$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 1 Sundial Circle, CHECK-IN 4600 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC, Isle of Palms, SC 29451

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
247 reviews
Great stay!

Perfect location. We went in late October and practically had the beach to ourselves! Check in was... See full review

  • Aimee G.
  • Apr 30, 2015
Relaxing Vacation

The condo we stayed in had a well equipped kitchen. The bed was super comfortable. See full review

  • KATHY E.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Isle of Palms resort with swimming, golfing, tennis and more on site
The Wild Dunes Resort occupies 1,600 acres of private oceanfront property. The resort encompasses two hotels with two golf courses and 17 Har-Tru tennis courts. Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 300 people and guests have free use of the resort's business center. The Sand & Sea Salon offers relaxing and rejuvenating spa services. The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a family recreation program (fees may apply) and the swim center offering four pools provides family fun, too. The resort features six dining options serving a variety of cuisines.

 

Highlights
  • Recently renovated Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room and Accessible Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
  • Two world-class golf courses, 17 tennis courts, four pools
  • Wild Dunes Resort guests have priority for golf, tennis and other recreation
  • Free shuttles within the resort property
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
Rooms
The AAA Four Diamond rated Boardwalk Inn is in the heart of the resort and within a quick walk to the beach. The Boardwalk Inn accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer 93 guest rooms and suites. Junior suites include mini-bars. All rooms have pull-out sofas and room service is available.

The AAA Four Diamond rated Village at Wild Dunes is a collection of identically appointed guest rooms and suites that sit atop a bustling plaza that includes a fitness center, salon with spa services, market and restaurant (open seasonally).  The Village accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer more than 120 rooms and suites. Guest rooms feature two queen beds and studios include a king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and private balcony. The Village also offers suites with kitchens and one, two or three bedrooms an equal number of bathrooms, and washers/dryers. The two-bedroom suites are also available in a "family" configuration.

Wild Dunes Resort's condos are situated throughout the property.  Condos are individually owned so décor and amenities vary.  Guests of the condos enjoy an individual condo complex pool as well as resort guest amenities of preferred tee times and pricing on guest activities.
Features
The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a gazebo, beautiful lawns, bike and walking paths. Guests enjoy spa and salon services and yoga. Parking is free.
 
Dining
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes.The family-friendly he Lettered Olive is the newest restaurant in Wild Dunes serving a la carte and buffet-style meals in a casual atmosphere while Dunes Deli offers gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches.

With a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar serves classic beach fare as the Isle of Palms' only boardwalk café.  Sand Bar at the Links Clubhouse is the perfect spot for grabbing a casual lunch as guests head out for a great day on the golf course. All restaurant hours are seasonal. 
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Amtrak station (21 mi/33.8 km)

Attractions
  • Boone Hall Plantation (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises from Patriots Point (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Charleston historic district (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
 
Business
  • Business center includes a computer, laptop data ports, printers, copiers and a fax machine
  • Sweetgrass Pavilion features 10,000 square feet of function space, Internet service and audio/visual equipment

Policies and fees
  • No pets. No smoking. No outdoor grilling. No motor homes, boat trailers, personal watercraft, motorcycles or other two wheeled motorized vehicles. Nine percent resort services fee.
  • All Wild Dunes Resort guests receive exclusive guest perks and benefits including 10% off in dining, retail, and bicycle rentals; preferred pricing on beach rentals; recreation activities; golf rounds; exclusive access to all resort amenities; and more.
  • The Boardwalk Inn pool is reserved for adults only between the hours of 10am and 5pm from 1 May to 1 September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts Rooms

