$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
1 Sundial Circle, CHECK-IN 4600 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Fantastic Stay

The room was immaculate with a beautiful view of the pool. The facility has everything you could... See full review

  • njdaytripper
  • Dec 9, 2014
Gorgeous Place

Loved the place and location- would recommend to everyone! See full review

  • bebslb
  • Nov 27, 2014
Isle of Palms resort with swimming, golfing, tennis and more on site
The Wild Dunes Resort occupies 1,600 acres of private oceanfront property. The resort encompasses two hotels with two golf courses and 17 Har-Tru tennis courts. Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 300 people and guests have free use of the resort's business center. The Sand & Sea Salon offers relaxing and rejuvenating spa services. The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a family recreation program (fees may apply) and the swim center offering four pools provides family fun, too. The resort features six dining options serving a variety of cuisines.

 

Highlights
  • Recently renovated Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room and Accessible Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
  • Two world-class golf courses, 17 tennis courts, four pools
  • Wild Dunes Resort guests have priority for golf, tennis and other recreation
  • Free shuttles within the resort property
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
Rooms
The AAA Four Diamond rated Boardwalk Inn is in the heart of the resort and within a quick walk to the beach. The Boardwalk Inn accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer 93 guest rooms and suites. Junior suites include mini-bars. All rooms have pull-out sofas and room service is available.

The AAA Four Diamond rated Village at Wild Dunes is a collection of identically appointed guest rooms and suites that sit atop a bustling plaza that includes a fitness center, salon with spa services, market and restaurant (open seasonally).  The Village accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer more than 120 rooms and suites. Guest rooms feature two queen beds and studios include a king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and private balcony. The Village also offers suites with kitchens and one, two or three bedrooms an equal number of bathrooms, and washers/dryers. The two-bedroom suites are also available in a "family" configuration.

Wild Dunes Resort's condos are situated throughout the property.  Condos are individually owned so décor and amenities vary.  Guests of the condos enjoy an individual condo complex pool as well as resort guest amenities of preferred tee times and pricing on guest activities.
Features
The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a gazebo, beautiful lawns, bike and walking paths. Guests enjoy spa and salon services and yoga. Parking is free.
 
Dining
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes.The family-friendly he Lettered Olive is the newest restaurant in Wild Dunes serving a la carte and buffet-style meals in a casual atmosphere while Dunes Deli offers gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches.

With a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar serves classic beach fare as the Isle of Palms' only boardwalk café.  Sand Bar at the Links Clubhouse is the perfect spot for grabbing a casual lunch as guests head out for a great day on the golf course. All restaurant hours are seasonal. 
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Amtrak station (21 mi/33.8 km)

Attractions
  • Boone Hall Plantation (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises from Patriots Point (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Charleston historic district (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
 
Business
  • Business center includes a computer, laptop data ports, printers, copiers and a fax machine
  • Sweetgrass Pavilion features 10,000 square feet of function space, Internet service and audio/visual equipment

Policies and fees
  • No pets. No smoking. No outdoor grilling. No motor homes, boat trailers, personal watercraft, motorcycles or other two wheeled motorized vehicles. Nine percent resort services fee.
  • All Wild Dunes Resort guests receive exclusive guest perks and benefits including 10% off in dining, retail, and bicycle rentals; preferred pricing on beach rentals; recreation activities; golf rounds; exclusive access to all resort amenities; and more.
  • The Boardwalk Inn pool is reserved for adults only between the hours of 10am and 5pm from 1 May to 1 September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts Rooms

1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Villa Oceanfront
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Ocean Views. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Resort View Villas
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Resort Views, 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
Village Studio
1 King bed with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, washer/dryer, kitchenette, turn down available upon request.
Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
Deluxe king or two queen bedding accommodations. Room amenities include nightly turndown service upon request, full daily housekeeping services, in room hairdryer-safe-coffee maker and ironing board. All rooms have flat screen TVs with on demand movies, desk or work table, data port, and high speed internet access in guestrooms as well as WIFI access in the hotel lobby. The Inn is only 150 yards from the beach accessible by a boardwalk connecting the inn and the ocean. Room renovation completed in May 2012.
Village Two Bedroom
King and Two Twins or 2 Kings with amenities such as: Large living/dining area, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping service.
Village Guest Room
2 Queens with amenities such as: 2 Queens with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, turn down available upon request.
Village One Bedroom Suite
King with amenities such as: Pull-out sleeper sofa, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping services, turn down available.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sea Island Grill
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes. Features an air-conditioned dining room and lounge and poolside terrace. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Lettered Olive
: Set in a casual contemporary atmosphere, The Lettered Olive features an array of delectable dishes that will be sure to satisfy every member of your family. Menu items offer comfort food with a Wild Dunes flair that is fresh, familiar and local. This restaurant is centrally located on The Village Plaza. Open seasonally.
Hudson's Market
Tasty treats and cold beverages are just the start. A gourmand's delight, Hudson's Market teems with notable wines, ingredients for in-suite meals and necessary sundries. Everything you need to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Located on The Village Plaza. Open daily.
The Sand Bar
Located in the Links Course Clubhouse, is a great spot for golfers or beach-goers to grab a casual meal during the day. Enjoy the lush fairway views while taking in breakfast, lunch, or an early dinner. Hours vary by season.
Dunes Deli
Grab and go. That's Dunes Deli, next to the Harbor Pro Shop. Offering gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches. Hours vary by season.
Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar
The Isle of Palms' only boardwalk cafe. Open seasonally with a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Caf & Bar serves classic beach fare. Sandwiches, snacks, drinks and cocktails. Open Seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 222
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pink Floyd Fan
Business
Johnson City, TN
May 26, 2013

