$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
View map of 2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bingo Mom
Charlotte, N.C.
Oct 29, 2012

A pleasant surprise

Even though we picked a bad weekend to go to Myrtle Beach, weatherwise., I was definitely pleasantly surprised by the hotel we selected. Sometimes, when you are selecting a resort, sight unseen, and just going by the pictures, you might be deceived, and disappointed. Not in this case. The rooms were an ample size, with a full size refrigerator, microwave, and they even supplied dishware. We had an oceanview, and were literally steps from the beach. It was great. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a flea market, that's a very short drive from the hotel. Excellent place to pick up souveneirs, jewelry and other merchandise. But be careful, we spent a lot of time shopping there, they had good deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loganville
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 16, 2014

average room

the beds needs replacing, room was neat, hosekeeping while we were there was only okay,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of things to do close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boxer Fan
Business
Brockton, Massachusetts
Sep 13, 2014

Outstanding Family fun !

Hotel has a lot to offer. Ocean view was amazing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location close to all attractions. We will be back again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Future miller
Business
Mooresville
Sep 12, 2014

Labor Day

Everything was great and it was right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier 14

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Prince
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 5, 2014

Great Stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. Our room was very clean and the service was great! One thing that really impressed us was how nice and clean the grounds and pool areas were kept. The location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirates Voyage dinner and show was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bargain vacation hunter
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 2, 2014

Acceptable for the price

Great Deal for $418 for 5 nights ocean front resort. Resort public areas wonderful and very clean, pools, lobby, restaurant etc.. The room sure did show wear and tear. Dirty carpets and furniture in the living and bedroom area. Kitchen and bathroom area very clean. But, I can't complain the cost was inexpensive and wasn't in room much anyway. Would stay again for the same bargain price, but wouldn't pay the normal resort price of $1,000!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Market Commons shops and restaurants about 1 mile drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wallyandfamily
Business
Raleigh Mc
Sep 2, 2014

Amazing getaway!!!

We have a large family with many different needs. Compass Cove is a great place to stay that offers so many activities, everyone is entertained. The room was adequate space wise, however it could have been a bit cleaner in the kitchen area. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful and we really had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seaside dining is a great feature!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LDeng
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 2, 2014

Great room and view

Our efficiency ocean view room was amazing. The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The furniture in the room were a little outdated but overall it was clean and comfortable with an amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Try the skywheel on the boardwalk. However, stick to eating at the hotel the boardwalk restaurants are not good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VA trooper
Business
Northern VA
Aug 28, 2014

It's OK but...

room was not so clean and bed, pillow and blankets were dirty. You get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amill
Business
Greensboro, NC
Aug 18, 2014

It was ok

The stay was average. I stayed in the Schooner building, which is not as nice as the other two building. If I were to stay there again I would prefer to stay in one of the other building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MRSE Family
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2014

Dated hotel needs a lot of improvements

We stayed here for multiple days for our vacation and encountered a series of issues with the property. The check-in was painful - there were no place to sit inside the small lobby and kids had to wait until we checked in after 20 minutes of waiting in line. There are two buildings, and we were given a room at one of the buildings where carpets were extremely old and dirty and room and bathroom conditions were terrible. The property needs very significant maintenance/improvements. When we complained, they moved us to another tower in a different room, but the new floor had a terrible chemical smell. I used to travel for work and stayed at many different hotels in different states; however, this one is at the bottom of my ranking list. On the up side, there were a lot of pools in the hotel that kids enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was great, and I thank you for the service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top