$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 1804 S Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family on a week's travel
Family
Florence, KY
Oct 8, 2012

Best room for the price!

The hotel is right across from the beach. You do have to walk across one street to get there, but the walk is only a few yards. The best part about this hotel is the staff. Hands down you will not find a more friendly, hospitable, or ready to help group of people than the Best Western Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach. Top overall rating! If traveling to Myrtle Beach, this is the hotel to stay at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guest11111111
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good for the price

Nice hotel, friendly staff. We could go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Upstate J
Couples
Upstate New York
Mar 26, 2013

Best Western Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Not an overall bad experience. We stayed in on of the beach front rooms on the 1st floor. Room was large and clean. Bathroom was clean, shower had good pressure and was hot. Didn't try the pool. Only downside to the room was that there is no HD on the TV's. Granted you don't go to the beach to watch TV but with the weather being poor we spent time inside trying to watch the NCAA tournament and the picture quality was awful. Why spend the money on the HD TV and not get the HD service for it? The breakfast was good, staff was friendly. Biggest problem we had was the last morning we were there thunderstorms came through the area. The ocean front building was leaking water through the roof near the pool due to this rain. That water traveled through the walls or under our door into our room. This caused a dangerous situation since the floor is tile and it became slippery. Luckily we noticed the water before we slipped in it. This was annoying but the real issue was that our garment bag was on the floor inside the closet next to the door to our room. It was soaked. We attempted to dry it with the hair dryer in our room but that didn't do much. I ended packing our attire from the wedding we attended into the wet bag where it stayed on our 9 hour journey home. Not a bad hotel but they certainly need to address some things for their customers safety and pleasure not to mention the hotel's liabilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smell the roses
Couples
boiling springs, nc
Jun 17, 2013

Great Stay

The room was a little small for the king size bed, but it was very clean. Maid service was great. They gave us plenty of towels. The Continental breakfast was great but could have had more room for seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lanalima
Couples
randolph, ma
Jan 30, 2010

adequate stay

[...] Our room was across the street from the main buildings, but located on the beach. Great ocean view. Breakfast was in the main building, but they provided delivery. Breakfast arrived at the time it was ordered for,and it was hot, despite it being the middle of January with outdoor temps in the 30's.One negative, our room was not serviced the first night, and at 10 P.M., we called the front desk and they did send someone with clean towels for us within 5 minutes. The next morning, they explained that for some reason, our room was not listed as having been occupied on the housekeeping computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SVDM
Couples
Greensboro, NC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Pretty nice

The location is perfect, just a short walk away from public beach access. And we really enjoyed the pools and hot tub. The room was mostly well-equipped, although the bathroom was rather small. Even though we booked the room for 2 people, there were only enough towels for 1 person. Breakfast was great, and even though there was a waffle-maker, a lady brought us waffles, presumably to keep the line from getting too long. The evening staff was less than friendly, and even seemed suspicious. I've never heard of a hotel insisting on a $5 deposit for the room key card. But the morning staff were much nicer. Overall, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is only a short drive from the Tanger Outlet.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nancyb
Couples
chicago, il
Sep 21, 2011

Acceptable hotel for the right price

Great location--close to everything. Nice pool and well kept. "Lazy river"...pretty ridiculous to even advertise it. Breakfast well attended by workers but too small a space with not enough options for a week stay. Rooms adequate and CLEAN. Bonus was full kitchen. All in all, very satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelos' --great dinner for a great price

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
North Carolina
Sep 18, 2009

One downside..

This was our second time at this hotel and the staff is really friendly and the pools are nice, the only problem we had was we woke up with palmetto bugs in our bed with us! The staff quickley came out and sprayed for the bugs and we did not see them again but it was hard to get over. The continental breakfast was a plus. The downside to the location is that you have to drive to most of the shopping locations, but your right at the beach. I like the hotel but not sure if we will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dr. Martin
Couples
Montoursville, PA
Oct 2, 2009

Great Hospitality

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our vacation which was primarily for a golfing getaway. We thought the employees at the hotel were very nice. The hotel was in a great location around lots of restaurants and mini-golf courses and regular golf courses. We didn't like the fact that when we got to our room there was a dead cockroach in our closet. Also, I had to ask them on the THIRD night that we were there if someone could come clean our room because no one had been there to clean it yet. I had to get towels and garbage bags myself from the front desk because they couldn't send anyone to clean our room until the next day. So we had our room cleaned once the whole time we were there, plus the dead cockroach was never removed so it was there the whole time we were. Also, there was a dead cockroach out in the main hallway we had to use to get to the elevator that was there for 2 days!!! I hate bugs, and it's one thing to see dead ones laying around, but then my husband saw a live one the second night we were there in our hotel room and almost flipped. That stuff just freaks me out. The indoor pool and laundry facilities were across a 4 lane highway in a completely separate building. Not very practical if you ask me. Also, when we got back to our room the second night we were there, our keys didn't work so we had to go to the front desk and have them recode our keys since we were staying for 4 nights. Don't think I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There were plenty of mini-golf courses all over along Hwy 17 bypass which was the street parallel to the one the hotel is on. That's where alot of the restaurants are also.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrbigman910
Couples
Aberdeen,N.C.
May 24, 2010

BEST WESTERN GRAND STRAND

the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean,but the rooms were very small and it wasn't on the beach like I was told.I was told that I would be up graded if there was rooms available seeing it was my honeymoon and the hotel was empty and wasn't even offered. I will not recommend this place to none of my friends or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Myrtle Beach Insider
Family
Baltimore
Jun 29, 2013

Poor Managment

The housekeepers and the breakfast attendant was very friendly, polite, and helpful. Unfortunately, that is where the positive experience ends. The AC in the room (we stayed in the oceanfront building) was impossible to set. It was either freezing or we would wake up sweating. The toilet in the room did not work. It took the maintenance staff almost an entire day to fix, not very convenient when traveling with children. There were never any towels available for the pool. I was told to "possibly" come back in a few hours and "maybe" there would be some available. In our one week visit, there was only one day that we were able to receive pool towels and the front desk attendant acted as we were truly putting her out because we requested 4 towels, one for each of our family members. The breakfast area is a nightmare. It was so overcrowded you could hardly move. The breakfast attendant worked very hard, but it was too much to keep up with. The line went out the door every morning. You must go to the front desk which is located in the breakfast area and redeem vouchers every morning for your breakfast. This is is the SAME place where people are checking in/checking out, in theory it is also the same place where you are suppose to get pool towels. However, as I previously mentioned they are scarcely available. Parking! What a joke! There are not enough spots for all of the guests. We actually had to pay to park at a meter one night because there wasn't any spots available. There are many other beautiful and much, much better managed hotels in Myrtle Beach. My family and I looked longingly at those staying next door at The Hampton Inn. If you are looking for a stress free vacation where you will not have to fight for working amenities, towels, breakfast, and parking...stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top