$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

4 stars
20 Patriots Point Road, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
272 reviews
Nice Resort

The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The only downfall is there is no beach access. See full review

  • Nancy Sville
  • Sep 10, 2014
Fabulous stay in Charleston!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Charleston! The room was beautiful, with a view... See full review

  • Trisha Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
A vacation oasis with a nautical theme right on Charleston's harbor
There's plenty to do at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina even if guests never leave the hotel. Activities include sailing and fishing lessons, a program for kids, evening entertainment on the beach (in season) and the largest marina in the state. The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has activities scheduled nearly every day (in season) and the view from the hotel is spectacular. Historic downtown Charleston is only half a mile away by water taxi across the harbor or 10 minutes by trolley. Guests also hike a nearby nature trail.

 

Highlights
  • Two restaurants (Indigo Grill and Charleston Harbor Fish House), Reel Bar, room service, outdoor dining
  • Private beach, pool, Jacuzzi, bike rentals, sailing, fishing (fees may apply)
  • Live music and oyster roasts on the beach
  • Program for children
Rooms
The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has 130 nautically-themed rooms, including several types of suites. Rooms have wireless Internet service, which is included the daily resort fee.

 

Features

The Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina features some very picturesque locations for weddings and similar receptions. There are dolphin sighting cruises on the water taxi once a week (seasonal).

 

Dining
At Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, guests start the day with filling breakfast at The Indigo Grille. The Reel Bar is the casual dining experience. The bar itself is made of solid teak from an old ship and is open from 11:30 a.m. to midnight and serves food until 10 p.m. Room service is available from 6:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. Waterfront dining is available at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; guests can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant. The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Water Taxi to downtown (fees apply)
  • Trolley shuttle bus downtown (included in resort fee)

 

Attractions
  • Fort Sumter ferry leaves from adjacent Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • USS Yorktown/Patriots Point Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (5.3 mi/8.5 km or via water taxi)
  • Downtown Charleston (5 mi/8 km)
  • Splash Zone Waterpark (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • James Island County Park (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
Business
  • Indoor space for groups of 10 to 100 people
  • Outdoor space for events with up to 1,000 guests
Policies and fees
Daily resort fee includes wireless Internet service, trolley shuttle, newspaper, coffee, evening snack, parking and beach activities. Swimming is not permitted in Charleston Harbor, but the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina has a pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7859 -79.9057
Area served
Located in the Towne of Mount Pleasant, across the harbor from downtown Charleston. A 10 minute drive by car or a short trip via our complimentary trolley which leaves on the even hours from 10am until 10pm daily.
Nearby airports
Charleston International Airport is 15 miles north
Area description
Charleston Harbor Resort & Marina has proximity to Isle of Palms, Town Centre shopping mall, Fort Sumter tour-boat dock, Boone Hall Plantation and Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina Rooms

Top Secret Room
BEST AVAILABLE RATE. This room type is selected at check-in, no requests will be accepted or guaranteed for this room type. View and bedding is based on availability at the time of check in. If you are traveling with more than 2 people or a King bed does not meet your needs we highly recommend to reserve any of our available rooms which feature 2 queen size beds as under no circumstances we can guarantee to accommodate more than two people in the "Top Secret Room". This room is NON SMOKING
Traditional
This non-smoking room offers air conditioning, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Charleston Harbor Fish House
Waterfront dining is here at the Charleston Harbor Fish House. The cuisine focuses on local sustainable seafood with fresh specials that change daily, based on what the captains fishing the waters of Charleston bring in. The views from the Fish House are like none other in Charleston; you can view the historic Charleston skyline, the USS Yorktown, and the marina from literally every table in the restaurant.
Bridge Bar
The Bridge Bar is located on the rooftop of the Fish House. People come to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Come in the evening to view the most spectacular sunsets in the Charleston area.
Reel Bar
Whether you are hungry for a quick bite or thirsting for a cool cocktail, a visit to The Reel Bar is sure to please. Complete with an impressive display of antique tackle gear, the Reel Bar offers the ideal locale to relax and unwind. The bar itself is made of solid teak which came off an old ship that sank off the coast of Miami. The wood was brought up to Charleston in pieces and was restored for use in The Reel Bar. Amazing seascape views can be enjoyed from the adjoining Sunset Terrace. This is the perfect spot to slow down after a long day of sightseeing.
The Indigo Grille
Serving breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelle P.
Wausau, WI, USA
Sep 20, 2014

Here for a wedding

I enjoyed this hotel. My only complaint was that my room was located right above the staff hangout. Every garbage that was dumped, I heard. Every conversation that took place, I heard. Granted I wasn't in my room a whole lot, but when I was I noticed this noise. I really like the pool area and the dock to go over to charleston! We had a fabulous wedding, and that made the entire trip wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Sville
Charleston, South Carolina
Sep 10, 2014