May Stay

This was my second stay at Wild Dunes. My stay last October was good but this trip was even better. The resort staff was great; one of the front desk ladies even helped me with my french homework. I had a lttle trouble sleeping at night due to all the bright lights outside. A thicker curtain would have helped immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelmania111
Business
Minnesota
Mar 18, 2013

Wild Dunes Port of Call

I was here for a conference. I reserved an ocean view room, which was across from the meeting room and when I got there they said they didn't have anymore of the reserved rooms I ordered, so they upgraded me to a suite. Seemed great at first, but then I realized, the suite is at "Port of Call," which is 1-2 miles away from my conference room. I also told them I'm very bad at directions and they said it is easy to find. So I drove on my way. The sign is very hard to read, so I missed it and I drove around for over 30 minutes. I called the front desk and I asked what color the building is, he said he didn't know as he's never been out there. Please take this into consideration, this is the same guy who checked me in and said it was really easy to find. >< The suite was nice with a kitchenette and great view, but I would recommend giving better directions to Port of Call. I was all alone and it was late at night and really frustrating and scary when I got lost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingMasten
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 18, 2013

Nothing like what I expected......

After reading the many reviews on the hotel on this site, I was very excited for my birthday trip there. Once I got there, that chanced rather quickly. The room I was booked in, 212B, had a ½ eaten piece of pie that was left in the fridge. I went down to registration and Mr. Hagwood (I think his first name was Jason) was very helpful and was able to switch me to room 218B and apologized for the error. No discount was offered. Room 218B had a bigger kitchen, which I did not use and had a better balcony view. The pillows were terrible and woke up with a headache twice out of the 3 night I slept there. The bathroom was even worse! Both electrical sockets looked like they were from the 1950’s and hadn’t ever been cleaned. Thankfully I did not need to plug anything into those. Was worried I would burn the whole building down if I plugged anything into them. The caulking from one of the sinks and some of the bath tub was missing, sheet rock above the bath was peeling up the walls and a tile was moved out of place in the shower and it looked like there could have been mold behind that. Not only that, but on my first day there, no maid service came into the room to make the bed. I brought this to the attention to the person at check out, showed him the photos, he apologized & took notes, but that was it. I was very surprised and shocked that a hotel with that reputation had such an inferior room and unwilling to try to correct the situation. Now I know that I will not be going back to that hotel. The valet staff was awesome! Always very helpful and gave some good recommendations on places to eat and also how to get over to see Patriots Point and the H.L. Hunley Sub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pink Floyd Fan
Business
Johnson City, TN
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasure Trip

I felt that the staff were very friendly and treated me like a king. I liked how the restaurants, grocery store, spa, and business center were all located within a 5 minute walk of my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
less than impressed
Business
Wilmington, DE
Feb 3, 2012

bargain beach vacation

It was actually cheaper to stay at this deluxe beach resort than to stay in a decent hotel in downtown Charleston in January. It's only about 15-25 minutes away from anything in Charleston, and it was so relaxing to come home to the resort and the beach every night. I wasn't facing the beach in my room, but the view of the resort was still beautiful, and I could hear the ocean when I opened up my balcony door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

At Sullivan's Island, next door to Isle of Palms, there is a Poe's Tavern (as in Edgar Allan Poe). Quirky menu and fun atmosphere, especially if you are a literary buff. Also try the fried green tomatoes and corn/bean succotash with crab cake at the Island Grille inside the Boardwalk Inn at the resort. Delicious! For cheaper fare, try Hudson's Market for lunches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daughtry1
Business
Augusta Ga
May 22, 2011

Misrepresentated by pictures of resort.

When I arrived I expected to stay at the Village or the board walk. As pictured in site on the visual that I viewed, that as not what I received. I was escorted to some other section of the island that I never knew exited. I was told I being up graded to a 3 bedroom villa. Mind you, please understand I am a single person. The place looked like a frat house or a large family should have been there family who was not interested in beautiful surrondings, just wanting the basics. Unfortunately, I simply wanted a week of Rest and Relaxtion in a nice place. I refused the room and went back to check desk asking for the vilage or the board in to a room where I could feel safe. The manager scrambled to make my stay good and she did. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

After I was placed in the Board at Wild Dunes I was very happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northville, mi
Sep 6, 2010

Relaxing, great resort for all....

Swimming, beach, bicycles, ice cream, great food and great service...it's all here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top