$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Captains Quarters

3 stars
901 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
84 reviews
Great for any age.

I was just looking for a place to unwind and relax after a hard week and this hotel had it all:... See full review

  • Newshound
  • Jun 18, 2014
very good

Room was very good. Hair dryer did not work. One desk clerk was lackadaisical. See full review

  • rrhjr
  • May 30, 2014
Myrtle Beach hotel with 3 outdoor pools, lazy river and 5 whirlpools
Located on the south side of Myrtle Beach, and close to some of the area’s top attractions, Captain Quarters Resort also offers plenty of activities on its very own grounds. This resort rewards guests with 3 outdoor pools, kiddie pools, lazy rivers and 5 whirlpools. Serious swimmers can also enjoy the indoor pool. Grab a cocktail and soak up some rays at the oceanfront pool bar. Captain Quarters Resort adds excitement with a 20-lane bowling alley and the impressive Level 6 entertainment complex, which features a full video arcade and billiards room.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Oceanfront rooms are only steps away from Myrtle Beach
  • Indoor and outdoor pools, kids pool, lazy river and 5 whirlpools
  • Oceanfront pool bar, bowling alley and arcade
Captain Quarters Rooms
Captain Quarters Resort rooms include modern décor and a neutral palette. Some include beach-themed, tropical sheets and comforters to get visitors in the mood for sunny days. Rooms face the ocean and are bright and airy, making use of natural light and beautiful scenery. All rooms are complete oceanfront with unobstructed view of the ocean. Suitable for families, all accommodations include a kitchenette and Internet access.
Things To Do:
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Grand Strand (0.6 mi/1.6 km)
  • Mt. Atlanticus (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach (1.4 mi/2.2 km) 
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (1.6 mi/2.5 km) 
  • Coastal Grand Mall (2.2 mi/3.5 km)

Captains Quarters Rooms

Oceanview Suite
Oceanview Suite with two queen bed includes television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a double murphy wall bed, love seat sofa, television, and dinette table with 4 chairs. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voice-mail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanview suites feature a private balcony with a 45 degree angle side view of the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite with two double bed includes television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a double murphy wall bed, loveseat sofa, television, and dinette table with 4 chairs. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanfront double suites feature a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Angled Suite
Angled Suite with one double and sofa bed includes flat screen television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a king bed, double sleeper sofa, and flat screen television. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Premiere suites feature a private balcony with a 45 degree angle partial oceanview overlooking the ship wreck lagoon pool and the north end of the beach. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanfront Efficency
Oceanfront Efficiency with two queen bed includes one bath, a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, and basic cookware and dinnerware. Oceanfront efficiencies have a flat screen television, coffee maker, free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanfront efficiencies feature a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 5 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Room with two double bed includes one bath, a small refrigerator, microwave, television, coffee maker, free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Resort guests have access to laundry facilities on site. Oceanview rooms feature a private balcony with a 90 degree angle side view of the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 5 people with no more than 4 adult family members.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Captains Quarters also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6781 -78.8961
Area served
Myrtle Beach - Grand Strand Area Myrtle Beach, SC.
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport is located just 2 miles NE.
Area description
Located on the beach in Myrtle Beach, this hotel is close to Family Kingdom Amusement Park, Broadway at the Beach and The Market Commons. Area attractions also include Mt. Atlanticus and The Children's Museum of South Carolina.

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.8 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.8 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Captains Quarters

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 3, 2010

would "not" recomend !!!!!!!

I requested a smoking room and did not get one. they said I did not request one through [...] but my e-mail confermation shows that is my only request.The shower was the most horrendous experience I have had it would burn you and then be freezing 3 seconds later. The toilet constantly ran the whole time we were there. the beds were hard as the floor. Only half the buttons worked on the microwave in the room. the TV had no remote control and was stuck with CC on so anything we watch was blocked out by the captions. The only good thing I can say about my stay was that it had a good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
StephanieS77
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jun 20, 2013

Avoid!! Absolutely Dirty, Disgusting and gross!

This was supposed to be for my bachelorette party weekend and this hotel disgusted me and my girlfriends. We would never stay here again! First off... this is not a "resort". I think a motel 6 would have more to offer. The hallways of this hotel are all open to the weather and the floors covered in old carpeting. So when it rains the hallways carpet is soaked and dirty. Our rooms were not as pictured. Dark stains ont he walls. Our beds comforters, blankets, sheets and pillow cases were covered in different colored STAINS! We asked for new sheets and they were also covered in stains! They didn't even smell clean! Our bathroom was gross. 70's outdated brown and yellow mustard colors with the tile floor chipped and cracked. Bathtub had hairs and our towels were obviously super old... rough and frayed around the edges! The pools and pool area was dirty as well. We ordered frozed drinks at the tiki bar to help cheer us up... and they served us some melted syrupy substance in a plastic cup at $6 a pop! Needless to say they were gross. I could go on and on about this place. Avoid this place at all costs! We would have left immediately if we could have afforded to move to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset mama
Wausau, WI
Apr 28, 2013

so disappointed

I was disappointed that I paid extra for an ocean front room and got a view of the parking lot. they told me it was still ocean front because of the building I was in. very confusing layout only ice machine is on second floor. Oh and when I checked in I got charged extra for a suite fee. beyond that the place is old, rusted and has uneven floors. pay more and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 14, 2009

"Pictures are deceiving"

Definitely didnt get what I amagined it would be. The rooms were dated, dark and dingy. Amenities where just enough to be able to say they had it. They claim to have 15 pools, I couldnt find them all. Bowling ally was made in someones shed. Room service got away with as little as they could get by with. There was also a roach that lyed dead on our kitchen floor for two days, which only means they didnt sweep nor mop and oh, they have roaches. Check out was at 11am we checked out 8am on the last day and where happy to be going home. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 3, 2010

would "not" recomend !!!!!!!

