$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
Everything was great except the foods!

Great location! When we checked in, the room wasn't ready and we were told to wait 15 mins. When we... See full review

  • Kathleen Chui
  • Dec 7, 2014
Family Fun

A great place to escape for a day in the sun or a whole week. We come here every chance we can get... See full review

  • Wallyandfamily
  • Oct 17, 2014
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area’s largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools – truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eb Bo
Business
MD
Nov 28, 2011

disappointed!

The reviews and pictures for this hotel looked great. Especially when I noticed there were 7 pools. The rooms were extremely small and the comforters were dirty. The hotel rooms are in serious need of remodeling. The hotel is extremely old! Save your money. There are better hotels that are less expensive or comparable such as Landmark or Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicole W
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 14, 2013

Don't Waste Your Money- Wouldn't Stay Again

We had a schooner oceanfront room that was listed online as having 2 queen size beds. They were double sized. The box spring had no dust ruffle or anything covering it and was dirty with reddish brown stains on it... I don't want to know what they were. The shower was horrible- anytime anyone in the building turned their shower on, you would either get hit with ice cold water or scalding water. Rooms were dingy and outdated, the beds are hard and uncomfortable, and you get 2 pillows on a "queen" (really a double) bed and it's extremely thin. The indoor pools were ok but the chlorine was overwhelming. The only real positive was the breakfast buffet. You do have to pay for it, but it was worth it. But even that wasn't good enough to make us return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mellow Mushroom Pizza is always a family favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peachycool
Business
wilmington nc
Dec 9, 2013

Terrible Not recommended

parking garage is 5 flights and not connected to one of the towers. Registration slow,and discourteous, confusing. A building stands in front of parking garage so to get ocean view you must be on 8th+ floor. Tho we requested 8 or above, when we arrived at 2:35 they had a room on 6th floor ready. We objected. Much confusion. They said room on 10th would be ready by 3 which was always guaranteed ready time for .all rooms....we took a walk. came back at 3:10, room not ready, we'd emptied bags in garage to dolliies to unpack, they wouldn't give us rm # till room finished cleaning, we insisted, cleaners were still mopping floors at 3:20, room dirty, cheap, wall paper coming off walls, towels they put in rooms still wet, no utensils, coffee pot didn't work, terrible reception on tv, cheap furniture, rugs in hallway torn up, men working all around us, beds creeky, soft, the only good thing was an ocean view. Had committment that night, complained in AM first thing, they did say they could move us to an upgraded room in late afternoon when it was cleaned or they could come, reclean, change towels and look around at condo to see what could be done. We did not want to relocate in late aft, or have people milling around apt so we just accepted it. Another couple stayed with us, there were 2 bedrooms but only 1 bath was private. We all agreed it was a very poor situation, not recommended..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MRSE Family
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2014

Dated hotel needs a lot of improvements

We stayed here for multiple days for our vacation and encountered a series of issues with the property. The check-in was painful - there were no place to sit inside the small lobby and kids had to wait until we checked in after 20 minutes of waiting in line. There are two buildings, and we were given a room at one of the buildings where carpets were extremely old and dirty and room and bathroom conditions were terrible. The property needs very significant maintenance/improvements. When we complained, they moved us to another tower in a different room, but the new floor had a terrible chemical smell. I used to travel for work and stayed at many different hotels in different states; however, this one is at the bottom of my ranking list. On the up side, there were a lot of pools in the hotel that kids enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was great, and I thank you for the service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Y.A Centerville
Business
Centreville, VA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Bad management!!

I booked an ocean front room, so that i can see ocean from the room. when i get there they gave all the way to the corner,close to parking garage, the only thing i see was the parking and building ,i ask them to change the room and They told me that they can't do anything about it, because i didn't book through them , which doesn't make sense to me.After that i called Orb..and they put me on hold almost for an hour,At the end i gave up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
William H Superdad
Business
Hickory,North Carolina
May 7, 2012

What could have been

So here is to the worst family trip so far . We drive 5 hr to make it to our hotel to find out they can't find our reservations that was paid in full and I had conformation email to show proof of RSVP . Wife and kids sit in car for about another 45 minutes until manager (Tony) finally comes to rescue and gives us a room . Fantastic it's late but we have a great room so everyone was back to being in a good mood . The morning comes and my trip from l starts. First I get up early to go down to front desk and they still can't find my reservations and when they do find them I'm told I have to move from the very nice room I thought I was paying for to some down graded room that reminded me of the "Sea Dip" with was way cheaper for the same room . This hotel is very over rated layout is horrible , and service was even worst . I wish I could take it all back I wouldn't recommend this hotel at the price rate to my worst enemy just being honest my wife and kids hated the whole trip and that's time we can't get back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Family water park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jabd
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 30, 2012

fair family vacation

The employees in this hotel were helpful but the other guests who stayed near the pool had a lot to be desired. Many of the guests were loud, obnoxious and rude. We rented chairs and an umbrella for three days of our stay. Some guests actually watched us and when we went back to our room they actually took over our chairs and umbrella on the beach. How rude!!!! Also a very hot time of year to be in SOuth Carolina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dhbearcats
Business
Cincinnati,Ohio
Aug 11, 2013

etras not a good value

add ons that are free in north myrtle beach 25 $ fee for lock for safe which is extremely small (25 is refunded along with 50$ charge after you return lock and checkout). For the money north myrtle beach deals are a much better value with a less crowded beach and pools. Ocean Front rooms schooner are more pool front . especially floor 1 . Its simple place pools small shows its age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Daddys steak house a must great food good value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charlotte dude
Business
charlotte, nc
Sep 3, 2013

Do not expect much

Pros: • Right on the beach • Location • Several pools Cons: • Room are ok but dated, have a full kitchen but tiny bathroom • No customer service, hardly can find anyone • Restaurant has limited menu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Four Family Vacation
Business
Augusta, GA
Apr 13, 2014

Dirty, smelly room

The room wasn't ready upon arrival. The hotel was supposed to call when it was ready but they never did. There was an overwhelming smoke smell in the room. The bathroom floor was dirty. When we called the front desk it took them hours to respond. We will not return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top