$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
1 Sundial Circle, CHECK-IN 4600 Palm Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC, Isle of Palms, SC 29451
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
216 reviews
mr

Great hotel very nice staff will stay again in the furture See full review

  • focusblack
  • Aug 3, 2014
Beautiful resort!

Our room was very clean, and updated. The bed could have been softer, and a little better quality. See full review

  • Douglasandsheena
  • Jul 30, 2014
Isle of Palms resort with swimming, golfing, tennis and more on site
The Wild Dunes Resort occupies 1,600 acres of private oceanfront property. The resort encompasses two hotels with two golf courses and 17 Har-Tru tennis courts. Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 300 people and guests have free use of the resort's business center. The Sand & Sea Salon offers relaxing and rejuvenating spa services. The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a family recreation program (fees may apply) and the swim center offering four pools provides family fun, too. The resort features six dining options serving a variety of cuisines.

 

Highlights
  • Recently renovated Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room and Accessible Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
  • Two world-class golf courses, 17 tennis courts, four pools
  • Wild Dunes Resort guests have priority for golf, tennis and other recreation
  • Free shuttles within the resort property
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
Rooms
The AAA Four Diamond rated Boardwalk Inn is in the heart of the resort and within a quick walk to the beach. The Boardwalk Inn accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer 93 guest rooms and suites. Junior suites include mini-bars. All rooms have pull-out sofas and room service is available.

The AAA Four Diamond rated Village at Wild Dunes is a collection of identically appointed guest rooms and suites that sit atop a bustling plaza that includes a fitness center, salon with spa services, market and restaurant (open seasonally).  The Village accommodations of the Wild Dunes Resort offer more than 120 rooms and suites. Guest rooms feature two queen beds and studios include a king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and private balcony. The Village also offers suites with kitchens and one, two or three bedrooms an equal number of bathrooms, and washers/dryers. The two-bedroom suites are also available in a "family" configuration.

Wild Dunes Resort's condos are situated throughout the property.  Condos are individually owned so décor and amenities vary.  Guests of the condos enjoy an individual condo complex pool as well as resort guest amenities of preferred tee times and pricing on guest activities.
Features
The Wild Dunes Resort boasts a gazebo, beautiful lawns, bike and walking paths. Guests enjoy spa and salon services and yoga. Parking is free.
 
Dining
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes.The family-friendly he Lettered Olive is the newest restaurant in Wild Dunes serving a la carte and buffet-style meals in a casual atmosphere while Dunes Deli offers gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches.

With a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar serves classic beach fare as the Isle of Palms' only boardwalk café.  Sand Bar at the Links Clubhouse is the perfect spot for grabbing a casual lunch as guests head out for a great day on the golf course. All restaurant hours are seasonal. 
Transportation
  • Charleston International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Amtrak station (21 mi/33.8 km)

Attractions
  • Boone Hall Plantation (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Fort Sumter and dinner cruises from Patriots Point (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Patriots Point Naval Museum/USS Yorktown (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Charleston historic district (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • Charleston Area Convention Center/Performing Arts Center/Coliseum (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
 
Business
  • Business center includes a computer, laptop data ports, printers, copiers and a fax machine
  • Sweetgrass Pavilion features 10,000 square feet of function space, Internet service and audio/visual equipment

Policies and fees
  • No pets. No smoking. No outdoor grilling. No motor homes, boat trailers, personal watercraft, motorcycles or other two wheeled motorized vehicles. Nine percent resort services fee.
  • All Wild Dunes Resort guests receive exclusive guest perks and benefits including 10% off in dining, retail, and bicycle rentals; preferred pricing on beach rentals; recreation activities; golf rounds; exclusive access to all resort amenities; and more.
  • The Boardwalk Inn pool is reserved for adults only between the hours of 10am and 5pm from 1 May to 1 September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.8035 -79.741
Area served
Located on the Isle of Palms, Wild Dunes Resort is an award-winning oceanside oasis just a mere 25 minutes from the charm and grace of historic Charleston. Guests can savor the Atlantic Ocean, resort amenities and the best of the lowcountry.
Nearby airports
CHS-Charleston International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the Isle of Palms - 15 miles northest of Charleston.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts Rooms

