$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Camelot By The Sea

3 stars
View map of 2000 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Camelot By The Sea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Honeymooning Husband
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jul 4, 2009

It is what it is and that's pretty good.

We were on the last leg of a two week honeymoon. We were looking to rest and relax at the ocean...MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! Overall, we loved our stay and would recommend it. There were some things that weren't as nice as we would have imagined. First, they sell the hotel on line as a theme hotel-ie. Camelot. However, once you get past the two people at the front desk, there was NO example of Camelot. It was weird. Why sell the costumes and theme if you are only going to present it at the front desk? The staff was OK, but nothing to write home about. Their recommendations to us for places to eat were pretty bad so I suggest to do your own research (ie. go to Pier 14 for dinner). The bottom line is, the more you prepare your trip the less you have to rely on the staff and that really goes for any beach hotel that's not a resort. The bathrooms around the pool were pretty funky, but the pool area itself was very clean and the rooms were kept up very well. I do have to say though that they forgot to clean our room on our third day. When I called the desk they said they would send someone up. I had to call back and at that point I told them to forget it but did ask that they send up new towels. 20 minutes later I answered a knock at the door and a guy hands me a trash bag that had clean towels in it. That was way beneath the 4 star care you would expect for the price we paid! The only thing that really bothered us was the absolute disregard for the rules at the Lazy River. There are signs explaining simple rules that allow the Lazy River the opportunity to be a relaxing location. After all, there are two other large pools, two kidy pools and two jacuzzies for crazy fun. The staff, which consisted of teenage girls that could only say "Hi, how are you", refused to enforce there own rules. As a result the Lazy River was a very disappointing experience. Kids AND ADULTS were treating it like any other pool-jumping in, swimming, running, and doing all the things that should have been reserved for the other TWO large pools. It was a real bummer!! All the rooms are ocean front which really was great. They have full kitchens which we took full advantage of for breakfast and lunch. There is a Piggly Wiggly two blocks away which allowed us to buy food and water. The beach is great. The elevators move right along which is important if you are staying on the 18th floor where we were. The rooms were very quite and even though we had kids in rooms on each side of us we never heard them in our room. That's great to know if you want quite OR if you are the ones with the kids that want to have fun in their room. There were some bumps and it wasn't perfect, and there are other hotels on the beach that might give you the same product, BUT we had a great time and I clearly would recommend this hotel to others. Just remember it's not as thematic as it suggests and that the pool area is a free for all and you'll have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Other than Pier 14 which is just 7 blocks down the beach, you HAVE to take your family or your new wife or husband to Midevil Times!!!! What a GREAT entertaining time that was and the food was really good as well. You really can't beat it and the ability to pay for it through orbitz took the stress out of trying to set it up once we got there. It was AWESOME and worth every cent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Greene's
Business
Florence, SC
Jun 29, 2009

Great place to stay!

The pools are nice and toddler friendly. We had a great view of the beach and fireworks at night on the beach. This hotel is in a great location. It was very nice and clean. A very family friendly place. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

California Pizza has great pizzas and a great price too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta GA
Jun 29, 2009

LB GA

We went to the Freesytle Music Park, Ripley' Museum and Hauted House, scenic strip to shop and lots of site seeing. Turn signals at red light on I-17 neeed for the amount of traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jun 29, 2009

Camelot by the sea review

The hotels appearance is very nice from the outside. It's a different story when you go inside the rooms. The room we stayed in was dirty. There was black stuff all in the floors. There was also black stuff on the ceiling near the vents. I stayed here 2 years ago and it was very nice, its changed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4311966417101548
Business
Coshocton, OH
Jun 28, 2009

a beautiful vacation

We had a great experience at the Camelot. Beautiful setting and well maintained all staff was friendly and helpful, speedy elevator service topped it off. We were on the fifteenth floor so I apprecited this very much. the view from the balcony was wonderful! Many places to eat and shop in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to give River City Cafe a try and leave your mark!!! great burgers and fries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 22, 2009

Not ideal

We enjoyed the location and being right at the beach. Unfortuantely the pools felt unclean and there were guests drinking alcohol in the hot pool and around the pools. the hotel in general felt unclean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheel Jeff
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 14, 2009

Enjoyed our stay

Friendly staff. Clean rooms and common areas. Great view from room. Small room but that's OK - we were there for the beach and the relaxation. Nice lazy river and pool areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granny at the Sea
Business
Hartwell, Ga
Jun 11, 2009

Great adult and grandkids fun

This was the first time our family has went to the beach, we all had a blast !! This was the best vacation we have ever had. We'll be back at Camelot By The Sea !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granny at the Sea
Business
Hartwell, Ga
Jun 11, 2009

Great adult and grandkids fun

This was the first time our family has went to the beach, we all had a blast !! This was the best vacation we have ever had. We'll be back at Camelot By The Sea !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
704momof2
Business
charlotte, nc
Jun 10, 2009

Excellent location~ Not so clean room...

We had stayed at the Camelot before, around 5-6 years ago, & it seemed very clean (maybe even new!!?) This time it was not very clean. When we first checked into the hotel, they gave us a room on the 3rd floor. After checking out the room, I was so mad at how dirty it was. It must have previously been a smoking room, there were cigarette burns everywhere, the carpet was soooo dirty, it reeked of cigarettes!! My husband went down to talk to the clerk to have us moved; she was extremely helpful, & moved us to the 9th floor. This room was better, but not the cleanest, or did it smell that great. The maid came the next day to do a tidy-up clean (at 3:30pm, which seemed a little late to us!?), but she didn't do that great of a job... The 3rd day of our stay we did'nt even get a clean.. not sure why! We just didn't even worry about it, my husband went to ask for clean towels, wash cloths, toliet paper, etc.. We had to do the same the day before, because the maid didn't leave any! The clerks at the front desk were extremely helpful & friendly, but the cleaning staff... not so good! Otherwise, this is a great hotel for family & a great location. It is just a short walk to everything!!! The parking deck goes up to the 10th floor, so it's so easy to load/unload your things, & we always seemed to get a parking space right next to our room! Overall, it was a great vacation.. There was not too many people, & the weather was fantastic. We usually go in July, & it's too hot!! June is the perfect month!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining close-by!! Great eating places, such as River City Cafe. This is a neat burger place!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top