$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

3 stars
1804 S Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesomeness!

Wonderfully friendly and competent staff... large, clean, and comfortable room... conveniently... See full review

  • Handy BeachBabes
  • Sep 22, 2014
Nice Stay, but loud pool noise

I enjoy staying at Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn, but was disappointed when clerk placed me in... See full review

  • Stephen Likes WC2
  • Oct 25, 2014
Free continental breakfast and high-speed Internet at budget inn

Travelers in need of a beach vacation on a budget stay at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites, which caters to solos, couples and families with a variety of room types and recreational amenities. An outdoor heated pool -- complete with lazy river, Jacuzzis and kids' pool -- is a natural magnet on sunny days, while a roomy sundeck and grill area offer more reasons to spend the day outside. Room amenities vary depending on the building -- oceanfront or across the street -- but Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast are included.

Highlights
  • Affordable efficiencies and two- and three-bedroom suites
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Seasonal outdoor pool, lazy river, children's pool, two Jacuzzis and indoor pool
  • Sundeck and grill area
  • Attraction and entertainment ticket service
Rooms

Two buildings -- one by the oceanfront that is nonsmoking and the main property across the street -- accommodate singles, couples and families. Rooms at the Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites, whether an efficiency or three-bedroom suite, lean casual thanks to vibrant bedding in color-blocked and tropical patterns, coordinating drapes and yellow-toned walls. Oceanfront rooms boast full kitchens and private balconies. Amenities vary depending on room layout, but Wi-Fi and cable TV come standard.

Features

A bountiful breakfast fuels guests from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m. every day. For an extra fee, Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites customers have breakfast delivered to their room. A kidney-bean shaped outdoor pool, which is heated and open seasonally, accommodates sunbathers outside the lazy river or Jacuzzi. Indoors, another heated pool and Jacuzzi tempt when the weather fails to cooperate.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (1.6 mi./2.6 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (14.2 mi./22.8 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (1.7 mi./2.8 km)
  • Grand Strand (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (3.2 mi./5.1 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (3.2  mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3.4 mi./5.5 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi./5.9 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.5 mi./10.5 km)
Business

Free high-speed Internet access

Policies and fees

Management reserves the right to refuse to provide accommodation to customers younger than 21 unless they are accompanied by a parent. Proof of legal age may be required at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-2 KING BEDS
SUITE-2 KING BEDS,NSMK,PENTHOUSE,NO OCEAN VIEW,3RD BED QU,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 KING BEDS
2 KING BEDS,NSMK,3BDRM COTTAGE,3RD QN,NOCNVW,FULLKT,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,SOFABD,1BEDRM,COTTAGE,NOCNVW,FULLKT,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,SOFABD,1BEDRM APART,NOCNVW,FULLKT,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,NO OCEAN VW,PRIV BALCNY,KITETT,HISPD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,NO OCEANVIEW,REFRIG,37FLTV,DVD,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCN VW,PENTHOUS,KITCHN,3RDBED KING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACC,WALKSH,VIEW,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BLDING,KITETT,PRIBAL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2NDBED,BLDING,OCNVW,KITHN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,COTTAGE,NO OCEAN VIEW,3RD BED KING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCNVW,BLDING,PILOTP,KITHN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,2NDBED,BLDING,OCNVW,KITHN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NO OCEAN VIEW,PRIVATE BALC,MICRORFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSM,NO OCEAN VIEW,PRIVATE BALC,KITCNNET,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,NO OCEAN VW,KITCHEN,HI SPD NET,2RMS,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,PENTHOUSE,NO OCEAN VIEW,2 BED ROOMS,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,NO OCEAN VIEW,KITCHENET,HI SPD NET,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,NO OCEAN VIEW,FULL KITCHEN,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFA SITTING,NO OCEAN VI,JETTED TUB,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Theater desk
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Spring Garden Restaurant
0.10 mile(s) from Spring Garden Restaurant, open from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
K & W Cafeteria
0.40 mile(s) from K & W Cafeteria, open from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Angelo's Steak & Pasta
0.40 mile(s) from Angelo's Steak & Pasta, open from 4:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Arby's
0.40 mile(s) from Arby's, open from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Damon's The Place For Ribs
1.20 mile(s) from Damon's The Place For Ribs, open from 4:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Wendy's
0.70 mile(s) from Wendy's, open from 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Myrtle Beach Insider
Business
Baltimore
Jun 29, 2013

Poor Managment

The housekeepers and the breakfast attendant was very friendly, polite, and helpful. Unfortunately, that is where the positive experience ends. The AC in the room (we stayed in the oceanfront building) was impossible to set. It was either freezing or we would wake up sweating. The toilet in the room did not work. It took the maintenance staff almost an entire day to fix, not very convenient when traveling with children. There were never any towels available for the pool. I was told to "possibly" come back in a few hours and "maybe" there would be some available. In our one week visit, there was only one day that we were able to receive pool towels and the front desk attendant acted as we were truly putting her out because we requested 4 towels, one for each of our family members. The breakfast area is a nightmare. It was so overcrowded you could hardly move. The breakfast attendant worked very hard, but it was too much to keep up with. The line went out the door every morning. You must go to the front desk which is located in the breakfast area and redeem vouchers every morning for your breakfast. This is is the SAME place where people are checking in/checking out, in theory it is also the same place where you are suppose to get pool towels. However, as I previously mentioned they are scarcely available. Parking! What a joke! There are not enough spots for all of the guests. We actually had to pay to park at a meter one night because there wasn't any spots available. There are many other beautiful and much, much better managed hotels in Myrtle Beach. My family and I looked longingly at those staying next door at The Hampton Inn. If you are looking for a stress free vacation where you will not have to fight for working amenities, towels, breakfast, and parking...stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Mar 30, 2008

