$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Camelot By The Sea

3 stars
View map of 2000 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Camelot By The Sea

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danielle Schultz
Friends
Charlotte, NC
Mar 14, 2013

Pleasantly Surpised - Will return

I went to Myrtle Beach this past weekend (Mar. 8-10, 2013) for a surprise trip with some friends for my husbands birthday. I found this hotel online and it had mixed reviews but the price seemed reasonable for the time of year and I figured I would give it a shot. When I had arrived we were checked in quickly and the man working the front desk was very nice and friendly. We were put on the 19th floor room PH05 and I loved it. Our room was just a standard suite (one level above the studio suite), and it was perfect for the weekend. The view was breath taking and I could have sat on our balcony all day! Also, we knew the room had a kitchenette but weren't expecting our room to be fully stocked with silverware, plates, cups, pans etc. so we brought them with us. And when we arrive we found that it had everything we needed. The room was clean, beds comfortable (especially the pillows!) and the living room and bed room area had a flat screen tv in each. The couch was in need of a replacement, but it was nothing that affected us negatively. The only downfall about this place is the parking garage, and its only a downfall if you have a larger vehicle and park on the upper floors. But again, this is something that I understand is unavoidable due to limited space. Lastly, because it was still the off season and cool outside the outdoor pool wasnt open but the indoor pool was and it was very nice and hte hot tub was very large. I will be returning to this hotel for my next trip to Myrtle Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is only 1.5 mi away! A cab fare is about $10

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Thorne
Family
Raleigh NC
Aug 19, 2009

The reason that I am coming back to SC

First we went to another hotel (not pointing fingers). We did not stay at that hotel even though we could not get our money back. The Camelot was nice enough that we decided that it was worth staying in Myrtle beach instead of going home. It has a great location, very easy access to the beach, and probably the easiest parking on the Strip (a 10 floor Parking garage in the Building). I happily tell all my friends that the Camelot is the reason I would go back to Myrtle Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is not a Restaurant in the building...

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Greensboro, NC
Aug 17, 2009

Not as nice as it looks

Bathtub did not drain. Had to call maintenance. Ceiling leaked water on to the kitchen floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 11, 2009

Had a great time

We just stayed in the basic room and it was fine; nothing to fancy but was clean and nice. The pools, hot tubs, and lazy river were very nice and did not seem to be as crowed as other places we have been at myrtle beach before. The location was ideal for us because it was in the center of myrtle and was less than a mile away from broadway at the beach. Enjoyed the stay and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Spartanburg, SC
Aug 4, 2009

"Great for Families"

The suite was perfect for a family of four. We will definitely book at this place again. We would have liked to have a few menus of near by restaurants to help with time management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the beach in the morning, order in for lunch, go to the pool for the afternoon. Shower, then do other locations in the evening. Enjoy the beach at late night. This schedule worked so well for us with two elementary age children.

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weemee
Friends
Raleigh, NC
Jul 29, 2009

Myrtle Beach weekend

A group of 5 friends stayed in one of the studio rooms... it was surprisingly roomy and very nice. Not only was there a sofa bed, but also a bed that pulls out from the wall if we had more people. We were impressed with the full kitchen. We stayed on the 18th floor and were occasionally frustrated with the wait for the elevators. The hotel was full and it seemed pretty crowded, but I guess that's par for the course in Myrtle Beach. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice cafe right next door with indoor/ outdoor seating

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vls
Family
Inman, SC
Jul 9, 2009

Awesome place to stay

This hotel is the best I've been to. Georgeous view of the ocean. Big pool area. Great place to stay with the kids. A short ride to the best places to dine. The only thing that was discouraging that the wireless internet was very poor, other than that, nothing to complain. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ohio
Jul 6, 2009

Disappointed!

checked into a room that was clean, but dirty. kids would walk across the floor, and their feet would be black. had to put sheets on the couch to sit on. 18th floor room, with no safety lock on the door. it had the lock on the handle, but no lock out of reach for children. had to watch my 2 and 4 year olds like a hawk in the room. Good pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Honeymooning Husband
Couples
Knoxville, TN
Jul 4, 2009

It is what it is and that's pretty good.

We were on the last leg of a two week honeymoon. We were looking to rest and relax at the ocean...MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! Overall, we loved our stay and would recommend it. There were some things that weren't as nice as we would have imagined. First, they sell the hotel on line as a theme hotel-ie. Camelot. However, once you get past the two people at the front desk, there was NO example of Camelot. It was weird. Why sell the costumes and theme if you are only going to present it at the front desk? The staff was OK, but nothing to write home about. Their recommendations to us for places to eat were pretty bad so I suggest to do your own research (ie. go to Pier 14 for dinner). The bottom line is, the more you prepare your trip the less you have to rely on the staff and that really goes for any beach hotel that's not a resort. The bathrooms around the pool were pretty funky, but the pool area itself was very clean and the rooms were kept up very well. I do have to say though that they forgot to clean our room on our third day. When I called the desk they said they would send someone up. I had to call back and at that point I told them to forget it but did ask that they send up new towels. 20 minutes later I answered a knock at the door and a guy hands me a trash bag that had clean towels in it. That was way beneath the 4 star care you would expect for the price we paid! The only thing that really bothered us was the absolute disregard for the rules at the Lazy River. There are signs explaining simple rules that allow the Lazy River the opportunity to be a relaxing location. After all, there are two other large pools, two kidy pools and two jacuzzies for crazy fun. The staff, which consisted of teenage girls that could only say "Hi, how are you", refused to enforce there own rules. As a result the Lazy River was a very disappointing experience. Kids AND ADULTS were treating it like any other pool-jumping in, swimming, running, and doing all the things that should have been reserved for the other TWO large pools. It was a real bummer!! All the rooms are ocean front which really was great. They have full kitchens which we took full advantage of for breakfast and lunch. There is a Piggly Wiggly two blocks away which allowed us to buy food and water. The beach is great. The elevators move right along which is important if you are staying on the 18th floor where we were. The rooms were very quite and even though we had kids in rooms on each side of us we never heard them in our room. That's great to know if you want quite OR if you are the ones with the kids that want to have fun in their room. There were some bumps and it wasn't perfect, and there are other hotels on the beach that might give you the same product, BUT we had a great time and I clearly would recommend this hotel to others. Just remember it's not as thematic as it suggests and that the pool area is a free for all and you'll have a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Other than Pier 14 which is just 7 blocks down the beach, you HAVE to take your family or your new wife or husband to Midevil Times!!!! What a GREAT entertaining time that was and the food was really good as well. You really can't beat it and the ability to pay for it through orbitz took the stress out of trying to set it up once we got there. It was AWESOME and worth every cent.

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Greene's
Family
Florence, SC
Jun 29, 2009

Great place to stay!

The pools are nice and toddler friendly. We had a great view of the beach and fireworks at night on the beach. This hotel is in a great location. It was very nice and clean. A very family friendly place. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

California Pizza has great pizzas and a great price too.

Review of Camelot By The Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Augusta GA
Jun 29, 2009

LB GA

We went to the Freesytle Music Park, Ripley' Museum and Hauted House, scenic strip to shop and lots of site seeing. Turn signals at red light on I-17 neeed for the amount of traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top