$184 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2600 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
428 out of 428
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte
Aug 21, 2010

anderson

overall good, called for towels they never came. Ask for the shower curtain to be changed it never happened. Slow check-in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go location central location, 3 minutes away from broadway at the beach, not located in south myrtle with alot of people and traffic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 22, 2010

Summer 2010 Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

In general, this was a nice hotel. You really can't check in much before 4 pm. The line to the front desk is very long because there are no more than 2 people at the desk at any time. However, they are very helpful and friendly. The parking isn't too bad even though across the street. When checking in, you can drive right up to the hotel to unload your luggage. The space is very tight, though. Corridors are also narrow, so it's a little inconvenient with luggage as people come past. Elevators are plentiful and move pretty quickly. Room was very clean when we checked in. However, the floor was not vacuumed regularly thereafter, which was necessary considering the sand from the ocean. The kitchen towels and coffee additives aren't regularly changed/refilled, but easy to get if you ask for creamer and sugar, etc. Kitchen appliances are terrific - great fridge, oven, stove, microwave. Coffee machine is ok. Great having a washer/dryer. We also really enjoyed the small patio and the view of the beach. The bed is just as wonderful as everyone else says. Vending machines sell laundry detergent/fabric softener sheets. Hotel does not regularly attend their vending machines, though. Not once were they attended on the 4th floor while we were there for a week. Items ran out and machine stopped taking dollar bills because it was full. There are machines on some other floors, but we didn't check them out. Pools were small, but beach was great! Lots of sharp shells in the sand. Please wear something on your feet. No lifeguards there for either pools or beach. Their restaurant, Magnolia 26, is not connected to the hotel. We ate there once. Food was not good. Recommend eating in or elsewhere. Piggly Wiggly and Food Lion stores are nearby, within 1-3 miles. The Anderson is located in a very commercialized area with lots of hotels, shops, pharmacies, miniature golf places, amusements, theaters, and restaurants. Like most other things, the Anderson is a package - some things are great, others not so great. Overall, we had a very nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

One the Show, at the Alabama Theater, is a must see. Grant Turner, their G-rated comedian, is hysterically funny. We and our 8 and 9 year-old boys thought the show was terrific overall. Most of the performances were outstanding for this variety show. Le Grande Cirque (Adrenaline), at the Palace Theater, was amazing - a definite must see. Tickets are very reasonable if you elect to go to their Wednesday, 10 am, matinee. It's also not crowded at that time, so even more fun. Beware of shopping in general, tax can amount to around 11% when all the taxes are added in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NC
Jul 14, 2009

Anderson Ocean Club & Spa

Experience was good, overall! We found the hall lights a nuisance at night as they were a distraction in the master bedroom window during the night. Also, off-site parking was a little inconvenient but parking was in very close proximity to the hotel for it not to be an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2011

Just awesome!

My wife and I come from the northeast where the water is still cold at this time of the year (August). This was our first visit to Mytle beach. We had a good time mostly at the beach. Oh yes, nice restaurants in the area too particularly the Brazilian steakhouse on Kings highway just a few blocks from Anderson Hotel Resort, where we stayed. If you like steak it's the place to go. It's a god send! Yummm. The hotel is partly owned by Hilton, is nice, clean and still new (3 years). We stayed in a studio room with only a partial view of the ocean (we knew beforehand) but other than that we could not ask for a better place to stay. The staff were friendly including the housekeeping ladies. They kept the room clean except the carpet needed some vacuuming. The kitchen had a black marble countertop, cherry cabinets, dishwasher, stove/oven and a ref. There was also a built in washer and dryer!!! Not that we planned on cooking or doing laundry on our vacation. We did not do any of that but they are there if you need them. Overall it was just an awesome experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2009

Spring getaway

The room was lovely. The kitchenette was very nice and well equipped The bed and linens were top quality and very comfortable. Housekeeping was spotty one day in that they just left the dirty towels on the bathroom floor and cleaning spray on the bathroom counter after doing the cleaning. I simply called the front desk to ask that the dirty linen be picked up and they said they would send someone right up. An hour and a half later I went down to the front desk myself to address the issue again. A simple mistake,but it is reasonable to expect very good service at a very nice place. Surprisingly,the outside pool area was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Floral Park, New York
Sep 14, 2009

Great Hotel and Area

This was my first time to Myrtle Beach. Very nice hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Right on the beach. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There is the parasailing which is about 2 miles from the hotel. We actually walked it on the beach which was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Jun 20, 2010

A very good getaway

Nice staff and very nice rooms, good location and very good spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Willow Grove,PA
Sep 16, 2009

A beautiful place to stay

The hotel was just gorgeous. The room was excellent: clean, updated and perfect for us. The bed and pillows were the comfiest I have ever used. Every unit has their own dishwasher, washer and drier. Loved that. Hotel staff and housekeeping did a great job. Property is non-smoking. I would return if allowed to smoke on the balcony or by the pool. Did not like their restaurant across the street. Customer service was not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chriwhit
Business
Helena, GA
Jul 3, 2010

Great stay!

Had a great time right on the beach. Close to everything. Could see the fireworks from the pier right from the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anderson Ocean Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Aug 20, 2010

Not what we expected for such price

In general it was good, except a few small things: 1- check-in took about 45 minutes! 3 employees were stuck with 8 people in front of me in the line for 45 minutes! 2- Bathroom door was loudly squeaking. We did not complain, but I think the cleaning stuff had to mention this to the maintenance and it should have been oiled as soon as it started without waiting for guests' complains. 3- Towel rack in the pool was out of clean towels 2 out of 3 days during our stay. We had to go to the front desk and wait there while the stuff finishes to handle guests so they could give us some towels - instead of enjoying the pool/lazy river/jacuzzi ... 4- Parking is across 2 streets!!! The valet service should be free in such case!!! 5- In all hotels we stayed before there was a spare roll of toilet paper. Here, when toilet paper finished, we had to ask cleaning lady for another roll. 6- The Bar accepts only cash!!! Not even normal credit cards! In many hotels we stayed before (your neighbor "Sand Castle") we were able to pay with our room key, which is very convenient when you go to the water. 7- A small table on the balcony would be very convenient. 8- At least for 2 days the middle elevator on the north side (where we lived) did not have a button for 18th floor, where was our room. This should have been fixed immediately in the hotel of such class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnolia buffet across the street is simply great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top