Nice Resort

The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. The only downfall is there is no beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lin G.
Greenville, NC
Sep 8, 2014

Coed trip

Helpful staff at the front desk. Great location to King street and Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleet Landing is a great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mena18
New York
Sep 7, 2014

Didn't have their A game

This is a very pretty hotel with all of the basic elements (location, room decor) to make it excellent, but it isn't. Here's why: 1. Room was not clean. Carpet and bathroom fixtures were dirty. Lamp bases had visible dust on them. 2. Front desk staff is absolutely terrible. We received two calls from front desk in error, one of which woke us up at almost 11 pm one night, and one of which was a morning call for another room, which woke us up at 6:45 one day. 3. Lock on bathroom door did not work. It took two maintenance guys to fix this, and their work was functional but sloppy. 4. Maid left three water-filled glasses in the sink one day. We had to call to get these removed and replaced. 5. We used one of the bathrobes provided. It was not replaced. 6. We had to make many phone calls to address the above issues. In several instances, the phone rang and rang and no one picked up. 7. When we arrived, we were told there was a $12 per day "resort fee" (not sure what this was supposed to cover except wifi), even though we thought this was an all-in package deal. The hotel waived the fee when we complained about the two erroneous calls from the front desk that interrupted our sleep (see above), but in our opinion there never should have been a "resort fee" in the first place. 8. Plumbing problem in bathroom: tap water in sink was not cold if someone else in the line was using the bath or shower. "Cold" water would then come out warm or even hot at times. 9. The hotel uses soap and shampoo dispensers instead or bar soap and little shampoo bottles. This would be fine, except that the bath dispensers are too high up on the wall to be usable when you are taking a bath, creating a falling hazard if you get up out of the tub for soap. All of this being said, here are two good points in addition to the basic physical attractiveness of the place: 1. Coffee in the lobby every morning is good. 2. It was very hot when we were there. The hotel supplied fruit-infused cold water in the lobby most of the day. That's a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trisha Traveler
Atlanta, GA
Aug 25, 2014

Fabulous stay in Charleston!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Charleston! The room was beautiful, with a view of the harbor (we upgraded when we arrived); the staff was super friendly and knowledgeable; and the pool, bars and casual dining were great. The location, with it's proximity to the bridge (we ran over it on Saturday) couldn't be better. We can't wait to go back--maybe just not in August! (The heat index was 107 on the 22nd.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved dinner at The Ordinary. You MUST make reservations well ahead of time for any of the top restaurants, though. We were lucky to get two seats at the raw bar on a Saturday night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
App State Neer
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 18, 2014

Short get-away

Great location. Average room quality. Young lady at the front desk upgraded us to a harbor view for free since we had kids with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLCSDC
Clarksville, TN
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation!

We enjoyed everything about our visit! The staff was nice and helpful. The Reel Bar was a great place to hang out---great food and atmosphere. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbcoyle
Baltimore
Jul 21, 2014

Secret Charleston Resort

The place was brand new, stuff for kids to do, pool, sandy area with games, outdoor/indoor dining, water taxi to downtown, amazing view of harbor and Chas, walk to Patriot's Point ships....... and it was empty. I was expecting a huge crowd, but it's still relatively unknown. 10 min, from beach, downtown, Chas Battery soccer stadium, plantation house row... We'll be back. Grew up outside Chas and never did the tourist thing until now. Suggestion for the resort management: You HAVE to install a coffee shop. Nearest coffee shop quality stuff is just outside the main entrance, but you need to drive there, or a bike ride. C'mon people, free money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike. You never have to drive for everything. It's super flat so you can ride a bike for everything: meals, coffee, shopping, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRB BAB
Cameron, SC
Jul 18, 2014

25th Anniversary

Every year, my wife and I usually stay at the Shem Creek Inn, but for our 25th wedding anniversary I decided to change and make reservations at the Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina and we really enjoyed this hotel and hope to go back in the future! It made our 25th a year to remember!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many good places to eat a short distance away from hotel. And the hotel offers trolley service and a water taxy to down town Charleston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJSMITH
Ocean Isle Beach
Jul 14, 2014

OK - for older hotel

This hotel has seen it's better days. It shows signs of wear and tear. I noticed that windows were fogged in some of the rooms when looking at them from the outside. Outside tiki bar closed after 2 pm when pool got busier. This most likely is why this chain (previously a Hilton and sold due to age) is building a new hotel next door to this one. Rooms were clean, but carpet was wet from previous occupant. Bath was similar to your average best western. Linens did not match on each bed. Good location though next to the SS Yorktown right next to hotel. Due to hotel condition, it should be a $125 night hotel......not $225 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top