$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2600 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
384 out of 384
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Noname111
Business
Ma
Oct 1, 2012

Really expensive not worst it

Hotel clean, rooms nicely decorated plantation style. But that's about it. Had efficiency room with oceanview, thr balcony was so small, barely 2 people can stand. Amenities are really poor, very small 1 hot tubs and 2 small pools. Lazy river can barely accommodate 5 people at the same time. Can find much better for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rantallion
Business
Los Angleles, CA
Nov 30, 2012

Decent Value Off Season

The Anderson is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, close to, but far away enough from the tourist attractions in Myrtle Beach proper. The rooms are nice, with well-equipped kitchens etc. It was off-season and there was limited staff, but they were nice. Housekeeping tends to forget to re-supply shampoo etc., but all in all, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDC
Business
WEST BABYLON, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Nice but not great

HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY; ARRIVED EARLY AT 11AM AND THEY COULD NOT ACCOMMODATE EARLY CHECKIN; HAD TO WAIT UNTIL 3-4PM AND BY THAT TIME ALL THEY OTHER TRAVELERS HAD ARRIVED AND CHECKIN WAS SLOW AND ONLY 1 ROOM OF 2 RESERVED WAS READY; THE POOL AREA WAS CROWDED; PEOPLE NOT REGISTERED AT THE HOTEL WERE OVERHEARD STATING THAT THEY COME AND USE THE POOL WHENEVER THEY WANTED; THE POOL BAR IS A FREE STANDING MOVABLE UNIT. THE BEACH AREA HAS 2 OVERFLOW PIPES EXPOSED THAT WASH UP FROM THE STREEET; NOT VERY ATTRACTIVE OR HEALTHY; THE ROOM WAS NICE; BED WAS A LITTLE SOFT BECAUSE THEY USE PILLOW TOP MATTRESS;THE KITCHEN WAS A GREAT ADDITION; GOOD FOR MAKING COFFE OR TEA IN THE AM; THERE IS NO BAR TO HAVE AN EVENING COCKTAIL OR ANY ENTERTAINMENT; NICE BUT NOT GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

BROADWAY ON THE BEACH -- THERE IS A PLACE THERE THAT SELLS HOMEMADE ICE CREAM; NO PRICES ARE LISTED; DON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE WE DID AND ORDER FIRST; IT COST US $25 FOR 4 ICE CREAM CONES!!

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, NC
Mar 10, 2009

Nice Facility, Service not what I expect

This was a nice facility, however when we washed some dishes in the kitchen, the sink leaked all over the kitchen floor and water traveled onto the carpet. The staff tried to clean it up but the carpet remained wet. They should have changed our room. Also we had to leave early due to inclement weather. We should have received a voucher or some kind of reimbursement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr and mrs doe
Business
williamsburg, va
Sep 27, 2010

overrated

checked in and room they gave me was not cleaned. I had to wait about 1/2 hour for another room. Parking lot is way to far from the hotel. Very inconvient, unless you want to pay $8 per day for vallet. Pool was nice but not clean enough. Towels run out early so better get there early. Rooms need updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great restaurants in the area 10 to 20 minutes away. only one restaurant walking distance so good luck gettting a newspaper and coffee in the am

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twin dad
Business
Charlotte,NC
Jul 22, 2010

Myrtle Beach Luxury?

We have tried without success to find a truely NICE hotel in Myrtle Beach. The description and reviews of The Anderson Beach Club were quite encouraging. Our visit , however was not as good as hoped. On the plus side it is well located, close enough to the action to keep our teens happy but far enough away to sleep well at night. It is also the "best" place we've found at MB but that's not saying much. Now the minuses... It is a huge property, but has 3 tiny pools which were always packed and not clean at all. We only ventured into the pool once and left shortly after entering when we found a hair braid and bloody band-aid floating by. That was enough pool action.It has a no smoking policy but guests go on to their balcony to smoke which makes the balconies unusable to those of us allergic to smoke.We complained to the front desk and they said they would "do what we can",which was nothing. Finally, the room had a musty odor which persisted throughout our stay despite speaking to housekeeping about an extra cleanup. In summary it is the nicest hotel we've found in MB but it is only average at best and certainly was not worth what we paid to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Ultimate California Pizza and River City Burgers are within short walking distance to the hotel and are great.

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LabambaMexico
Business
topeka, ks
Oct 9, 2010

nice place but not luxurious

we enjoyed our stay but it doesn't have the resort feel we were looking for. Staff was ok, receptionist that checked us in was not friendly. Also we wouldn't recommend not getting an ocean view room. We had a partial and it was ok. We had to be moved as the first room didn't have a view at all except of the other hotels roof. The spa also doesn't have a steam room or sauna and the pools are not very nice and the lazy river is very small. Overall it was an average place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you check out reviews before you eat out. Most of the restaurants are overpriced and stay away from the buffets!

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 27, 2010

Great Accomodation! Unwelcoming Staff!!

The women who checked us in was great! She seemed to have been working for the Anderson for a while and knew a lot of information and tips. She was great!! Sorry I don't remember her name though. The rooms were immaculate and the views were incredible! Great housekeeping staff!! The only downfall but this is most hotels is the walls were very thin. One night a girl was banging on the room next door for thirty minutes. I finally opened the door and said something to her and she stopped. What I think they do is have two friends check-in and then have 10-12 people stay in each room. They don't let the front desk know all their friends are staying there because they would need to pay $10.00 per day /per adult over the allowed 2 per reservation. This way they save hundreds of dollars but they don't all get keys. This is where the banging on the door comes from as that girl didn't have a key. Valet was horrible!! After check-in my wife and I went out to do some shopping and when I arrived back at the hotel I had to interrupt the valet attendants' conversations, with two of his friends as they were slouched over the cement wall to take my keys. Once I gave him my keys he just put them on the window sill and turned back to his friends and continued his conversation. I left and came back a few minutes later and my keys were still on the window with my car door still open. I again had to interrupt the valet attendant as he was listening to music on a friend's cell phone (Friend was not in uniform). At this point I did not feel comfortable leaving my car with the valet staff if they can't be bothered to interrupt his conversation with his friends. I then went in and spoke with the manager and he walked out and his first response was "Hey, what's up?" as he leans his arm on the doorway. I thought great I am dealing with a bunch of teenagers running this place but I was wrong the manager took care of the problem and comped us breakfast for the inconvenience and offered to have free valet for the rest of our stay. I paid a lot of money to stay at Anderson and fully intended on going to the spa and using valet. This situation turned me off to the staff and going forward I tried to have as little interactions with them as possible. With all the reviews I read prior to my arrival they mentioned how parking wasn't easy in the garage, so I thought I would just pay for valet and enjoy my vacation to the fullest; especially having a wife that is seven and half months pregnant but your staff did not make me feel welcomed. I felt like I was more of a bother that I had to interrupt his conversations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Aug 15, 2010

home away from home

AThe hotel was nice. Great location close to shopping reaturants and the beach. Overall I would stay at the anderson again. And the best thing is... the pictures look just like the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
space ace
Business
texas
Oct 11, 2010

The [...] Experience

The hotel parking location is not conducive to storms. Hotel also has a poor customer loading and unloading area. If valet parking is used, inspect car prior and after valet parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top