Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
148 reviews
Great Stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. Our room was very clean and the service was great! One... See full review

  • J Prince
  • Sep 5, 2014
Great room and view

Our efficiency ocean view room was amazing. The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The... See full review

  • LDeng
  • Sep 2, 2014
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area’s largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools – truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

33.6674 -78.9086
Area served
Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand of South Carolina
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located on the south end of Myrtle Beach, Compass Cove is close to airport, many local area attractions, shopping, parks, restaurants and golf courses.

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebs80
Durham NC
May 27, 2014

Sweet Vacation

Our experience was very good. We went during bike week and the Hotel seemed very organized and equipped to do the job. Nice location. Friendly staff. Awesome price. Definitely coming back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5Tylers
roanoke, va
May 23, 2014

would stay again

The resort was clean and well kept up with compared to others in area. We left at the beginning of bike week so we weren't fans of the bikers running their bikes and loud music in the parking garages. We wished the staff would have not allowed that. There were many water features but were spread out throughout the resort and all were rather small. We liked being away from the main Myrtle strip and were close to Springmaid Pier for fishing. We would stay again since the deals they offer are wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

T.I.G.E.R.S at Barefoot Landing. Take a picture holding a tiger cub and chimpanzee. Was a wonderful experience for the entire family

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russian2408
Greensboro,NC
May 23, 2014

Great weekend at the beach!

Enjoyed everything, especially staff and water slides!...;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ripley's was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janism
Ontario
May 21, 2014

Our favourite getaway

This is our 5th or 6th stay her. We love the pools, tiki bar, restaurant and general ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Found a great bar on 7 Th N. Called Hammmerhead. Best shrimp ever, entertainment, outdoor on ocean, great service. Will go back, Also, we also hit Lion King for food and drinks because rooms all have fridges and microwaves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LRJRmomma
Virginia
May 20, 2014

Perfect everything!

I had a great experience at Compass Cove. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has excellent service and food. The pools were nice and the hot tubs were great! The beds were comfortable, and the trundle bed was very easy to maneuver and very comfortable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaleighJetsetter
Raleigh, NC
May 19, 2014

Limited Ocean View + Lengthy Check-In + Disorganized Management

We stayed at this hotel for my husband's 30th birthday; check in took forever because they had us in a room with double beds and no ocean view and we booked a king room with an ocean view. Sadly, it took a while to get this sorted out, even at midnight, when we checked in. The next day, the manager called to ask us to move rooms, when we were only there for 2 nights. Thankfully we didn't have to move rooms but they did give us the room right next to elevator and hotel bar. It wasn't super loud, except around 2am and 8/9am. The balcony wasn't private because 1/2 of faced the patio for dining for the restaurant. The room itself was sizable and had a kitchen; which was nice. Sadly, there was a leak in our room during our stay so the carpet near the door and bed were soaked but other than, it was a nice stay. Hotel amenities are much nicer than room amenities!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

River City Cafe is AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Cruisers
Medina, Ohio
May 18, 2014

Satisfied

Great location on the beach if you don't mind driving to town. Suit 1055 was in good shape and looked like recently painted. The place delivered what it promised and I would go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rip let's 5D attraction is good fun. The Aquarium is worth a visit together with "Broadway on the Beach" area, lots to see and eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marvm23
Detroit, michigan
May 13, 2014

Very nice hotel especially for the price

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Compass Cove. For just over $100/night for an ocean front room, my expectations were pretty low. Room was large and clean. The staff was very friendly and the food at the two dining locations were good. We will return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ItalyNyR
Upstate NY
May 12, 2014

Fun, Family friendly, Good Location

Went down for a week vacation. Thankfully right before all of the bikers arrived as they rope off most of the parking lot to accomodate them as if the other paying guests don't matter as much as they do. The tiki bar out front is fun too as you can order drinks or food there and play corn hole/shuffle board with a drink in hand. I wish the bugs weren't such a pain though. Every day at about 10-11am they would arrive on the doors and I couldn't even open them up to get a little breeze in the room. These little annoyances would infest the room immediately. They were also all over the beach so it wasn't just this resort location either. It must be a local outbreak of them as it wasn't just a few, more like hundreds of them. The front desk was friendly although they do work at their own pace. If you're in line for anything you are normally going to be waiting for a half hour at a time. I had some guests and asked specifically if their parking space was ok and the person that game me the parking pass said no problem. Within 15 minutes a young girl pulls up on a scooter and wrote a ticket out. No negotiations either on this as she said she had pictures of the vehicle. The front desk didn't want to know anything about it as they said they have "nothing to do with the city meters." Overall a good experience and fun time to be had here minus the few setbacks. I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a rental. Broadway at the beach or the at the Boardwalk are both great times but tough to walk to. 2+ miles one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bryson's Mama
Belton, Sc
May 12, 2014

Lovely family hotel!

It was definitely worth the money! The hotel had several lazy rivers, hot tubs, and pools. Tons of activies for the kids and adults. The bar is amazing. As well as the food.The staff was more than friendly. Always asking how are you, or just holding the door. Super sweet. The room was clean and updated. The only thing I didn't like is that it's about 2.5 miles away from the strip. Overall I really enjoyed my trip! I will definitely staying there again:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top