$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
422 reviews
Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your... See full review

  • JuliVern
  • Jul 1, 2014
Awesome getaway!

When I arrived I was greeted at the crib and offered assistance into resort checking and the... See full review

  • William soundman
  • Jun 8, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Growing Family
South/North Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Great experiance but could use some work!

The staff did a great job welcoming my family and me to the hotel. We were upgraded to rooms with balcony's which was very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were a bit smaller than what we are used to when traveling. My biggest complaint would have to be the late cleaning time for visitors who are overnight guest, meaning more than one night. We were gone all day to the beach and pool and when we returned at 5 pm to shower and get ready for dinner our room had still not been cleaned. Also, once it was cleaned, the fresh towels had a huge clump of black hair sticking to it. I felt as though the staff lacked the ability to pay attention to detail. The girls bringing drinks around the pool made sure that the kids got smoothies and anything the adults wanted. The rooms are pricey but it is worth it. Traveling with small children, it would have been nice to have some sort or complimentary breakfast options. Kids are hungry first thing in the morning and all that was offered was coffee, or to pay $20 for a breakfast. All rooms should have a fridge. We were not able to keep milk for our 2 yr old because there was no fridge. We asked the front desk if we could possibly get one for us and they said yes but never full-filled the request. With the price you pay for the rooms there should at least be milk and juice in the lobby as well. Overall good stay but definitely could use some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Folly Beach, on the pier. Great, fresh seafood and a great staff that is always willing to please!!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky L
From Minnesota
Jun 21, 2013

Awesome experience

It was a great stay ! The people were very friendly. Terrific balcony view of the harbor. It is definitely worth upgrading your room. We had a spectacular view of the pool and the harbor. Laid at their wonderful pool and enjoyed the pool bar. We could see the live band from our balcony. Quiet time at 10pm so the band didn't play too late. Rooms were very clean! The webcam you can view online points to a mucky muddy area of resort. Almost didn't come because of it. It's pointed in a dumb spot! Pleasantly surprised to see resort in person. Only negative thing besides the camera was expensive food. Paid $13 for a 9 in pizza. Ouch! Overall fantastic experience:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Non smoking a MUST
Augusta, GA
Jun 19, 2013

Neat location

Awesome views. Close to everything. Great shuttle service. Could use new carpets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatDr
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 14, 2013

Business stay

The staff was very helpful, the rooms comfortable, and the location safe and quiet. It is close to downtown and the 'big bridge' which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coover
johnson city, tn
Jun 11, 2013

great family get away, good location to charleston.

needs a good resturant close by, hopefully the fish house now next door will fill the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

charleston grille or the wentworth house, or cru

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swint
Dayton, Ohio
May 27, 2013

Good choice

Room was clean and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the harbor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided transportation into Charleston as well as many nearby sites. We hardly had to use our rental car at all! While there is a $12/day resort fee for transportation, Wi-Fi, etc., it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food is great in downtown Charleston! All price ranges. Avoid the chains in the suburbs and get some excellent food.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeresaMK
Rockland County, New York
May 19, 2013

Long Weekend Escape

The hotel location is fantastic - close enough to downtown Charleston to enjoy all it had to offer - with access vai a free shuttle - but far enough away that we weren't in the City all the time. Friendly staff and a golf course nearby made it a perfect long weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curly High Pointer
Ponderay, ID
May 19, 2013

Friendly, luxurious, and convenient

The hotel has excellent connections to downtown Charleston, via free shuttle, and board walk access to Patriot Point and the attractions. The rooms are outstanding, in terms of housekeeping, comfortable beds, and very quiet. The food is excellent, as is the waitstaff. The property has access to sidewalks and walking areas. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book your hotel room around nearby sites or attractions you wish to visit.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoping out SC for a move
Sc
Apr 26, 2013

Home base for exploring the area

Beautiful area, love the water right there! Hard to get a room with a view though, last time I had a view of storage area, but if you tried hard you could see the water. Second trip thankfully we had a view of USS Yorktown and the Ravenal bridge. Just there was a parking lot below. Sliding windows were stained on both rooms so you couldn't see out them without opening them! Other than that things were clean and well kept. Nothing too fancy, but I didn't have money to drop on upgrades. Nice overall and location perfect and close to downtown with free trolley rides!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caddis Fly
Hendersonville, NC
Apr 26, 2013

Disappointed

This was my first time to Charleston and mapquest was able to get me to the resort door. My room was clean and comfortable, but I had to pay +$45.00 more to see the bay, but that's was my choice. One of the hopes I had was being able to eat fresh seafood so my wife and I went to the resturant bar first. We sat at an empty table and three bar staff stayed up at the bar talking to each other and ignoring us until I went up and asked about something to eat. Staff said sure I will bring you a menu. Twenty minutes later still no menu so I went back to the bar. Well what a disappointment!!!!! Pizza, burgers, and nothing anywhere near seafood related. I ask the staff and they said the resturant did have seafood, but did not open till 6pm, so we ordered a beer and waited. My wife and I were seated in the dining room at 6 p.m. My wife ordered the seafood fry, and I ordered the crabcakes. When the food came my wife's order was wrong so she had to wait while I ate two small crabcakes and 1/2 cup of bland coleslaw. When my wife got her "seafood fry" it was 10 very small fried shrimp, and 1/2 cup of cold mashed potato's. After paying a $83.00 dollar bill we both hurried back to our room with upset stomachs and just made it to the bathroom. Next day everytime I went to the front desk to ask a question of the same staff member they asked me if I wanted to check in.We had a wonderful day downtown Charleston and when we came back to the resort we gave up on eating in the resturant and ate in the bar. This time I went directly to the bar to order. After 2 burgers and 2 beers I paid my $35.00 bill. I've never in my life paid $15.00 for a burger. I will not be staying here again and if you do I strongly suggest eating somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top