$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
272 reviews
Nice Resort

The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The only downfall is there is no beach access. See full review

  • Nancy Sville
  • Sep 10, 2014
Fabulous stay in Charleston!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Charleston! The room was beautiful, with a view... See full review

  • Trisha Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old honeymooners.
Lima, Peru
Nov 29, 2011

Beatiful hotel & location.

The hotel and the location overpass by far my expectations. If in the future I have the oportunity, I will come back to this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don´t miss the visit to the Patriot Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan kirby
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Perfect location, around a beautiful place

The view of the Harbor was beautiful. The restaurant's around shem creek were amazing, and leave your car parked because the trolley was perfect when you want to have a couple of glasses of wine with no worries. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to Wind's something in shem creek and had the seafood paella, and it was amazing for the seafood lovers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmallek540
NC
Nov 27, 2011

Great getway

The place is very nice and quiet. The staff is very courteous and professional. The rooms are small but comfortable but they are starting to show little signs of aging. For the price and location you won't find a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manfromwindermere
WINDERMERE
Nov 23, 2011

GREAT FAMILY RESORT OR ROMANTIC GETAWAY

this has to be the best known secret of charleston. we were overwhelmed the moment we entered the lobby and the "wow factor" continued our entire stay. the staff goes out of their way to be helpful, courteous and hospitable to everyone. our room was worth 5 times as much anywhere else for the quality. great views, great shower and jacuzzi tub and just overall great. we has a sick 3 year old and house keeping helped us out with a smile at 3am and 5am without even a blink. this will be a yearly tradition staying at this RESORT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ASK FOR DISCOUNT COUPONS AT FRONT DESK TO SEE USS YORKTOWN. ALSO, THE BAR HAS A GREAT HAPPY HOUR 4-7. $3 HOUSE WINES-GET THE HOUSE MERLOT IT WOULD BE 8-10 ANYWHERE ELSE!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dyii
Maryland
Nov 20, 2011

good but not great

Good location and prices but found a roach in the room. No included breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janeddie
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Close alternative to the historic district

I wanted to stay somewhere nice that would also allow me to have dinner in the historic district. The resort is very comfortable and they make the short trip to town easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Know that the resort does have a trolley to the historic district which is very convenient and free. If the return is not to your liking, a taxi ride back is about $15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Augusta, GA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

On the Harbor

Great overall experience. The hotel sits right on Charleston harbor and the view is outstanding. Our room was a little small but comfortable and clean. Nice flat panel TV and a balcony with 2 chairs overlooking pool and the harbor. Small restaurant serves nice breakfast and service was very good. In addition there is a bar at the hotel called the Reel Bar. Again nothing extravagant but great service and good drinks. The lobby and the hallways are all adorned with deep sea fishing artwork and some the paintings are really spectacular. A nice touch to the overall experience. The location is fantastic. Mt Pleasant and downtown Charleston are short 5 and 10 minute drives away and right next door to the hotel is the WWII aircraft carrier Yorktown. In addition the Patriots Point golf course is right next door as well. Overall this hotel is a great experience for the price. Nothing to complain about at all. Great service, nice product and a terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shem Creek is about 5 minutes away and has some great seafood restaurants. Prices are very reasonable and service is good as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim1716
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Check in a bust

While they had my reservation, Moises tried to downgrade my room, at first saying it would be a king on the land side. I showed my reservation for a deluxe king, and still he tried to put me into a room with queen beds. On the third attempt, he said he was "upgrading" me to the room I was supposed to have from the beginning. Very poor service in this regard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at RB's on the water

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elven
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

A great hotel.

I just stayed at the hotel for the second time. I upgraded my room to one facing the harbour. I was pleasantly surprised by it's features. Not huge, but it felt bigger with the airy feel and big windows and balcony doors. Two huge easy chairs in the sitting visit area. I was very pleased. It will be my base from now on during my frequent visits to Charleston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carman
Atlanta, Ga
Oct 10, 2011

Nice Stay

I had no issues what ever. They make you feel right at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search