$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Captains Quarters

3 stars
901 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
79 reviews
For the price a+

Only paid $60 for this room so can't realy complain for the price. Great location to everything... See full review

  • Elise Loves an Airman
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great for any age.

I was just looking for a place to unwind and relax after a hard week and this hotel had it all:... See full review

  • Newshound
  • Jun 18, 2014
Myrtle Beach hotel with 3 outdoor pools, lazy river and 5 whirlpools
Located on the south side of Myrtle Beach, and close to some of the area’s top attractions, Captain Quarters Resort also offers plenty of activities on its very own grounds. This resort rewards guests with 3 outdoor pools, kiddie pools, lazy rivers and 5 whirlpools. Serious swimmers can also enjoy the indoor pool. Grab a cocktail and soak up some rays at the oceanfront pool bar. Captain Quarters Resort adds excitement with a 20-lane bowling alley and the impressive Level 6 entertainment complex, which features a full video arcade and billiards room.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Oceanfront rooms are only steps away from Myrtle Beach
  • Indoor and outdoor pools, kids pool, lazy river and 5 whirlpools
  • Oceanfront pool bar, bowling alley and arcade
Captain Quarters Rooms
Captain Quarters Resort rooms include modern décor and a neutral palette. Some include beach-themed, tropical sheets and comforters to get visitors in the mood for sunny days. Rooms face the ocean and are bright and airy, making use of natural light and beautiful scenery. All rooms are complete oceanfront with unobstructed view of the ocean. Suitable for families, all accommodations include a kitchenette and Internet access.
Things To Do:
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Grand Strand (0.6 mi/1.6 km)
  • Mt. Atlanticus (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach (1.4 mi/2.2 km) 
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (1.6 mi/2.5 km) 
  • Coastal Grand Mall (2.2 mi/3.5 km)

Hotel Map

33.6781 -78.8961
Area served
Myrtle Beach - Grand Strand Area Myrtle Beach, SC.
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport is located just 2 miles NE.
Area description
Located on the beach in Myrtle Beach, this hotel is close to Family Kingdom Amusement Park, Broadway at the Beach and The Market Commons. Area attractions also include Mt. Atlanticus and The Children's Museum of South Carolina.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Captains Quarters also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Captains Quarters Rooms

Oceanview Suite
Oceanview Suite with two queen bed includes television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a double murphy wall bed, love seat sofa, television, and dinette table with 4 chairs. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voice-mail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanview suites feature a private balcony with a 45 degree angle side view of the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite with two double bed includes television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a double murphy wall bed, loveseat sofa, television, and dinette table with 4 chairs. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanfront double suites feature a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Angled Suite
Angled Suite with one double and sofa bed includes flat screen television in the bedroom, a separate living room with a king bed, double sleeper sofa, and flat screen television. These suites also have one bath and a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, and basic cookware and dinnerware. All resort guests enjoy free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Premiere suites feature a private balcony with a 45 degree angle partial oceanview overlooking the ship wreck lagoon pool and the north end of the beach. Maximum occupancy is no more than 6 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanfront Efficency
Oceanfront Efficiency with two queen bed includes one bath, a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove, toaster, and basic cookware and dinnerware. Oceanfront efficiencies have a flat screen television, coffee maker, free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Oceanfront efficiencies feature a private balcony that overlooks the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 5 people with no more than 4 adult family members.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Room with two double bed includes one bath, a small refrigerator, microwave, television, coffee maker, free voicemail, complimentary wireless Internet access, a hair dryer, safe, and iron/ironing board. Daily housekeeping, linens and towels are included in rates. Resort guests have access to laundry facilities on site. Oceanview rooms feature a private balcony with a 90 degree angle side view of the ocean. Maximum occupancy is no more than 5 people with no more than 4 adult family members.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.8 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.9 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.8 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.8 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.9 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Captains Quarters

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marina Stul
Charlotte North Carolina
Jun 17, 2014

GREAT OVERALL STAY

Expected ocean view room but it was the next door hotel we viewed... Room wasn't as clean as I expected. Had to pay $20 for breakfast for two and it wasn't good. The staff was great. We only stayed one night so I didn't complaint about it but definitely not worth $200

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacher Momma
Smithfield, NC
Jun 15, 2014

Old, loud, lots to do.

