$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
281 reviews
Dysfuctional Family

Have stayed there 3 times and have loved everyone of them. See full review

  • Lin G.
  • Oct 6, 2014
Nice Resort

The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The only downfall is there is no beach access. See full review

  • Nancy Sville
  • Sep 10, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 281
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelle P.
Business
Wausau, WI, USA
Sep 20, 2014

Here for a wedding

I enjoyed this hotel. My only complaint was that my room was located right above the staff hangout. Every garbage that was dumped, I heard. Every conversation that took place, I heard. Granted I wasn't in my room a whole lot, but when I was I noticed this noise. I really like the pool area and the dock to go over to charleston! We had a fabulous wedding, and that made the entire trip wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbcoyle
Business
Baltimore
Jul 21, 2014

Secret Charleston Resort

The place was brand new, stuff for kids to do, pool, sandy area with games, outdoor/indoor dining, water taxi to downtown, amazing view of harbor and Chas, walk to Patriot's Point ships....... and it was empty. I was expecting a huge crowd, but it's still relatively unknown. 10 min, from beach, downtown, Chas Battery soccer stadium, plantation house row... We'll be back. Grew up outside Chas and never did the tourist thing until now. Suggestion for the resort management: You HAVE to install a coffee shop. Nearest coffee shop quality stuff is just outside the main entrance, but you need to drive there, or a bike ride. C'mon people, free money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike. You never have to drive for everything. It's super flat so you can ride a bike for everything: meals, coffee, shopping, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJSMITH
Business
Ocean Isle Beach
Jul 14, 2014

OK - for older hotel

This hotel has seen it's better days. It shows signs of wear and tear. I noticed that windows were fogged in some of the rooms when looking at them from the outside. Outside tiki bar closed after 2 pm when pool got busier. This most likely is why this chain (previously a Hilton and sold due to age) is building a new hotel next door to this one. Rooms were clean, but carpet was wet from previous occupant. Bath was similar to your average best western. Linens did not match on each bed. Good location though next to the SS Yorktown right next to hotel. Due to hotel condition, it should be a $125 night hotel......not $225 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy former Newporter
Business
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2014

Great Location

Beautiful Location - close to Charleston and easy to get to the downtown. Fish Tacos and Crab Cake sandwhich at bar excellent. Grounds are peacefull. A great hotel to stay at while visiitng South Carolina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the various tours of Charleston and walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break Adventures
Business
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Mar 31, 2014

Spring Break 2014

Great place to stay. Very close to downtown Charleston, restaurants, parks, the Yorktown, Arthur Ravenel Bridge, boat taxi to Ft. Sumter, Charleston and much more. Great pool and beach area. Beautiful view! Our room faced the parking lot, but we didn't spend much time there. All you had to do was walk around and take in all the beautiful views from the boardwalks and piers. We did not have a car so we took a taxi from the airport. ($45.00) Once we were at the resort you can hop on the free trolley and ride to downtown Charleston, Shem Creek or Sullivan's Island. It was great! Highly recommend the restaurants on the grounds. The Reel Bar has great food and drinks. The Fish House was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
juliegrae
Business
Amador County CA
Mar 19, 2014

Sunset splendor

Beautiful sunsets, dolphins easily viewable, helpful friendly staff :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dackwest
Business
Greenville
Mar 3, 2014

Great hotel!

This hotel was a change from the busy downtown area. The resort was beautiful and I will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ugly jerseyan
Business
nj
Dec 22, 2013

resort fee ripoff

every thing very nice except for a 12$ a day fee for an unopen pool & 3 rusty bikes left sour taste in mouth,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neily38
Business
Hickory Nc
Jul 11, 2013

Better than expected.

My son and I stayed here for 3 days it was a great resort type feel. Way better than what I had expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Growing Family
Business
South/North Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Great experiance but could use some work!

The staff did a great job welcoming my family and me to the hotel. We were upgraded to rooms with balcony's which was very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were a bit smaller than what we are used to when traveling. My biggest complaint would have to be the late cleaning time for visitors who are overnight guest, meaning more than one night. We were gone all day to the beach and pool and when we returned at 5 pm to shower and get ready for dinner our room had still not been cleaned. Also, once it was cleaned, the fresh towels had a huge clump of black hair sticking to it. I felt as though the staff lacked the ability to pay attention to detail. The girls bringing drinks around the pool made sure that the kids got smoothies and anything the adults wanted. The rooms are pricey but it is worth it. Traveling with small children, it would have been nice to have some sort or complimentary breakfast options. Kids are hungry first thing in the morning and all that was offered was coffee, or to pay $20 for a breakfast. All rooms should have a fridge. We were not able to keep milk for our 2 yr old because there was no fridge. We asked the front desk if we could possibly get one for us and they said yes but never full-filled the request. With the price you pay for the rooms there should at least be milk and juice in the lobby as well. Overall good stay but definitely could use some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Folly Beach, on the pier. Great, fresh seafood and a great staff that is always willing to please!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top