1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Villa Oceanfront
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Ocean Views. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Resort View Villas
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Resort Views, 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
Village Studio
1 King bed with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, washer/dryer, kitchenette, turn down available upon request.
Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
Deluxe king or two queen bedding accommodations. Room amenities include nightly turndown service upon request, full daily housekeeping services, in room hairdryer-safe-coffee maker and ironing board. All rooms have flat screen TVs with on demand movies, desk or work table, data port, and high speed internet access in guestrooms as well as WIFI access in the hotel lobby. The Inn is only 150 yards from the beach accessible by a boardwalk connecting the inn and the ocean. Room renovation completed in May 2012.
Village Two Bedroom
King and Two Twins or 2 Kings with amenities such as: Large living/dining area, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping service.
Village Guest Room
2 Queens with amenities such as: 2 Queens with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, turn down available upon request.
Village One Bedroom Suite
King with amenities such as: Pull-out sleeper sofa, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping services, turn down available.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sea Island Grill
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes. Features an air-conditioned dining room and lounge and poolside terrace. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Lettered Olive
: Set in a casual contemporary atmosphere, The Lettered Olive features an array of delectable dishes that will be sure to satisfy every member of your family. Menu items offer comfort food with a Wild Dunes flair that is fresh, familiar and local. This restaurant is centrally located on The Village Plaza. Open seasonally.
Hudson's Market
Tasty treats and cold beverages are just the start. A gourmand's delight, Hudson's Market teems with notable wines, ingredients for in-suite meals and necessary sundries. Everything you need to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Located on The Village Plaza. Open daily.
The Sand Bar
Located in the Links Course Clubhouse, is a great spot for golfers or beach-goers to grab a casual meal during the day. Enjoy the lush fairway views while taking in breakfast, lunch, or an early dinner. Hours vary by season.
Dunes Deli
Grab and go. That's Dunes Deli, next to the Harbor Pro Shop. Offering gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches. Hours vary by season.
Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar
The Isle of Palms' only boardwalk cafe. Open seasonally with a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Caf & Bar serves classic beach fare. Sandwiches, snacks, drinks and cocktails. Open Seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 247
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aimee G.
Business
Washington
Apr 30, 2015

Great stay!

Perfect location. We went in late October and practically had the beach to ourselves! Check in was great. I accidentally left a jacket in the closet and they couldn't seem to locate it, but that was the only downside to staying at this property (and really my fault).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BekahTravels
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 8, 2014

One Day Beach Getaway

I spent one night at this resort with some friends for a quick beach getaway. We ate at a couple of the resort restaurants, enjoyed the pool and the beach. What I loved: 1. The Room - We stayed in The Village. Our room was fabulous. It was spacious and comfortable, with a nice balcony and kitchen area. My only complaint was that the bed was a little hard. 2. The Pool area at The Boardwalk Inn next door. It was quiet and relaxing. Most people were at the beach or at one of the two larger pools close to the beach, so it was a nice peaceful getaway from the crowds. 3. The service - in general, the staff was very friends What I didn't love: 1. The restaurants - the food was overpriced and mediocre. The best meal we ate on-resort was breakfast at the Hudson Market. 2. The Beach - It was way too crowded on a monday. And it wasn't very pretty. It was also expensive to rent beach chairs and umbrellas; 80$ for 4 people for the day. We just got the free towels and sat on them. The towel service was very nice. 3. Location - it's close enough to Charleston to make you want to go there, but far enough to make it rather inconvenient. While I am glad I stayed here and experienced this resort, I would not be likely to stay again. I would rather stay somewhere closer to Charleston or on a much quieter beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you stay in one of the Condos, bring your own food/beverages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellens2dogs
Business
Georgia
Apr 7, 2014

Girls Retreat

Lets start with the pros: I like the idea of staying in a condo and being able to make my own meals. The condo structure had few updates ( a granite counter). There was set of twin beds(no tv in)in one room and a king size bed, tv, dvd player in the second bedroom. Initially, the trip consisted of 4 but only 3 of us showed so having two bathrooms was a plus. The kitchen was well stocked with all your basic utensils, dishes and cookware supplies and a dishwasher. The washer and dryer in the unit was convenient. There was ample seating for six, a lovely sofa, two chairs and tv. You have a choice of parking outside or in a open parking structure(if your concerned about door dings). The walk to the beach was quite pleasant. Cons: The first night, we were greeted by a Palmetto bug (the southern roach). Called guest services and was placed on the priority list to have someone spray. The next day we (still packed) headed out to explore the island and the city of Charleston. We returned to the Palmetto bug and again I called. In the kindest of terms, the rep asked how did I know that no one had entered earlier and sprayed. I thought this was a valid yet odd question but, for starters there is another bug or same bug. I would like to believe that if someone had entered they would have left a note or something stating " your place was sprayed by Pest control person". Well, the next day we were greeted my a gentlemen with a can of bug spray. Ok. I was surprised but, happy we were going to get some relief. I received multiple phone calls apologizing for failing to address the needs of this matter and there was even talk of compensation(that was just talk). I really didn't care much about that and my suggestion would be to spray before your guests arrive. The rooms were adorned with some sort of "bamboo or rattan" drape and fyi, don't turn the light on in your room at night if your naked unless you don't mind an audience. Chairs are available to lounge on the beach for a fee and for the price you could stop by a drugstore and buy a few. You only have your rented chair until 6pm and someone will come to collect. Check out was anything but eventful. You don't owe anything and drive safe. The printer was down the day before and we were told to go to the inn or hotel. Arriving at the inn was pleasant and the young lady greeted us with a big smile. She stated she had only been there a short time and simply printed the boarding pass for us. I almost hated returning to the condo and if I could, I would have checked into the inn. There was construction on the bridge but we were still able to get to the shopping area. Not too many places deliver to the island so pick up your pizza on the way back as the place that was recommended to us delivered a tad "watery" pizza that soaked through the center of the box. Would I return or recommend to a friend? Maybe if I got an awesome deal to stay at the Inn or Hotel with breakfast and some passes, otherwise, no!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

