$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
View map of 1 Sundial Circle, CHECK-IN 4600 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC, Isle of Palms, SC 29451

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
924gtz
Business
VA
Feb 21, 2013

Great

My wife and I enjoyed the Wild Dunes and we plan on going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingMasten
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 18, 2013

Nothing like what I expected......

After reading the many reviews on the hotel on this site, I was very excited for my birthday trip there. Once I got there, that chanced rather quickly. The room I was booked in, 212B, had a ½ eaten piece of pie that was left in the fridge. I went down to registration and Mr. Hagwood (I think his first name was Jason) was very helpful and was able to switch me to room 218B and apologized for the error. No discount was offered. Room 218B had a bigger kitchen, which I did not use and had a better balcony view. The pillows were terrible and woke up with a headache twice out of the 3 night I slept there. The bathroom was even worse! Both electrical sockets looked like they were from the 1950’s and hadn’t ever been cleaned. Thankfully I did not need to plug anything into those. Was worried I would burn the whole building down if I plugged anything into them. The caulking from one of the sinks and some of the bath tub was missing, sheet rock above the bath was peeling up the walls and a tile was moved out of place in the shower and it looked like there could have been mold behind that. Not only that, but on my first day there, no maid service came into the room to make the bed. I brought this to the attention to the person at check out, showed him the photos, he apologized & took notes, but that was it. I was very surprised and shocked that a hotel with that reputation had such an inferior room and unwilling to try to correct the situation. Now I know that I will not be going back to that hotel. The valet staff was awesome! Always very helpful and gave some good recommendations on places to eat and also how to get over to see Patriots Point and the H.L. Hunley Sub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JE avid shopper
Business
Aiken, SC
Jan 25, 2013

High class luxury at a reasonable price

The location of the Wild Dunes provides guests with a spectacular view of the ocean. The rooms are up to date, clean and very comfortable. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The bartender told us about the Charleston Tea Plantation (a hidden Charleston gem). We visited the plantation and had a wonderful time. There are many amenities on the Wild Dunes site. But, people come the Charleston area for not only the water, but the charm of the South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Charleston Tea Plantation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bkkbigbuddy
Business
hilton head
Jan 22, 2013

I felt cheated!

There is no way that this property deserves a 4 star, it is in many ways an upscale 2 star chain brand resort and does not meet the same standard in room ammenties as any 3 or 4 star i have ever stayed in except the linens. I will never stay there again and I am complaining to the other agancies that give ratings as well. All property inspectors should take a second look and I am sure the rating will drop to a 3 star max.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

take a gps and within a 20 minute drive you can reach some good sea food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Litchfield Lady
Business
South Carolina
Jan 21, 2013

Nice overnight getaway

We had a very enjoyable overnight stay at Wild Dunes. The staff certainly exemplified Southern Hospitality! Our room was ready promptly at check in time. Both self parking and valet parking were available. The beach was clean and beautiful, and easily accessible for our beachwalk. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant. We regretted that we had not made reservations, as the wait was over an hour. The salmon was particularly good. We ordered room service breakfast, which was delivered at the requested time. The breakfast portions were generous, and the blueberry pancakes were made with fresh blueberries and served very hot! Due to the winter season, there was limited entertainment available at this location, but Charleston is an easy drive. We did not play tennis or golf on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sewanee traveler
Business
Sewanee, TN
Jan 6, 2013

Christmas vacation

The facilities are lovely, and we were just steps from the beach. Beautiful 2 BR apartment. Restaurang very good. Staff very attentive. We had a problem with internet that took 2 days to resolve and turned out to be an unplugged router hidden behind a TV console! Very frustrating that the staff were unable to solve such a simple problem. However, they were all very nice, and management offered us a lovely dinner in compensation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brose82
Business
dawsonville ga
Jan 2, 2013

super happy

My gps didnt send me to the right place,the hotel was on the wild dunes resort. The place had valet parking, which was free, except u had to tip the valet everytime you got your car. you were NOT allowed to park it yourself, did not like that. Other than that, the room was wonderful, really comfortable bed, lots of space and two robes(which i am not used to having in a hotel room). The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay with wild dunes again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go where the locals go, less crowed and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regvau
Business
South Carolina
Dec 24, 2012

Great Quick Getaway

Very friendly staff and comfortable room. We will be back in the spring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea biscuit for Sunday breakfast was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonder pets
Business
Isle of palms
Nov 25, 2012

Great getaway

Very convenient location. Wonderful customer service. The only thing is the hot water tank is too small. It is only good for one person to take a shower each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Atkins
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 7, 2012

Excellent Honeymoon!

The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. Great locations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top