$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
422 reviews
Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your... See full review

  • JuliVern
  • Jul 1, 2014
Awesome getaway!

When I arrived I was greeted at the crib and offered assistance into resort checking and the... See full review

  • William soundman
  • Jun 8, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly Best Mom Per Vic
Miami, Florida
Dec 4, 2012

Best Getaway Hotel

This is the 3rd year in a row that I gave stayed at this hotel for a Mother-Daughter trip. My daughter looks forward to the "treat of the day" and I love the convience of the (free) trolley transportation into Charleston. Everyone at the hotel is pleasant and makes you feel at home. Next year we will be back but this time with a lot more family along with us, to enjoy the annual boat parade and Oyster Roast at the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The trolly from the hotel provides free and easy transportation.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carman
Atlanta, Ga
Oct 10, 2011

Nice Stay

I had no issues what ever. They make you feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hcrandder
Landrum, SC 29356, USA
Oct 2, 2011

perfect couple getaway with convenience to anywhere you want to go

Perfect getaway for me and my wife. Great room with awesome view of the Yorktown and marina. Room was perfect with great bed, bath, fireplace, and small quaint seats and space for just is two. Decor was spot on and staff was very helpful. They did not disturb us when we didn't want room to be clean and brought us any thing we needed. Prices at room service was high but we didn't use it. Five minutes from anywhere: market and king street, shopping, eating, tours, and fun. Will come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger outlet, citadel mall, mount pleasant shopping centre are the best places to shop and all are in short driving distance and easy to follow with our gps.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hcrandder
Landrum, SC 29356, USA
Oct 2, 2011

perfect couple getaway with convenience to anywhere you want to go

Perfect getaway for me and my wife. Great room with awesome view of the Yorktown and marina. Room was perfect with great bed, bath, fireplace, and small quaint seats and space for just is two. Decor was spot on and staff was very helpful. They did not disturb us when we didn't want room to be clean and brought us any thing we needed. Prices at room service was high but we didn't use it. Five minutes from anywhere: market and king street, shopping, eating, tours, and fun. Will come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger outlet, citadel mall, mount pleasant shopping centre are the best places to shop and all are in short driving distance and easy to follow with our gps.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libel
sc
Sep 27, 2011

Romantic

It's was a great stay we only stay for 1 night But we like it the only thing we were upset of that We were waiting for the boat texi for 10 min and She never came so we went on a bus to downthon And I thought it's was too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libel
sc
Sep 27, 2011

Romantic

It's was a great stay we only stay for 1 night But we like it the only thing we were upset of that We were waiting for the boat texi for 10 min and She never came so we went on a bus to downthon And I thought it's was too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JunBug
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

So so hotel

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon. We live close enough to Charleston so we are pretty familiar with the area. The location was ideal. It was right on the harbor next to the downtown bridge that connects downtown Charleston to Mt. Pleasant. However, the room wasn't to our liking. It was outdated and in need of new bedding, curtains, and bathroom materials. The shower curtain was not hooked properly and fell off the first time we used it. We contacted downstairs to replace/or repair it and they simply folded it up and stuck it up UNDER the sink. We never did complain of this, just left it as is. We did how ever enjoy the transportation the hotel provided. There is a free trolley that runs from the hotel straight to Market Street downtown Charleston. You could also take a water taxi (a boat) that will take you across the waterway to downtown Charleston. I believe there was a fee for the water taxi, not sure if it is hotel owned. A small fee at that. It was walking distance from the hotel to the little marina of boats. They also charged a 12 dollar resort fee for each day you stayed. (Maybe this means the Trolley really wasn't for free?? =) ) The hotel food was really good! We ordered from the bar the first night we stayed and really enjoyed the ceasar salad, spinach dip, and baked brie. The next night we ordered room service. The hummus was delicious. All in all, I think our one little weekend was enough to satisfy our curiosity on how the hotel was. We will prefer to stay downtown Charleston even though you pay a little more. Happy hotel hunting!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar food is delicious!!!! The scenery is also nice and layed back. If you go try the Spinach Dip with baked pita bread. Yumm!!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JunBug
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Sep 26, 2011

So so hotel

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon. We live close enough to Charleston so we are pretty familiar with the area. The location was ideal. It was right on the harbor next to the downtown bridge that connects downtown Charleston to Mt. Pleasant. However, the room wasn't to our liking. It was outdated and in need of new bedding, curtains, and bathroom materials. The shower curtain was not hooked properly and fell off the first time we used it. We contacted downstairs to replace/or repair it and they simply folded it up and stuck it up UNDER the sink. We never did complain of this, just left it as is. We did how ever enjoy the transportation the hotel provided. There is a free trolley that runs from the hotel straight to Market Street downtown Charleston. You could also take a water taxi (a boat) that will take you across the waterway to downtown Charleston. I believe there was a fee for the water taxi, not sure if it is hotel owned. A small fee at that. It was walking distance from the hotel to the little marina of boats. They also charged a 12 dollar resort fee for each day you stayed. (Maybe this means the Trolley really wasn't for free?? =) ) The hotel food was really good! We ordered from the bar the first night we stayed and really enjoyed the ceasar salad, spinach dip, and baked brie. The next night we ordered room service. The hummus was delicious. All in all, I think our one little weekend was enough to satisfy our curiosity on how the hotel was. We will prefer to stay downtown Charleston even though you pay a little more. Happy hotel hunting!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel bar food is delicious!!!! The scenery is also nice and layed back. If you go try the Spinach Dip with baked pita bread. Yumm!!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisonburg, VA
Sep 23, 2011

Watch the fine print

We really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were on the small size but the balcony view was great. Water taxi to Charleston was a lot of fun and the free trolly was very convenient for getting around. Our only fault is we overlooked the resort fee and gratuities are automatically added to whatever service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy two
South Carolina
Sep 22, 2011

Great Anniversary!

We were fortunate to find such a lovely hotel to celebrate our Anniversary! The location is perfect, only minutes to town by their Trolley! We will definitely be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to drive to close by Seafood restaurants- and to take the Trolley into town. No parking problems!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy two
South Carolina
Sep 22, 2011

Great Anniversary!

We were fortunate to find such a lovely hotel to celebrate our Anniversary! The location is perfect, only minutes to town by their Trolley! We will definitely be staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to drive to close by Seafood restaurants- and to take the Trolley into town. No parking problems!

Back to menu Return to top