$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
View map of 20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trisha Traveler
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 25, 2014

Fabulous stay in Charleston!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Charleston! The room was beautiful, with a view of the harbor (we upgraded when we arrived); the staff was super friendly and knowledgeable; and the pool, bars and casual dining were great. The location, with it's proximity to the bridge (we ran over it on Saturday) couldn't be better. We can't wait to go back--maybe just not in August! (The heat index was 107 on the 22nd.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved dinner at The Ordinary. You MUST make reservations well ahead of time for any of the top restaurants, though. We were lucky to get two seats at the raw bar on a Saturday night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
App State Neer
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 18, 2014

Short get-away

Great location. Average room quality. Young lady at the front desk upgraded us to a harbor view for free since we had kids with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thunder stickin
Business
Spartanburg south carolina
Jul 31, 2014

great weekend getaway

we had a great trip and a great value. the location was prime. I would recommend thisHotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLCSDC
Business
Clarksville, TN
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation!

We enjoyed everything about our visit! The staff was nice and helpful. The Reel Bar was a great place to hang out---great food and atmosphere. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbcoyle
Business
Baltimore
Jul 21, 2014

Secret Charleston Resort

The place was brand new, stuff for kids to do, pool, sandy area with games, outdoor/indoor dining, water taxi to downtown, amazing view of harbor and Chas, walk to Patriot's Point ships....... and it was empty. I was expecting a huge crowd, but it's still relatively unknown. 10 min, from beach, downtown, Chas Battery soccer stadium, plantation house row... We'll be back. Grew up outside Chas and never did the tourist thing until now. Suggestion for the resort management: You HAVE to install a coffee shop. Nearest coffee shop quality stuff is just outside the main entrance, but you need to drive there, or a bike ride. C'mon people, free money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike. You never have to drive for everything. It's super flat so you can ride a bike for everything: meals, coffee, shopping, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRB BAB
Business
Cameron, SC
Jul 18, 2014

25th Anniversary

Every year, my wife and I usually stay at the Shem Creek Inn, but for our 25th wedding anniversary I decided to change and make reservations at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina and we really enjoyed this hotel and hope to go back in the future! It made our 25th a year to remember!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many good places to eat a short distance away from hotel. And the hotel offers trolley service and a water taxy to down town Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJSMITH
Business
Ocean Isle Beach
Jul 14, 2014

OK - for older hotel

This hotel has seen it's better days. It shows signs of wear and tear. I noticed that windows were fogged in some of the rooms when looking at them from the outside. Outside tiki bar closed after 2 pm when pool got busier. This most likely is why this chain (previously a Hilton and sold due to age) is building a new hotel next door to this one. Rooms were clean, but carpet was wet from previous occupant. Bath was similar to your average best western. Linens did not match on each bed. Good location though next to the SS Yorktown right next to hotel. Due to hotel condition, it should be a $125 night hotel......not $225 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuliVern
Business
Hendersonville, NC
Jul 1, 2014

Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your preferences better, but this one really fits the bill, especially if you are looking for affordable, outstanding views & climate, and great location while staying in Charleston. The hotel is adorable (even the small rooms) and we like to ride the bikes across the bridge, walk down through the boat docks and do the booze cruise in the evening. It really is a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snoopycleveland
Business
baltimore
Jun 27, 2014

has potential

The property is in a great location. Unfortunately it is undergoing a major renovation. The construction next door starts promptly at 830 with pile driving. The room was not the cleanest and the furnishings are worn. If you can get the hotel at a discount then you may not mind so much. The fish house is great but skip the overpriced hotel breakfast buffet. This place has great potential once renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nichael
Business
Delanco, NJ
Jun 14, 2014

Vacation in Charleston

We stayed here on vacation from June 7 to 10. When we checked in, the front desk offered us upgrades - one for $25/night extra, the other $50/night - we declined them. Our room was originally on the parking lot side, which did not bother us since we intended to spend much of our time sightseeing and on the beach. When using the shower, water would find its way onto the bathroom floor, causing major puddles. After bringing this to the attention of the hotel, a maintenance guy came up to the room, and we gave him permission to do his repair work while we were gone. When we returned, a note indicated that the shower water issue was fixed. It was not. The next morning we complained again, and we were upgraded to a room with a balcony, overlooking the river/pool. This resort is child-friendly, and the pool is very nice. Be aware that the hotel is building a new hotel next to the current location, which means you hear construction activity during the day. There are running/biking/walking paths next to the roads leading to the hotel, and they lead to the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, which has a section dedicated to running/walking over the bridge - this is a safe and interesting exercise opportunity during your stay. Hotel location is ideal - near Sullivan's Island, downtown, and Isle of Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a new restaurant called the Fish House, a short walk from the hotel. The food was above average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top