlotte, NC
Oct 15, 2013

Wish room was nicer, overall okay stay

We were fortunate to get a discount special so we thought it would be a good opportunity to try a hotel we haven't stayed before. When we walked in we noticed two things: There was a slightly musty odor in the room. Also as soon as you step in the room you enter into the bedroom. That really surprised us since most places that are advertised as an oceanfront condo/ one bedroom where we've stayed at in MB the bedroom area is located away from the entry door. So there were a few times we felt nervous about being so close to the outside hallway, especially since the windows were right next to one of the double beds. Also the overall room lay-out was cramped with a very small bathroom and kitchenette. Another thing we noticed was outside in the open air carpeted hallway there was a slight urine odor.. We chalked up the musty odor and the other odor to it being an older hotel and decided to not move to another room. The rest of the hotel was enjoyable with easy access to the beach. Also parking was great since there was available parking near the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy102
WV
May 25, 2013

Great Location needs improvement

We stayed in the Pinnacle area of Compass Cove. The "stains" on the sides of bed left alot to be desired. Other than that, it was just average to below average cleanliness. The bathroom was very small, so with 3 of us in the suite there was not room to keep our items to shower & get ready. The wifi was TERRIBLE & would not stay connected. It has been 5 years since staying here & will not be going back. Next time heading back to Sandcastle right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OnlyEnt
Greenville, SC
Apr 10, 2014

Great Stay For a Little Getaway!!

Everything was simple and easy. The staff was nice & friendly. Checkin & out was easy, quick, & simple. The biggest perk of the room were the free DVD rentals they had for each room. My bf & I really enjoyed being able to lay around at night & catch up on movies we hadnt seen. It gave you that little something extra to do when you didnt feel like leaving the room. My only & biggest complaint was being on the first floor. I paid for an Oceanfront room (and although I guess that was what it was) ...being on the first floor the pool area and landscaping was blocking my Oceanfront view. The only other complaint was thatthe hotel was so far from the little shops & attractions. I had to drive to everything I did. Overrall for what I paid it was an awesome room. I will definately look to stay there again. Just not on the 1st floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is AWESOME day or night!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5Tylers
roanoke, va
May 23, 2014

would stay again

The resort was clean and well kept up with compared to others in area. We left at the beginning of bike week so we weren't fans of the bikers running their bikes and loud music in the parking garages. We wished the staff would have not allowed that. There were many water features but were spread out throughout the resort and all were rather small. We liked being away from the main Myrtle strip and were close to Springmaid Pier for fishing. We would stay again since the deals they offer are wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

T.I.G.E.R.S at Barefoot Landing. Take a picture holding a tiger cub and chimpanzee. Was a wonderful experience for the entire family

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, MI
Jul 22, 2011

Compass Cove

The Hotel was nice and pretty clean. Our room the first day was bad because we paid for the oceanfront room and we were put on the first floor by the pool which was a bad excuse for oceanfront. Once the room was changed everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pinkypee
North Carolina, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice place for your $$

One thing I didn't like was the parking is right outside your rm. It's convient but not 2am when someone car alarms go off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Mom822
Atlanta, GA
Aug 5, 2012

dirty room at check-in

They checked us into a dirty room..left just as the previous guests left it! I called the front desk and they had maid service sent immediately and they cleaned the room while we were in it. Other than this the visit was wonderful, but I found this a little hard to overlook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wicked man
Beach
Feb 25, 2014

nice

I had a great time will come back but next time I would ride helicopters and maybe horses too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAT N
NEW JERSEY
Jul 21, 2014

FUN

THE PEOPLE CLEAN THE ROOM ARE NOT TO EFFICIENT, POOR ROOM SERVICE AND NOT TO WELCOMING EXCEPT THE VERY LAST DAY WHEN A NICE SERVICE LADY SMILE AND SAID NICELY THAT IS OK .... FOR BEING A LITTLE LATE ...I THINK THE PEOPLE WHO CLEAN THE ROOM ARE NOT HAPPY THERE , YOU SHOULD LOOK INTO THAT , BUT I GUEST THEY NEED TO SURVIVED ! PLEASE TAKE CARE OF THEM , HAPPY EMPLOYEES HAPPY JOB , HAPPY WORK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

WAX AND AQUARIUM MUSEUM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee Super traveler
New York
Aug 26, 2012

A gem by the sea

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was actually a kitchenette with 2 large private bedrooms a microwave, stove and fridge. The Crow's Nest, an onsite family friendly restaurant was pretty good. The beach was pristine and and enjoyed it every day. The Hotel had multiple pools to choose from. I especially like the outdoor covered pool that you could use whether there was sunshine or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway at the Beach. The Aquarium, an amusement park, many eateries and forms of entertainment are here. The shopping is pretty good too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search