$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2600 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AB Norman
Columbus OH
Jan 31, 2013

Just Beautiful

When, we first walk into our room. It was breath taking. We went straight to the view. We had gotten a ocean front view suite. It was perfect nice weather. You can see the clear ocean. It was beautiful. We definitely will be going back and staying a little longer.The staff was nice and friendly. All I kept thinking was, that I don't want to ever leave. But, sadly I had to come back to reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When you check in. They give you a little warm coming gift. In that gift packet, are tons of coupon and helpful brochures around the Myrtle Beach area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh
Aug 24, 2010

Totally misleading not as advertised

We paid fopr a smoking room, CLEARLY on our reciept, then they tell you NO SMOKING anywhere on property. We paid for the 4 pools, then find out they are ALL kiddie pools! We paid for the SPA, biggest joke of all, a hotel room with an over booked massues. (HORRABLE!)We paid for restaraunt on site NO RESTARAUNT -they tell you to go up the street or across the street. parking 2 blocks away!!!!!! If you ask why they advertise one thing and give you another they say "call [...]" they could care less. THEN you call [...] and spend the next 3 hours of your vacation on hold! Then after you pay over $125 a night they have a big sign out front advertising the rooms for $75 a night- what a rip off!!!!!!!!!!! and do not offer any money back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

not close to night life at all, but excelent beach location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LakeladyMI
Business
Michigan
Aug 23, 2011

Good for families, not for relaxing or romance.

The room is very nice, but the balcony was small. The staff was friendly and helpful. All of the pools were full of children and the entire pool area was noisy and chaotic. At 8am Sunday morning, I was reading on the balcony and enjoying the beautiful, peaceful view. The city of Myrtle Beach decided to have 2 maintenance workers blow out the parking lot next to the hotel. They were extremely loud and it lasted more than an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium at Broadway at the Beach was absolutely beautiful. We also enjoyed 2 diners at Bummz overlooking the ocean. The area needs more restaurants on the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilmington, nc
Jun 9, 2009

Disappointed

Since this was a new hotel, we expected the best in every regard, i.e. staff, amenities, cleanliness. While the location was great and the hotel nicely adorned, most of the staff with whom we came in contact weren't very friendly or accomodating, and certainly didn't go out of their way to help answer questions or attend to our needs. Probably the nicest and most efficient staff were the housekeepers. There always seemed to be a ine at the reception counter and it took more time than usual for both check-in and check-out. The pools were very small and the lazy river was more like a lazy brook. Because the largest pool was under cover, noise echoed througout the pool area, which by the way, was extremely small. Parking, although covered, was over a block away. The garage area was not kept very clean with trash piling up over waste cans. One night we returned from dinner to find broken beer bottles on the parking deck. The beach area behind the hotel was very large and well kept. We won't return to the Anderson on future trips to Myrtle Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the Beach is less than 2 miles away with a huge variety of shopping, dining and entertainment venues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Jul 8, 2010

The Good, the Mediocre, the Overwhelmed

The staff was very helpful when issues were brought to their attention. The place is beautiful and reasonably priced, but unprepared for the July 4th crowd. I would recommend this hotel in the off season, but not so much at peak times when they seem to experience overwhelm. A a hot 20 minutes after check-in, a bellhop showed to take our bags. We had parked to side as directed, but the valet had not taken the car yet. Five hours later, the front desk called the room saying they were about to tow the car. On the bright side, when I explained the situation, they parked the car with speed and cheerfulness. The lobby restrooms were trashed and out of supplies the following morning at 8am. Good management anticipates and makes adjustments PRIOR to predictable situations. Though there may be a learning curve with managing a sell-out, I will definitely give this beautiful facility and its friendly staff another try on a day less traveled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is right there, and fully visible from the balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom on the go!
Business
NC
Apr 23, 2009

Not worth the price

The hotel and room were clean and well kept; however, the room was not worth the price. Bare minimum for kitchen utensils and there were no pots or pans to use in the kitchen. The bedrooms were roughed in for ceiling fans but unfortunately the owner opted to not install.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
granite falls, nc
Aug 15, 2009

OK, but not wow!

Pool area is very small to accomidate the large hotel. The pool and pool area needed closer attention during the day for clean up. They need more showers for rinse off from the beach, which would help keep the pool cleaner. Parking deck is also a block away. Nice hotel but not what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at Magnolias. Not good food for the price which is very expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
duluth, ga
Apr 6, 2011

spring break

hotel is very clean and located by beach which is great. swiming pool is very small(only for little kids). not much things to do in april, it seems like that april is not the peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk on the beach was great. also, sunrise in the morning was beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family of five.
Business
cleveland, oh
Aug 16, 2009

Overall good experience.

I was a little disappointed with our stay. The room was nice but the bathroom was not clean at all. It was obvious the tub had not been cleaned at all. The hotel pools were very small and mostly overcrowded. Never saw anyone cleaning them. We liked the kitchen in our room and they did clean the bathroom the next day. Location was good but we would not stay here again for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glenn dale,md
Sep 21, 2009

Greatlow price location for a fair price

The staff didnt inform us of the discounts for shows and restaurants, we had to find the deals from other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CLT, NC
Sep 15, 2009

one night stay

Hotel staff is friendly and attentive and the hotel is also above average. I was met with a unique situation wherein I was checked into a room that was already occupied. Also orbitz charged for a Ocean view room however the view was barely there on account of a building the way. I felt bad to get a room that was facing the road, so I would suggest booking directly with the hotel site. watchout for the parking away from the actual hotel, but the rooms are clean and good and compensate for the negative things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top