if staying in condo, bring your chairs for the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Head Honcho Trip Planner
Business
Ann Arbor MI
Jun 4, 2013

Annual trip with high school buddies (from 23 years ago)

Perfect setting, right on the ocean, liked that could walk to the dinning facilities, pool and ocean without driving. Plenty of room in the unit, and plenty of bathrooms. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is close and key to relaxing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4 Dutch
Business
Atlanta
May 18, 2013

Great resort. Room not so much.

Wild Dunes is a fantastic resort, nice beaches, beatifull surrounding, friendly staff and close to Charleston. However, our appartment was outdated and not really clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rooftop dining at the Pavillion in Charleston is among the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AquaSalty
Business
ANC-LHR-GSP
Jun 9, 2012

Want to have a real beach stay? Stay here.

20 minutes from downtown Charleston, 10 minutes to whole foods in Mount Pleasant, your own 3 bedroom 3 bath condo with ample parking and the amenities of a hotel stay; most importantly a quiet, secluded beach with considerate families and beach chair/umbrella delivery. I can't imagine a better stay, despite the outdated decor. If Myrtle Beach sends you running screaming and you want a family friendly resort experience- this is an amazing deal. I could make a shorter list of the amenities they DON'T have. The spa was ridiculously priced, so I can't speak to that experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wreck of the Richard and Charlene is a short drive into Mount Pleasant and has the perfect coastal feel and the absolute BEST low country seafood. AW Shucks experienced a kitchen fire so we had to drop back and punt- so happy we found it! Definitely use your navigation, it's very tucked away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Libra Girl
Business
Birmingham, AL
May 7, 2012

Great getaway

Wonderful time - beach and pool were very convenient to condo. Would be perfect for a family getaway with small children! Only bad thing about the trip was finding a roach in the shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanaC
Business
Troy, NY
Apr 2, 2012

Girl's Getaway

This resort was great. We had a spacious 2 bedroom condo. My friend and I enjoyed walking the well manicured grounds. The spa experience was lovely and the staff were very knowledgeable. I would recommend this resort to people with families and of course a girls getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phillygirl
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great place, something for everyone

I checked in around midnight and was given a 2 bedroom condo which was not what I booked. I went to the check-in desk the next morning and asked to have my room changed and they were very accommodating and made the change without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B&MJ
Business
Elgin, IL
Jul 11, 2011

Lovely spot.

Made package reservations through [...]. Contacted property to let them know we needed two beds since we are friends, not a couple. Drove up to the lovely Boardwalk Inn only to be told our reservations were moved to the newer Villages. We were not happy at all. Villages have no lobby, no pool and more of a strip mall with upper floors. We were stuck on the first floor in the furthest corner. No cell reception and spotty WIFI at best. The walk to the boardwalk was unappealing.After a serious complaint and nearly two hours of waiting around to hear, they found a room for us at the Boardwalk Inn for the second half of our stay. Even though it was a slightly older building, the conveniences were more in line with what we were paying for! Lovely lobby, private pool divided by a bridge with adults on one side and children on the other. A nice stroll down the boardwalk to the Grand Pavillion and the beach beyond.Nice place for families, too. Beach was wide and water in July was warm and non-threatening, although plenty of waves for body surfing or boogie boarding.Be sure to ask for the Boardwalk Inn if you like a more quiet, reserved location. Go to The Villages if you don't mind the walk and like the conveniences of a market and salon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although Wild Dunes offers three levels of dining from the sandwiches at the Grand Pavilion and Market through the Lettered Olive up to the pricier Sea Island Grill, we chose to eat "local". Prices are what you would expect for a captive audience, but you can't beat the atmosphere. Morgan Creek Grill, Hucks, Sullivans (on Sullivans Island), and Seabiscuit for breakfast. Shem Creek, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top