$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
View map of 2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris 2407
Business
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Mar 3, 2012

Two nights at compass cove

I booked online for the Compass cove at what I thought was a good off season price. I've seen the property before so I had an idea about the hotel. We were put into a room right beside the underground parking garage in a breezeway off the side street. It was an "ocean view ' room if you went out onto the street . It was extremely noisy late at night and in the early morning. I arrived home with four welts on my forearms that weren't there when we booked in(bugs?). I guess you get what you pay for. The high rise portion of the hotel is beautiful but i guess those rooms are being booked online. There's plenty of pools and hot tubs and the kiddie area is very well laid out. Great place for families if you don't get the 100 series rooms in the older section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madmac
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Myrtle Beach 2012

Really not what I expected for $450 a night. Very Ordinary. No control over guests or hotel property after dark. Fireworks shot off at all hours of the night on the Ocean side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelo's, best steaks in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Mom822
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 5, 2012

dirty room at check-in

They checked us into a dirty room..left just as the previous guests left it! I called the front desk and they had maid service sent immediately and they cleaned the room while we were in it. Other than this the visit was wonderful, but I found this a little hard to overlook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee Super traveler
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2012

A gem by the sea

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was actually a kitchenette with 2 large private bedrooms a microwave, stove and fridge. The Crow's Nest, an onsite family friendly restaurant was pretty good. The beach was pristine and and enjoyed it every day. The Hotel had multiple pools to choose from. I especially like the outdoor covered pool that you could use whether there was sunshine or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway at the Beach. The Aquarium, an amusement park, many eateries and forms of entertainment are here. The shopping is pretty good too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
123business
Business
New Jersey, USA
Aug 31, 2012

Good trip

Hotel is huge and finding your way around can be fustrating, but once you know your way it gets alot better . 3 Stars due to House Keeping because on 2 different days of my trip they had to be called because they never cleaned our room , once called they came to clean between 6 and 8 pm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Usual beach food of Burgers , Chicken fingers , Salads , Pizza etc. Food was of good quality and resonable prices. Breakfast Buffet was just so so, needs help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
all is good
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Mar 16, 2013

Just right

The location was great! We had a nice ocean view room in the Pinnacle tower. The elevators were a bit slow and parking was tough to find if you return to the hotel after 10 pm. The welcome staff at the desk were a bit curt and they were not that busy. Kids were playing with firecrackers in the balconies beneath ours so it was a bit noisy at night. Overall it was still a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy102
Business
WV
May 25, 2013

Great Location needs improvement

We stayed in the Pinnacle area of Compass Cove. The "stains" on the sides of bed left alot to be desired. Other than that, it was just average to below average cleanliness. The bathroom was very small, so with 3 of us in the suite there was not room to keep our items to shower & get ready. The wifi was TERRIBLE & would not stay connected. It has been 5 years since staying here & will not be going back. Next time heading back to Sandcastle right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaysen
Business
North Carolina
Sep 16, 2013

Great for the price.....

The room was fantastically average. We kind of expected a bit more from the pictures and what reviews we did read, however the room we stayed in was just that, AVERAGE.... Things went smoothly except for wanting to check in at 2:45 and come to find that ther room had not been turned over and was possibly not going to be ready for the 3:00 check in time. Again on checkout we made the mistake of thinking we had a 12:00 check out and found out it was really a 11:00, which in my opinion is way to early for a Sunday morning. We were rushed to get out by the front desk and housekeeping and threatened with a 50$ late checkout fee if not done ny a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
matjas14
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2013

Like the hotel did not like the location of the room

Parking was horrible at this hotel. Room was good and well stock with plates, silverware, coffee maker, etc, clean and confortable. The room was in front of the door to the parking deck so you could here the door opening and closing all night/the deck was facing the kiddy pool and that was loud so sitting at the deck to enjoy the view of the water was not something we could do. When we checked in they wanted a deposit and when we checked out they would not give us a receipt because of who we booked. Where is my deposit?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northcarolina girl
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 15, 2013

Wish room was nicer, overall okay stay

We were fortunate to get a discount special so we thought it would be a good opportunity to try a hotel we haven't stayed before. When we walked in we noticed two things: There was a slightly musty odor in the room. Also as soon as you step in the room you enter into the bedroom. That really surprised us since most places that are advertised as an oceanfront condo/ one bedroom where we've stayed at in MB the bedroom area is located away from the entry door. So there were a few times we felt nervous about being so close to the outside hallway, especially since the windows were right next to one of the double beds. Also the overall room lay-out was cramped with a very small bathroom and kitchenette. Another thing we noticed was outside in the open air carpeted hallway there was a slight urine odor.. We chalked up the musty odor and the other odor to it being an older hotel and decided to not move to another room. The rest of the hotel was enjoyable with easy access to the beach. Also parking was great since there was available parking near the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top