$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

3 stars
2311 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
150 reviews
A new family tradition!

We were here over the fourth and it was amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The pools were... See full review

  • Painter family fun day
  • Jul 6, 2014
Very nice hotel especially for the price

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Compass Cove. For just over $100/night for an ocean... See full review

  • marvm23
  • May 13, 2014
Newly renovated for 2006 and conveniently located near the center of Myrtle Beach, the famous Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining Grand Strand visitors for generations. With over 530 luxurious units including one, two & three bedroom condominiums and 720 feet of oceanfront beach, Compass Cove is one of the area’s largest resort hotels and offers a wide array of guest pleasing amenities. Highlighting these amenities are 22 pool features including 6 indoor and outdoor pools, 3 indoor and outdoor Lazy Rivers, Jacuzzi hot tubs and kiddy pools – truly a water wonderland! Supervised children's activities are offered throughout the summer, and tickets to many local attractions can be purchased at the Front Desk. The staff is committed to giving you an unforgettable vacation experience and can design a vacation package for every budget. Browse through our website for complete details or call us toll free today.

All guests occupying a rooom must be at least 21 years of age, unless accompanied by an adult.

Hotel Map

33.6674 -78.9086
Area served
Myrtle Beach and the Grand Strand of South Carolina
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
Located on the south end of Myrtle Beach, Compass Cove is close to airport, many local area attractions, shopping, parks, restaurants and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort Rooms

Oceanview Room
Our ocean view rooms consist of two double beds, a small size refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that has a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Ocean View Junior Suite
Our spacious ocean view junior suites consist of two double beds, a kitchenette with microwave or stove and refrigerator that's equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony with a partial view of the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront One BR King Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Suite
Our oceanfront suites consist of two double beds or one king bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a sleeper sofa and full size wall bed, a fully equipped kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, two televisions, wireless internet, one bath, and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.
Oceanfront Room
Our oceanfront rooms consist of two double beds, a full refrigerator, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean.
Oceanfront Efficiency
Our spacious oceanfront efficiencies consist of two double beds or one king bed, a kitchen equipped with your basic cookware and dinnerware, one bath, one television, wireless internet and a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Newly refurbished spring 2006.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.7 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.7 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.9 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.2 mi

Dining

Crow's Nest
Open daily, the Crow's Nest serves light fare and drinks from 11:00 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. A favorite hangout for golfers.
Compass Rose
Open daily, the Compass Rose serves the best southern style breakfast on the Grand Strand, a la carte or buffet.
Tiki Bar
Seasonal hours. The Tiki Bar serves burgers and drinks for our vacationers outdoors at one of Compass Cove's 21 water attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfwme
Greenville, SC
Oct 22, 2012

Overall pleased

Overall I was pleased with my stay, the resort had plentiful swimming pools and hot tubs. Resturants and outside Tiki Hut bar were good places for small lunches and drinks/nightcaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrill's Inlet was a very nice place to go for dinning and live music. Less hussle and commercialized dinning that makes for a better quantity experience.

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
QAM70
North Carolina
Jul 14, 2014

Family trip

Set up was great. Room was good until we get ready for bed both beds smell like urine called the front deskThey change the sheets but the smell was still there.pulled sheets off yellow wet stain on mattress. Cleaning staff said that was a maintenance problem. After a short run around from management. They put us in another room. Which was okay. Stay away from room 666!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famy fun
augusta ga
Jul 11, 2014

great for kids

Took my son for 13thbday he loved it. Oceanfront and perfect view of pools. Staff not friendly ellevators horrible had to piah close.would atay again though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boatewalk

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OG mom
WV
Jul 10, 2014

Short

Ok. Elevators extremely slow. Don't go if you do t wanna be around kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family fun comes first
Columbia, sc
Jul 9, 2014

Family fun

The hotel and water area were perfect the front desk people were not very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessmosc
Gaston sc
Jul 8, 2014

would stay again. needs updating though

I would stay again. We were upgraded to a side room suite with large balcony. Meh. while it's very large room, there's only a small chair and a love seat to sit on. Not very comfortable for a family of 5. There's also table 4 chairs. There's a kitchen with no dishwasher...gross you won't find me using those dishes. Restroom clogged like many other reviewers stated. Maintenance came to unclog. Just threw toilet paper away in trash can after that. Front desk manager Suzi has a snooty attitude, and not very thorough. Room was not supplied with towels or soap or shampoo. No dish or hand soap. Linens were used on the hide away bed room 971. Mattress was full of holes and dirty on pull out couch. I would stay again but in a cheaper room because it's nice that there are somany pools and hot tubs. The kids loved the lazy river. The breakfast was great at compass rose. Debbie on the room service line was quick and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peaceful Momma
North Carolina
Jul 7, 2014

Fun Family Weekend

We had a fabulous family weekend here! The food at the lunch/dinner restaurant was simply average. But, the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk out the door and be on the beach! Our girls also really enjoyed playing in the lazy river and the water park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Girl in NC
Wilkes County, NC
Jul 7, 2014

Had a great time.

This room was pretty standard, but it was clean and had everything we needed. The only thing is the shower is pretty small, and I think I hit my elbow 100 times and there were hardly any ledges to put my shampoo and conditioner. I liked this hotel, and the water slides were great, as were the pools and lazy rivers. Outside dining at the tiki bar, and even fourth of July it was crowded, but we still had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach, Senor Frogs, and Joe's Crab Shack, must eat there!

Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fru Fru momma
knoxville, tn
Jul 7, 2014

weekend get away

Compass cove was a great choice! My boys enjoyed the lazy rivers and the awesome slides. The tiki bar had great food with a great ocean view. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Painter family fun day
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2014

A new family tradition!

We were here over the fourth and it was amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The pools were clean and so was the room. We stayed in a double efficiency and it was way roomier than expected. The only small complaint is that then beds weren't very comfy...but who needs to sleep at the beach! Love love love compass cove! Super fun for kiddos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MB Fan
Fairfield, CT
Jul 6, 2014

Disappointed

Hotel is in a great location and the outside, with all the pools (never too crowded) and beach, was one of the best we've stayed at in Myrtle Beach. HOWEVER, inside the hotel itself was disappointing. Elevators are slow and I was actually stuck in one. Mattress smelled of urine and furniture was very warn. Several instances of kids throwing items from balconies into pool...actually poorly/unsupervised kids were an issue but can't blame the hotel for that! Stayed in the newer Pinnacle Building, won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top