I requested a smoking room and did not get one. they said I did not request one through [...] but my e-mail confermation shows that is my only request.The shower was the most horrendous experience I have had it would burn you and then be freezing 3 seconds later. The toilet constantly ran the whole time we were there. the beds were hard as the floor. Only half the buttons worked on the microwave in the room. the TV had no remote control and was stuck with CC on so anything we watch was blocked out by the captions. The only good thing I can say about my stay was that it had a good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 14, 2009

"Pictures are deceiving"

Definitely didnt get what I amagined it would be. The rooms were dated, dark and dingy. Amenities where just enough to be able to say they had it. They claim to have 15 pools, I couldnt find them all. Bowling ally was made in someones shed. Room service got away with as little as they could get by with. There was also a roach that lyed dead on our kitchen floor for two days, which only means they didnt sweep nor mop and oh, they have roaches. Check out was at 11am we checked out 8am on the last day and where happy to be going home. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mstokl
USA
Aug 17, 2013

It's all about profit for this rstablishment

During our stay our wallet, money, credit cards, and iPhone were stolen pool side while we were three feet from our bag. Other travelers had items stolen on the same evening. Hotel management had no response and when we went to speak with them we were forced to wait 20 minutes while the manager sat in her office only to be berated by management that we dared to take our eyes of our property. One staff member even said he didn't care about anything that was stolen. We were only looking to be offered to use a phone as all our money and room keys had been stolen. And we had the audacity to ask if housekeeping could be notified to keep an eye out for the stolen items. Management lied and said yes but when we ask several members of housekeeping the next day they had no idea of theft the previous evening. When I confronted management about being lied to, nothing was offered as their official response was ultimately they were not responsible for the theft which I totally agreed with but when I asked what is their excuse for their horrible customer service the assistant manager had no answer. Don't stay here. Management is obtuse and doesnt care about anything but profit. Sea crest next door is much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aliciadawn
Tennessee
Sep 9, 2013

Horrible!!

This was horrible!!! The room was horrid!! Went to front desk and they stated they could do nothing because I didn't book directly through the hotel. The room looked like they had salvaged everything broke from other rooms. Luck ally I pack my own sheets and blankets. Had to go buy bleach and a mop. Washed the walls and floor down just to feel comfortable! No one was able to do anything about our stay. I will never book again like this, nor use this hotel!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ms florida
jacksonsville fl
Sep 17, 2012

a little outdated

hotel needs some major upgrades and cosmetic repairs in rooms, view was beuatiful but not some where you would want ot relax, lots of pools were nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

italian resturant wih good atmosphere and food

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacher Momma
Smithfield, NC
Jun 15, 2014

Old, loud, lots to do.

This hotel is old. I understand that one part of the hotel has been upgraded but the part I stayed in was old and in a not so great condition. I had a two double bedroom efficiency and it did appear to have newer curtains, bedspreads, and carpet. And it also had a nice television. But everything else was really old. I was okay with that as I had done my research before I stayed here and I needed something fairly cheap at the last minute. So I got a fabulous deal and booked the room. Every day there were workers trimming the palm trees and it was really loud with the backup beeping noise. Every single day. Apparently the restaurant was right over my room and every morning at 5:00 AM I was woken up with a lot of banging and other noises coming from that area. The loud noises continued until I was out of the room by midmorning. I was also woken up at 2:30 morning to full-blown fireworks right outside my room. The bathroom is tiny! But I just needed a place to clean up from the beach. Everywhere I went there were smokers and I could smell cigarette smoke while sitting on my balcony. All trying to sit by the pool there was cigarette smoke along with unsupervised, rowdy children and adults. The pool areas are old but seem to work fine and the children enjoyed them. The fire and hula show was a huge hit with my family. The elevators are tiny and one is broken so when it was time to check out I had to carry all of my luggage down eight floors about four different times. The staff is super friendly and seemed to be very helpful if I needed something. There was always something fun going on for the kids with lively music and activities. Great beach access from the motel. I stayed in room 816 and was more exhausted when I got home than when I was I got there due to the excessive amount of noise. The resorts restaurant, the Loco gecko, is a really good place to eat. One last note, you can only part one vehicle in the parking garage. A friend went with us and was told she had to pay to park while she was there and that would've been over 30 some dollars. After spending some time working her way to the manager they finally allowed her to park the vehicle in the parking garage. I'm thankful for the great deal that I got for this resort but I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to show the restaurant on site your proof that you are staying at this resort and you get 10% off. I had forgotten to do this and I did not receive my discount. Also getting tickets to the ninth floor restaurant for breakfast is cheaper by getting them downstairs at the desk rather than paying directly at the restaurant. You can save two dollars per person.

Back to menu Return to top