$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
422 reviews
Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your... See full review

  • JuliVern
  • Jul 1, 2014
Awesome getaway!

When I arrived I was greeted at the crib and offered assistance into resort checking and the... See full review

  • William soundman
  • Jun 8, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuliVern
Hendersonville, NC
Jul 1, 2014

Patriot's Point

We love staying at Charleston Harbor. Yes, there are some hotels out there that may suit your preferences better, but this one really fits the bill, especially if you are looking for affordable, outstanding views & climate, and great location while staying in Charleston. The hotel is adorable (even the small rooms) and we like to ride the bikes across the bridge, walk down through the boat docks and do the booze cruise in the evening. It really is a spectacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snoopycleveland
baltimore
Jun 27, 2014

has potential

The property is in a great location. Unfortunately it is undergoing a major renovation. The construction next door starts promptly at 830 with pile driving. The room was not the cleanest and the furnishings are worn. If you can get the hotel at a discount then you may not mind so much. The fish house is great but skip the overpriced hotel breakfast buffet. This place has great potential once renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nichael
Delanco, NJ
Jun 14, 2014

Vacation in Charleston

We stayed here on vacation from June 7 to 10. When we checked in, the front desk offered us upgrades - one for $25/night extra, the other $50/night - we declined them. Our room was originally on the parking lot side, which did not bother us since we intended to spend much of our time sightseeing and on the beach. When using the shower, water would find its way onto the bathroom floor, causing major puddles. After bringing this to the attention of the hotel, a maintenance guy came up to the room, and we gave him permission to do his repair work while we were gone. When we returned, a note indicated that the shower water issue was fixed. It was not. The next morning we complained again, and we were upgraded to a room with a balcony, overlooking the river/pool. This resort is child-friendly, and the pool is very nice. Be aware that the hotel is building a new hotel next to the current location, which means you hear construction activity during the day. There are running/biking/walking paths next to the roads leading to the hotel, and they lead to the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, which has a section dedicated to running/walking over the bridge - this is a safe and interesting exercise opportunity during your stay. Hotel location is ideal - near Sullivan's Island, downtown, and Isle of Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a new restaurant called the Fish House, a short walk from the hotel. The food was above average.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East Coast Philly
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jun 10, 2014

Needs a personal touch.

Not the friendliest staff. Should have booked directly thru the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bald Mountain
Philly
Jun 10, 2014

Comfortable and friendly

The room was very nice. Excellent and friendly desk staff and a very good bartender, too. Loved the seafood restaurant next door (easy walk)! A bit pricey but very well worth it if you want a lovely meal with a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try their version of shrimp and grits. The best I've had in Charleston or anywhere!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William soundman
Durham, NC
Jun 8, 2014

Awesome getaway!

When I arrived I was greeted at the crib and offered assistance into resort checking and the customer service did not stop until I was heading home. I will be back real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great climate to relax and take a short bike ride to everything.

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AleksB
California
Apr 29, 2014

Software Engineer

First room we've got had windows directly above some contraction garbage and gas baloons. Second had completely broken sink. Finally ( in less then 1hour) we've got a nice room with nice view. Then our stay was OK !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engineer with wife in tow
Raleigh, NC
Apr 5, 2014

Great Stay!

Stayed here for a nice Mid-week getaway. I highly recommend the King Deluxe room. The room was very spacious/comfortable, and the bathroom was nicely upgraded. We did not get any of the view's (harbor, courtyard...) but we could still see the ocean even from the front of the building. There was no balcony, but they still have this Juliet balcony that was a nice plus that I was not expecting. Pool area was great, beach area was great, overall just a really great stay. Just make sure you get the Deluxe rooms, they are worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the restaurants on Shem Creek. Vickery's is Great!

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy former Newporter
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2014

Great Location

Beautiful Location - close to Charleston and easy to get to the downtown. Fish Tacos and Crab Cake sandwhich at bar excellent. Grounds are peacefull. A great hotel to stay at while visiitng South Carolina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the various tours of Charleston and walking shoes

Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break Adventures
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Mar 31, 2014

Spring Break 2014

Great place to stay. Very close to downtown Charleston, restaurants, parks, the Yorktown, Arthur Ravenel Bridge, boat taxi to Ft. Sumter, Charleston and much more. Great pool and beach area. Beautiful view! Our room faced the parking lot, but we didn't spend much time there. All you had to do was walk around and take in all the beautiful views from the boardwalks and piers. We did not have a car so we took a taxi from the airport. ($45.00) Once we were at the resort you can hop on the free trolley and ride to downtown Charleston, Shem Creek or Sullivan's Island. It was great! Highly recommend the restaurants on the grounds. The Reel Bar has great food and drinks. The Fish House was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top