$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
152 reviews
Family Fun

A great place to escape for a day in the sun or a whole week. We come here every chance we can get... See full review

  • Wallyandfamily
  • Oct 17, 2014
Great Stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. Our room was very clean and the service was great! One... See full review

  • J Prince
  • Sep 5, 2014
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area’s largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools – truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Hotel Map

33.6674 -78.9086
Area served
Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand of South Carolina
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located on the south end of Myrtle Beach, Compass Cove is close to airport, many local area attractions, shopping, parks, restaurants and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris 2407
Business
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Mar 3, 2012

Two nights at compass cove

I booked online for the Compass cove at what I thought was a good off season price. I've seen the property before so I had an idea about the hotel. We were put into a room right beside the underground parking garage in a breezeway off the side street. It was an "ocean view ' room if you went out onto the street . It was extremely noisy late at night and in the early morning. I arrived home with four welts on my forearms that weren't there when we booked in(bugs?). I guess you get what you pay for. The high rise portion of the hotel is beautiful but i guess those rooms are being booked online. There's plenty of pools and hot tubs and the kiddie area is very well laid out. Great place for families if you don't get the 100 series rooms in the older section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madmac
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Myrtle Beach 2012

Really not what I expected for $450 a night. Very Ordinary. No control over guests or hotel property after dark. Fireworks shot off at all hours of the night on the Ocean side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelo's, best steaks in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Mom822
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 5, 2012

dirty room at check-in

They checked us into a dirty room..left just as the previous guests left it! I called the front desk and they had maid service sent immediately and they cleaned the room while we were in it. Other than this the visit was wonderful, but I found this a little hard to overlook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee Super traveler
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2012

A gem by the sea

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was actually a kitchenette with 2 large private bedrooms a microwave, stove and fridge. The Crow's Nest, an onsite family friendly restaurant was pretty good. The beach was pristine and and enjoyed it every day. The Hotel had multiple pools to choose from. I especially like the outdoor covered pool that you could use whether there was sunshine or not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway at the Beach. The Aquarium, an amusement park, many eateries and forms of entertainment are here. The shopping is pretty good too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
123business
Business
New Jersey, USA
Aug 31, 2012

Good trip

Hotel is huge and finding your way around can be fustrating, but once you know your way it gets alot better . 3 Stars due to House Keeping because on 2 different days of my trip they had to be called because they never cleaned our room , once called they came to clean between 6 and 8 pm .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Usual beach food of Burgers , Chicken fingers , Salads , Pizza etc. Food was of good quality and resonable prices. Breakfast Buffet was just so so, needs help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
all is good
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Mar 16, 2013

Just right

The location was great! We had a nice ocean view room in the Pinnacle tower. The elevators were a bit slow and parking was tough to find if you return to the hotel after 10 pm. The welcome staff at the desk were a bit curt and they were not that busy. Kids were playing with firecrackers in the balconies beneath ours so it was a bit noisy at night. Overall it was still a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy102
Business
WV
May 25, 2013

Great Location needs improvement

We stayed in the Pinnacle area of Compass Cove. The "stains" on the sides of bed left alot to be desired. Other than that, it was just average to below average cleanliness. The bathroom was very small, so with 3 of us in the suite there was not room to keep our items to shower & get ready. The wifi was TERRIBLE & would not stay connected. It has been 5 years since staying here & will not be going back. Next time heading back to Sandcastle right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaysen
Business
North Carolina
Sep 16, 2013

Great for the price.....

The room was fantastically average. We kind of expected a bit more from the pictures and what reviews we did read, however the room we stayed in was just that, AVERAGE.... Things went smoothly except for wanting to check in at 2:45 and come to find that ther room had not been turned over and was possibly not going to be ready for the 3:00 check in time. Again on checkout we made the mistake of thinking we had a 12:00 check out and found out it was really a 11:00, which in my opinion is way to early for a Sunday morning. We were rushed to get out by the front desk and housekeeping and threatened with a 50$ late checkout fee if not done ny a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
matjas14
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 8, 2013

Like the hotel did not like the location of the room

Parking was horrible at this hotel. Room was good and well stock with plates, silverware, coffee maker, etc, clean and confortable. The room was in front of the door to the parking deck so you could here the door opening and closing all night/the deck was facing the kiddy pool and that was loud so sitting at the deck to enjoy the view of the water was not something we could do. When we checked in they wanted a deposit and when we checked out they would not give us a receipt because of who we booked. Where is my deposit?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northcarolina girl
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 15, 2013

Wish room was nicer, overall okay stay

We were fortunate to get a discount special so we thought it would be a good opportunity to try a hotel we haven't stayed before. When we walked in we noticed two things: There was a slightly musty odor in the room. Also as soon as you step in the room you enter into the bedroom. That really surprised us since most places that are advertised as an oceanfront condo/ one bedroom where we've stayed at in MB the bedroom area is located away from the entry door. So there were a few times we felt nervous about being so close to the outside hallway, especially since the windows were right next to one of the double beds. Also the overall room lay-out was cramped with a very small bathroom and kitchenette. Another thing we noticed was outside in the open air carpeted hallway there was a slight urine odor.. We chalked up the musty odor and the other odor to it being an older hotel and decided to not move to another room. The rest of the hotel was enjoyable with easy access to the beach. Also parking was great since there was available parking near the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top