$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
View map of 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
293 out of 293
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lin G.
Friends
Greenville, NC
Sep 8, 2014

Coed trip

Helpful staff at the front desk. Great location to King street and Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleet Landing is a great place to eat.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mena18
Couples
New York
Sep 7, 2014

Didn't have their A game

This is a very pretty hotel with all of the basic elements (location, room decor) to make it excellent, but it isn't. Here's why: 1. Room was not clean. Carpet and bathroom fixtures were dirty. Lamp bases had visible dust on them. 2. Front desk staff is absolutely terrible. We received two calls from front desk in error, one of which woke us up at almost 11 pm one night, and one of which was a morning call for another room, which woke us up at 6:45 one day. 3. Lock on bathroom door did not work. It took two maintenance guys to fix this, and their work was functional but sloppy. 4. Maid left three water-filled glasses in the sink one day. We had to call to get these removed and replaced. 5. We used one of the bathrobes provided. It was not replaced. 6. We had to make many phone calls to address the above issues. In several instances, the phone rang and rang and no one picked up. 7. When we arrived, we were told there was a $12 per day "resort fee" (not sure what this was supposed to cover except wifi), even though we thought this was an all-in package deal. The hotel waived the fee when we complained about the two erroneous calls from the front desk that interrupted our sleep (see above), but in our opinion there never should have been a "resort fee" in the first place. 8. Plumbing problem in bathroom: tap water in sink was not cold if someone else in the line was using the bath or shower. "Cold" water would then come out warm or even hot at times. 9. The hotel uses soap and shampoo dispensers instead or bar soap and little shampoo bottles. This would be fine, except that the bath dispensers are too high up on the wall to be usable when you are taking a bath, creating a falling hazard if you get up out of the tub for soap. All of this being said, here are two good points in addition to the basic physical attractiveness of the place: 1. Coffee in the lobby every morning is good. 2. It was very hot when we were there. The hotel supplied fruit-infused cold water in the lobby most of the day. That's a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
App State Neer
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 18, 2014

Short get-away

Great location. Average room quality. Young lady at the front desk upgraded us to a harbor view for free since we had kids with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thunder stickin
Couples
Spartanburg south carolina
Jul 31, 2014

great weekend getaway

we had a great trip and a great value. the location was prime. I would recommend thisHotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLCSDC
Couples
Clarksville, TN
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation!

We enjoyed everything about our visit! The staff was nice and helpful. The Reel Bar was a great place to hang out---great food and atmosphere. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbcoyle
Family
Baltimore
Jul 21, 2014

Secret Charleston Resort

The place was brand new, stuff for kids to do, pool, sandy area with games, outdoor/indoor dining, water taxi to downtown, amazing view of harbor and Chas, walk to Patriot's Point ships....... and it was empty. I was expecting a huge crowd, but it's still relatively unknown. 10 min, from beach, downtown, Chas Battery soccer stadium, plantation house row... We'll be back. Grew up outside Chas and never did the tourist thing until now. Suggestion for the resort management: You HAVE to install a coffee shop. Nearest coffee shop quality stuff is just outside the main entrance, but you need to drive there, or a bike ride. C'mon people, free money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike. You never have to drive for everything. It's super flat so you can ride a bike for everything: meals, coffee, shopping, etc...

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRB BAB
Couples
Cameron, SC
Jul 18, 2014

25th Anniversary

Every year, my wife and I usually stay at the Shem Creek Inn, but for our 25th wedding anniversary I decided to change and make reservations at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina and we really enjoyed this hotel and hope to go back in the future! It made our 25th a year to remember!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many good places to eat a short distance away from hotel. And the hotel offers trolley service and a water taxy to down town Charleston.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJSMITH
Family
Ocean Isle Beach
Jul 14, 2014

OK - for older hotel

This hotel has seen it's better days. It shows signs of wear and tear. I noticed that windows were fogged in some of the rooms when looking at them from the outside. Outside tiki bar closed after 2 pm when pool got busier. This most likely is why this chain (previously a Hilton and sold due to age) is building a new hotel next door to this one. Rooms were clean, but carpet was wet from previous occupant. Bath was similar to your average best western. Linens did not match on each bed. Good location though next to the SS Yorktown right next to hotel. Due to hotel condition, it should be a $125 night hotel......not $225 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuliVern
Couples
Hendersonville, NC
Jul 1, 2014

Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your preferences better, but this one really fits the bill, especially if you are looking for affordable, outstanding views & climate, and great location while staying in Charleston. The hotel is adorable (even the small rooms) and we like to ride the bikes across the bridge, walk down through the boat docks and do the booze cruise in the evening. It really is a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snoopycleveland
Couples
baltimore
Jun 27, 2014

has potential

The property is in a great location. Unfortunately it is undergoing a major renovation. The construction next door starts promptly at 830 with pile driving. The room was not the cleanest and the furnishings are worn. If you can get the hotel at a discount then you may not mind so much. The fish house is great but skip the overpriced hotel breakfast buffet. This place has great potential once renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top