This hotel is old. I understand that one part of the hotel has been upgraded but the part I stayed in was old and in a not so great condition. I had a two double bedroom efficiency and it did appear to have newer curtains, bedspreads, and carpet. And it also had a nice television. But everything else was really old. I was okay with that as I had done my research before I stayed here and I needed something fairly cheap at the last minute. So I got a fabulous deal and booked the room. Every day there were workers trimming the palm trees and it was really loud with the backup beeping noise. Every single day. Apparently the restaurant was right over my room and every morning at 5:00 AM I was woken up with a lot of banging and other noises coming from that area. The loud noises continued until I was out of the room by midmorning. I was also woken up at 2:30 morning to full-blown fireworks right outside my room. The bathroom is tiny! But I just needed a place to clean up from the beach. Everywhere I went there were smokers and I could smell cigarette smoke while sitting on my balcony. All trying to sit by the pool there was cigarette smoke along with unsupervised, rowdy children and adults. The pool areas are old but seem to work fine and the children enjoyed them. The fire and hula show was a huge hit with my family. The elevators are tiny and one is broken so when it was time to check out I had to carry all of my luggage down eight floors about four different times. The staff is super friendly and seemed to be very helpful if I needed something. There was always something fun going on for the kids with lively music and activities. Great beach access from the motel. I stayed in room 816 and was more exhausted when I got home than when I was I got there due to the excessive amount of noise. The resorts restaurant, the Loco gecko, is a really good place to eat. One last note, you can only part one vehicle in the parking garage. A friend went with us and was told she had to pay to park while she was there and that would've been over 30 some dollars. After spending some time working her way to the manager they finally allowed her to park the vehicle in the parking garage. I'm thankful for the great deal that I got for this resort but I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to show the restaurant on site your proof that you are staying at this resort and you get 10% off. I had forgotten to do this and I did not receive my discount. Also getting tickets to the ninth floor restaurant for breakfast is cheaper by getting them downstairs at the desk rather than paying directly at the restaurant. You can save two dollars per person.

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al ch
Orlando, fl
Jun 12, 2014

better than expected!

We had a great experience, the room was better than I expected, we had a great view to the ocean, great room, great amenities, great location! Everything was close to the hotel, it really was a great location. The only thing was that the AC from the room was leaking water, but nothing that they couldn't fix. Thank you for the great experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Almost every attraction was about two miles or less from the hotel.

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Water love to the max
Atlanta,Ga
Jun 9, 2014

Children's fun zone

Nice had an ocean front room awesome view ... Rugs need to be changed updates needed there are some upgrades but needs a lot more... 3 beds and a full kitchen saved a lot of money by not having to eat out for every meal.. Not a typical for a hotel pleasant surprise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Supermarket all our favorite snacks salad and foods we love to eat and a large fridge to keep them

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rrhjr
charlotte nc
May 30, 2014

very good

Room was very good. Hair dryer did not work. One desk clerk was lackadaisical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Early bird 4-6

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UNCLE LARRY1960
COLUMBIA, SC
May 13, 2014

MOTHERS DAY GETAWAY

I probably would not stay here again. A little out dated but tolerabable. The beds were the worst ever. I would say they felt like I was sleeping on CONCRETE as hard as the mattresses were. The breakfast buffett is not worth 10.00. I love myrtle beach but not this hotel..Im sorry to say I would not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Binko
Illinois
May 7, 2014

CaptainsQuarters

This hotel is pretty much what you would expect in this price range. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking in this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a beef, steak or rib eater, then take the short walk to Thorneys on the Kings Highway. The food is very good!!!

Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sandbar1973
pennsylvania
May 6, 2014

A LOUD EXPERIENCE

For 2 nights we were kept awake by loud, rowdy individuals in the hallway and common areas. The second night we were kept up by very loud and noisy individuals until 3:30 ,am the third night we were up until 2:00 am until a security guard made them go to their room. Where was the security guard the second night. My next visit to Myrtle Beach I will stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meg8589
Hope Mills, NC
Apr 28, 2014

Nothing Special

Hotel was ok for the price. The outside pool was nice for kids. One of the hot tubs didn't work. Rooms were older & outdated ..a lot different than in the pictures. The beds were pretty uncomfortable as well. Staff was very quick and came within 5 minutes of asking for extra towels. For the price, I'm not sure if I would stay here again. Would probably look for something more up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Captains Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Extreme Sun Lover
Burton, Michigan
Apr 7, 2014

Pleasant Experience

I had a pleasant experience staying here. The only downfall we had was the bathroom was way to small. The rooms do need an update from what I would call the 70's look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search