$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
274 reviews
Dysfuctional Family

Have stayed there 3 times and have loved everyone of them. See full review

  • Lin G.
  • Oct 6, 2014
Nice Resort

The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The only downfall is there is no beach access. See full review

  • Nancy Sville
  • Sep 10, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and R
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 7, 2009

Charming hotel, great location!

Stayed at CHRM and attended a wedding located at Isle of Palms. The hotel looks a little dates but is still very nice. Rooms were decorated nicely, but had a not-so-great view of the dumpster outside (we had the option at check-in to upgrade to a harbor view for an extra $30/night, but did not want to pay more). Friendly staff; always greeted us walking thru the hotel. Staff member gave us a late check-out time of 2:30pm since we had a late flight out. Get a rental car because taxis are hard to find and there aren't any shops or restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Upon check-out they tried to charge a "resort fee" of $8/day for Internet, parking, shuttle, etc. Staff member happily removed these charges after we explained that we did not use those services. Had a fun time, would like to to back. Try the blueberry mojito at "the reel bar". Yum!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a cab to downtown charleston for dinner/shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WISCONSIN
Jun 3, 2009

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We loved our stay at Charleston Harbor Resort. The staff was awesome. It was our honeymoon and they didn't have a king room available for what we booked so they upgraded us to a better room with a beautiful view! I have never had such a great time. Its location next to the naval museum gave us so much to do. The other guests were great too and we got to make some new friends. I will never forget how wonderful it all was. Thanks for making my honeymoon great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnermaw
Business
fleetwood pa
May 27, 2009

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Great location on the harbor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundance
Business
New Olreans, LA
May 24, 2009

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

We booked this hotel because we were married in S. Carolina on May 22, 2009. I explained to the hotel staff when we arrived that this was our wedding trip. Our room was tiny and did not have good views or a balcony. A friend who stayed at the same hotel to attend our wedding, had a much nicer room with a balcony, for the same price. Also, another friend tried to send us a bottle of champagne on our wedding day, and the staff was unable to make this happen, even though the Reel Bar is in the hotel. A tiny bar of soap was left in the room, but none to use to wash your hands at the sink. We had to request that almost daily. The $8 dollar daily resort fee tacked on to our bill was a surprise and not warranted. The restaurant had poor service and food. The parking lot was indadequate for the number of vehicles. We had to park in a sandy construction area and walk through unlit areas at night, which was a safety hazard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be independent, get a map of the surrounding ares and go explore yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Twenty Froggies
Business
Fairfield Cty, CT
May 23, 2009

Long on adjectives, short on delivery

This hotel did not deliver what Orbitz' description had promised. On our first visit to Charleston, we were coming as tourists and for some quiet R & R in the hotel.The R & R part was a disaster & we would like Orbitz to address our complaint. We were told that we had a standard room "facing inland". In a hotel that is practically surrounded by water, you'd pretty much have to get its "pit" to wind up with the room that we did. Since I am a new Orbitz booker, I thought it was because we were not paying "retail". The check-in staffer mentioned several times that we could upgrade--for an additional cost of course! We chose not to do that figuring the roughly $148/night was plenty already. (4 night stay) Our windows were directly above the hotel's recycling center. The implication of that was made clear to us when for several HOURS late Friday night, 100's and 100's of glass beer bottles were noisily recycled after a hotel music concert and party for SEVERAL HUNDRED people. Happened again over the weekend, but to a lesser degree, with weddings Sat & Sun. In addition, there was an occasional funky smell in the room. I even asked the desk if the hotel had been built on a swamp. We were out visiting Charleston most of the day (loved the city!) & the evening clerk did offer to move us to the next room or a few doors down--neither would have solved the noise issue since we would still have been above the recycling bins. So we put up with it. A manager happened to be there when we were checking out & when I described our room experience, he said we should have spoken up. We did! Clearly the young woman was not authorized to do any more than the weak response we got. May I suggest that the hotel manager spend a Friday night in the room assigned to us, and understand what we are describing. This is a smallish hotel, and there is not much to do in the hotel per se. A quiet comfortable room is the least the hotel can provide its guests. Two other mini-gripes: The "hotel"gym is a public gym several miles away. Nice gym, but not on premises. Also not a good choice of hotel if you don't have a car. It is isolated from most things. The shuttle is a nice convenience, but works on a schedule. Now for two very special GOOD things about this hotel. Guests are schlepped to/from Charleston, the gym etc by a shuttle driven by the some of the nicest, friendliest drivers I've ever met. Thank you. Second, the chef at the hotel who cooks for both restaurants knows what he's doing. We had 3 meals in the hotel--all great! I have stayed in wonderful hotels all over the world from Rome to Hong Kong--& all over this country. I think both Orbitz and the Charleston Harbor Resort need to do right by us with this very strange stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at Hank's in downtown Charleston!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Apr 24, 2009

Just what we'd hoped for

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina was the first half of a week's vacation to Charleston before staying in historic downtown. It was just what was needed after a VERY long New England winter...a beautiful hotel surrounded by palm trees, a friendly staff to welcome us, a chic room, wonderful pool area with a view of the river and two restaurants on the property. This hotel offered much more than a place to sleep. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet before leaving to explore the area, had drinks from the Reel Bar upon returning and rested by the pool, followed by a complimentary trolly ride into town in the evening. This hotel offers its guests a restful and relaxing alternative to a downtown stay and we were both happy to have begun our Charleston vacation here. We would gladly recommend The Charleston Harbor Resort to any of our friends planning a trip to this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Apr 24, 2009

Would Definately Recommend

Enjoyed Charleston very much.....hotel had a free shuttle to the historical district which was very nice. Tour to Fort Sumter, Yorktown Tour and carriage tour of Charleston all excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Information center is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The picky hotel stayer
Business
Germantown, MD
Apr 22, 2009

Very nice rooms

We attended a wedding during our visit and the hotel was in the perfect location. It was great that the hotel had a free trolly that took you right into the center of Charleston. We had dinner one night at the hotel and I wasn't impressed. My husband and I both got fish/seafood that was supposedly local but it tasted like it had been frozen, not fresh. I also felt it was a bit overpriced. The breakfast buffett was pretty good, standard eggs, bacon, bagel, fruit, etc... They also have a nice bar for happy hour. This was our first trip to the area, if we go back there I will definitely keep this hotel in mind for a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel had a free trolly into Charleston that ran every couple of hours. Perfect drop off and pick-up spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Tx
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic family location-beautiful

The hotel was fantastic and location great . The employees very friendly all employees. Rooms were just beautiful . Beds great. It was just a fantastic week to stay at a fabulous location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon, IN
Apr 22, 2009

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

"A few nights in a nice hotel is good for what ails you." Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina was a comfortable place to stay with an excellent location. The daily trolley from the hotel into Charleston made it so convenient and the hotel was close to the Fort Sumter ferry as well as other interesting attractions. The only disappointment was they only had a buffet type breakfast. It was expensive and many people do not wish to eat large amounts of food. A country ham biscuit and a good cup of coffee and some fruit is what we were interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top