$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

3 stars
View map of 400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
38 reviews
Golf Outing

Your staff was very helpful! They were very friendly and cared about us and tried to help us have a... See full review

  • Lynda Trudgen
  • Nov 15, 2014
Amazing independence getaway

Nice place and really wonderful staff: courteous, professional and smily See full review

  • RICARDO
  • Dec 29, 2014
The MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant has fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities and free high-speed Internet service at a location convenient to historic downtown Charleston, businesses, colleges and even the beach. The Patriots Plaza shopping center is nearby, but the MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant also has its own shop on the premises. Guests also enjoy a manager's reception in the evening.
Dining
The MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant serves a free continental breakfast. Nearby restaurants include local gems like Sticky Fingers barbecue, RB's Steakhouse and Red's Icehouse as well as chains like Outback Steakhouse and Wild Wings Cafe.
Rooms
All suites at the MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant have fully-equipped kitchens with a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, two-burner cook top, coffeemaker, utensils and dishwasher. The hotel provides weekly housekeeping service. Accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. Some rooms have sofa beds and Jacuzzi. All rooms have flat-screen plasma TVs.
Property features
Guests of the MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant have access to an outdoor pool, fitness center and picnic area. The hotel is FEMA-approved for government travelers. There is free parking for private vehicles, trucks and buses. The MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant has interior corridors, drive-up motor lobby, computer in the lobby and laundry facilities. There is a sundry shop on site.

 

Highlights
  • Fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities
  • Free continental breakfast and coffee
  • Free wireless Internet service
  • Swimming pool and fitness center
  • Picnic area
Nearby attractions
  • Patriots Plaza Shopping Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises from Patriots Point (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Shrimp boats and public dock at Shem Creek (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Charleston Visitor Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Boone Hall Plantation (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Isle of Palms public beach (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (10.6 mi/17.1 km)
Business
  • Fax machine and copier
Transportation
  • Just off U.S. 17 and the Arthur Ravenel Bridge across Charleston Harbor
  • Charleston International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Amtrak station (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
Policies
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RICARDO
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Amazing independence getaway

Nice place and really wonderful staff: courteous, professional and smily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I drove my own car so its location was a short drive either to Isle of Palms and/or downtown Chaleston

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lynda Trudgen
Business
Myrtle Beach
Nov 15, 2014

Golf Outing

Your staff was very helpful! They were very friendly and cared about us and tried to help us have a wonderful Charleston experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to downtown Charleston. Short drive to main part of town. Reasonable price.

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gingersnap snapea
Business
greenville, sc
Jun 30, 2014

family getaway

Our room was very dirty. Linens were changed every third day. If we need clean towels we had to return the soiled ones to get fresh towels. We killed at least 3 bugs in our room. The room was way overpriced. Never staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vafish
Business
virginia
Mar 16, 2014

Clean room comfortable bed

Clean Room, comfortable bed and half the cost of the hotel on the other side of the bridge that I almost stayed at. It is an extended stay hotel, there is a full kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, dishes, ect... There was a complementary breakfast that was cereal and pastries. They only clean the rooms and replace lines/towels every 3 days. It is not an ultimate luxury resort, but if you want a clean room, comfortable bed and a good price I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virginiason
Business
China Grove, NC
Feb 27, 2014

Brief Stay

I was in Charleston for just one night. Upon check-in the staff was very polite, thanked me for being a rewards member, explained the free breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable. Full kitchen in the room I stayed in. Bed was so comfortable along with the fluffy pillows. There is a small pool and paved patio area out back for people who smoke or just want to have their breakfast outside. Close to c-stores and fast food. I'll return next time I'm in Charleston. Great Value !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ace1010
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Feb 20, 2014

Great Location

If nothing else it had a great location to mt.pleasant restaurants and just across the bridge from downtown, which if youre not from the area, you may not realize how important that is. It was an average hotel but the lobby did look nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Graze is across the highway in the Whole Foods shopping center. Great happy hour and fantastic food. I love the chicken and waffles, although they should be on the lunch menu too and not just the dinner.

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XO Travel
Business
Virginia
Feb 17, 2014

Convenient location

Clean, comfortable, and convenient to Charleston and Mt.Pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown has a great Irish pub with live music in Tommy Condons.

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LikeHotels
Business
Durham, NC
Sep 10, 2013

Not what I expected

CONS: I booked this hotel because I expected suites to have separate room for sleeping and living. However, the single bed room is really just one big room with a bed, a couch, and a kitchen. Booking agency (Ore-bits) is partly to blame as they show pictures without labels, making it seem like all rooms have separate sleeping and living chambers. This is only for the 2-bed rooms, however. The rooms were a little old and though they were clean, there were some stains on the carpets and in the bathrooms (toilet). Cleaning is only done every 3rd day, though our room was never cleaned (we were there 4 days). PROS: Great location to get in and out of downtown Charleston. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast that is good and varied. Outdoor pool (didn't use).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eliza456
Business
New Jersey
Apr 21, 2013

Funny smell

Hotel had a funky smell (kind of moldy), bathroom had a lot of mildew in the tiling and around the drains. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but that didn't make up for the smell. Also the fridge made a terrible noise most of the time I was in the room. Convenient to downtown, but that was about it. Next time I'll stay somewhere a bit farther away in a nice hotel for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MainStay Suites Mount Pleasant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn Johnson
Business
Tucker, GA
Mar 14, 2013

Weekend visit

Positives - staff very nice, friendly, helpful; nice selection for continental breakfast; location was convenient and walking distance to stores and restaurants. Also location is nice for walking around surrounding neighborhood. Negatives - kitchen sink dirty; wash cloth found on bedroom floor between wall and chest of drawers; toilet tissue rolls almost empty with only one extra roll for two bathrooms; light bulb missing in bedroom lamp; only one air conditioner unit between the bedrooms with noisy, old, dirty intake fans above each bedroom. This last is a great concern as I would like to stay here in August but I'm not sure that small air conditioner can handle cooling both rooms given the heat in Charleston during the month of August. As for the majority of the negatives sans the air conditioner, MainStay is very nice. The negatives mentioned can be addressed and corrected. I would give this hotel another chance and would stay at other MainStay hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top