My review of Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Room allotted by the hotel as part of the package was of poor quality (dark, dingy, under the stairwell) Had to change for a better room which incurred substantial extra charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great public ceach is just across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Martin
Business
Montoursville, PA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Hospitality

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our vacation which was primarily for a golfing getaway. We thought the employees at the hotel were very nice. The hotel was in a great location around lots of restaurants and mini-golf courses and regular golf courses. We didn't like the fact that when we got to our room there was a dead cockroach in our closet. Also, I had to ask them on the THIRD night that we were there if someone could come clean our room because no one had been there to clean it yet. I had to get towels and garbage bags myself from the front desk because they couldn't send anyone to clean our room until the next day. So we had our room cleaned once the whole time we were there, plus the dead cockroach was never removed so it was there the whole time we were. Also, there was a dead cockroach out in the main hallway we had to use to get to the elevator that was there for 2 days!!! I hate bugs, and it's one thing to see dead ones laying around, but then my husband saw a live one the second night we were there in our hotel room and almost flipped. That stuff just freaks me out. The indoor pool and laundry facilities were across a 4 lane highway in a completely separate building. Not very practical if you ask me. Also, when we got back to our room the second night we were there, our keys didn't work so we had to go to the front desk and have them recode our keys since we were staying for 4 nights. Don't think I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There were plenty of mini-golf courses all over along Hwy 17 bypass which was the street parallel to the one the hotel is on. That's where alot of the restaurants are also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrbigman910
Business
Aberdeen,N.C.
May 24, 2010

BEST WESTERN GRAND STRAND

the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean,but the rooms were very small and it wasn't on the beach like I was told.I was told that I would be up graded if there was rooms available seeing it was my honeymoon and the hotel was empty and wasn't even offered. I will not recommend this place to none of my friends or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guest11111111
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good for the price

Nice hotel, friendly staff. We could go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois, USA
Nov 7, 2011

our stay

The hotel did not have a gym, it was under construction and was a pile of dirt where the gym should be. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The indoor pool located across the street was really inconvenient and not heated well. The upkeep was great. Breakfast was great and so was the service. I would have saved money had I called Best Western directly I found out. I would have gotten a better room located in the building with the pool for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a lot to do in the area. Great location and close to many places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Upstate J
Business
Upstate New York
Mar 26, 2013

Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Not an overall bad experience. We stayed in on of the beach front rooms on the 1st floor. Room was large and clean. Bathroom was clean, shower had good pressure and was hot. Didn't try the pool. Only downside to the room was that there is no HD on the TV's. Granted you don't go to the beach to watch TV but with the weather being poor we spent time inside trying to watch the NCAA tournament and the picture quality was awful. Why spend the money on the HD TV and not get the HD service for it? The breakfast was good, staff was friendly. Biggest problem we had was the last morning we were there thunderstorms came through the area. The ocean front building was leaking water through the roof near the pool due to this rain. That water traveled through the walls or under our door into our room. This caused a dangerous situation since the floor is tile and it became slippery. Luckily we noticed the water before we slipped in it. This was annoying but the real issue was that our garment bag was on the floor inside the closet next to the door to our room. It was soaked. We attempted to dry it with the hair dryer in our room but that didn't do much. I ended packing our attire from the wedding we attended into the wet bag where it stayed on our 9 hour journey home. Not a bad hotel but they certainly need to address some things for their customers safety and pleasure not to mention the hotel's liabilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smell the roses
Business
boiling springs, nc
Jun 17, 2013

Great Stay

The room was a little small for the king size bed, but it was very clean. Maid service was great. They gave us plenty of towels. The Continental breakfast was great but could have had more room for seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lanalima
Business
randolph, ma
Jan 30, 2010

adequate stay

[...] Our room was across the street from the main buildings, but located on the beach. Great ocean view. Breakfast was in the main building, but they provided delivery. Breakfast arrived at the time it was ordered for,and it was hot, despite it being the middle of January with outdoor temps in the 30's.One negative, our room was not serviced the first night, and at 10 P.M., we called the front desk and they did send someone with clean towels for us within 5 minutes. The next morning, they explained that for some reason, our room was not listed as having been occupied on the housekeeping computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SVDM
Business
Greensboro, NC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Pretty nice

The location is perfect, just a short walk away from public beach access. And we really enjoyed the pools and hot tub. The room was mostly well-equipped, although the bathroom was rather small. Even though we booked the room for 2 people, there were only enough towels for 1 person. Breakfast was great, and even though there was a waffle-maker, a lady brought us waffles, presumably to keep the line from getting too long. The evening staff was less than friendly, and even seemed suspicious. I've never heard of a hotel insisting on a $5 deposit for the room key card. But the morning staff were much nicer. Overall, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is only a short drive from the Tanger Outlet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top