$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
268 reviews
25th Anniversary

Every year, my wife and I usually stay at the Shem Creek Inn, but for our 25th wedding anniversary... See full review

  • MRB BAB
  • Jul 18, 2014
Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your... See full review

  • JuliVern
  • Jul 1, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Criticon
New York, NY
Jan 1, 2013

Pleasant stay

Excellent is your staff, kind and courteous. You may want to include in your menus a dish for vegetarians. Keep on the good work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TJLJ
Ohio
Jan 1, 2013

beautiful location

fun to look out our window and see the harbor. room beautifully decorated used the shuttle to Charleston 2x and appreciated that we thought we got a pretty good deal on this! very comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

seafood restaurants

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. KT
North Carolina
Dec 30, 2012

would probably be a better family getaway in the spring or summer, but was a great couple's getaway

Hotel is still under construction but it didn't seem to be disturbing to the guests. The trolley to and from downtown Charleston is fantastic and so convenient and easy to use. The water taxi lets you off at a location that requires a bit of a walk to get the the heart of downtown, whereas the Trolley drops you off exactly where you need to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Best Mom Per Vic
Miami, Florida
Dec 4, 2012

Best Getaway Hotel

This is the 3rd year in a row that I gave stayed at this hotel for a Mother-Daughter trip. My daughter looks forward to the "treat of the day" and I love the convience of the (free) trolley transportation into Charleston. Everyone at the hotel is pleasant and makes you feel at home. Next year we will be back but this time with a lot more family along with us, to enjoy the annual boat parade and Oyster Roast at the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The trolly from the hotel provides free and easy transportation.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast Pitch
Madison, Wisconsin
Oct 23, 2012

Vacation

Very good experience. Staff was very helpful in finding a room that met our expectations and answering all our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hcrandder
Landrum, SC 29356, USA
Oct 17, 2012

Good time, will come back, just a little hiccups

Well we had such a great time at this location we decided to sty there again and even same room, when we first went, we choose the secret room and to the perfect room, at a low cost. So we wanted to stay in the same room, and the room is categorized as a high en from and had to pay more the time even it being the same time of year. When we or there we had to wait on our room so we walked around and room was ready. Once we to in room we realized that on he balcony post was a baseball size yellow jackets next. Lucky we didn't open the door to balcony enough to get them angry since my wife is allergic. We called and notified them an they took care of it. And had little trouble with our keys but no big deal. But we will definitely will come back soon. We love the location, atmosphere, place, convenience, and comfort. Can't wait to get back to our new favorite place...and hotel soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar and outside view go well together, get a drink with your love one, take a romantic walk and be free. The bartenders are excellent at their job and even have great events and parties right on the pier on weekends.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cscconstruction
Boothbay, Maine
Sep 29, 2012

OK for the price

did not get the warm fuzzies from the staff. It felt like they were just waiting until their shift was over. Buffet breakfast was not great. With a little more attention to detail this could be a top notch hotel, but for now its just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay downtown

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wifeyroz
illinois
Aug 27, 2012

just ok

the room was ok. carpeting and bedding was kinda old and kinda grimy. Bathroom was nice. The pool and view are the only reason i would came back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supertourists
Florence, KY
Jul 28, 2012

Enjoyable visi to Chaleston

The staff was excellent; very professional and friendly during the entire stay. Also, the breakfast buffet was very convenient and within the price range of most resorts. And, the trolley was such an easy way to travel! The only thing disappointing was the lack of a workout room and second pool for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk across the pier to the Yorktown exhibit and the Harbour Tour to Ft. Sumpter, and the Boone Plantation is only a few miles away.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hasedoc
Port Richey, Fl
Jul 15, 2012

Comfortable and relaxing

We stayed for 3 days in July. Room was very nice, spacious, and clean. We had a nice view of the Naval Museum and the river. Staff was friendly but the service in the bar was hit and miss. Many times the bar staff was more interested in their comversation than the customers and we usually had to ask for drinks. There were bellhops upon check in but they were missing for our checkout. The safe in the room did not work. Overall very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search