1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Villa Oceanfront
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Ocean Views. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Resort View Villas
Privately Owned Vacation Rental, furnishings vary. 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Villa, 2 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa or 3 Bedroom/2 Bath Villa with Resort Views, 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Will have fully equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, and a porch or balcony. All units also have Washer/Dryer, AC, alarm clock, cable television, access to all Wild Dunes Resort amenities, and a starter supply of soaps and toiletries. Departure housekeeping service only.
Village Studio
1 King bed with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, washer/dryer, kitchenette, turn down available upon request.
Boardwalk Inn Deluxe Room
Deluxe king or two queen bedding accommodations. Room amenities include nightly turndown service upon request, full daily housekeeping services, in room hairdryer-safe-coffee maker and ironing board. All rooms have flat screen TVs with on demand movies, desk or work table, data port, and high speed internet access in guestrooms as well as WIFI access in the hotel lobby. The Inn is only 150 yards from the beach accessible by a boardwalk connecting the inn and the ocean. Room renovation completed in May 2012.
Village Two Bedroom
King and Two Twins or 2 Kings with amenities such as: Large living/dining area, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping service.
Village Guest Room
2 Queens with amenities such as: 2 Queens with amenities such as: Bell service, valet service, coffee maker, CD/alarm clock, complimentary high speed internet access, full daily housekeeping services, turn down available upon request.
Village One Bedroom Suite
King with amenities such as: Pull-out sleeper sofa, bell service, valet service, CD player/alarm clock, cable, complimentary high speed internet access, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchen, hardwood flooring, granite countertops in the baths, washer/dryer, daily housekeeping services, turn down available.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sea Island Grill
Located in the Boardwalk Inn, the Sea Island Grill offers upscale yet casual dining featuring locally inspired dishes. Features an air-conditioned dining room and lounge and poolside terrace. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Lettered Olive
: Set in a casual contemporary atmosphere, The Lettered Olive features an array of delectable dishes that will be sure to satisfy every member of your family. Menu items offer comfort food with a Wild Dunes flair that is fresh, familiar and local. This restaurant is centrally located on The Village Plaza. Open seasonally.
Hudson's Market
Tasty treats and cold beverages are just the start. A gourmand's delight, Hudson's Market teems with notable wines, ingredients for in-suite meals and necessary sundries. Everything you need to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Located on The Village Plaza. Open daily.
The Sand Bar
Located in the Links Course Clubhouse, is a great spot for golfers or beach-goers to grab a casual meal during the day. Enjoy the lush fairway views while taking in breakfast, lunch, or an early dinner. Hours vary by season.
Dunes Deli
Grab and go. That's Dunes Deli, next to the Harbor Pro Shop. Offering gourmet coffee, breakfast and deli-style sandwiches. Hours vary by season.
Grand Pavilion Cafe & Bar
The Isle of Palms' only boardwalk cafe. Open seasonally with a panoramic ocean view, the Grand Pavilion Caf & Bar serves classic beach fare. Sandwiches, snacks, drinks and cocktails. Open Seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingMasten
Charlotte, NC
Feb 18, 2013

Nothing like what I expected......

After reading the many reviews on the hotel on this site, I was very excited for my birthday trip there. Once I got there, that chanced rather quickly. The room I was booked in, 212B, had a ½ eaten piece of pie that was left in the fridge. I went down to registration and Mr. Hagwood (I think his first name was Jason) was very helpful and was able to switch me to room 218B and apologized for the error. No discount was offered. Room 218B had a bigger kitchen, which I did not use and had a better balcony view. The pillows were terrible and woke up with a headache twice out of the 3 night I slept there. The bathroom was even worse! Both electrical sockets looked like they were from the 1950’s and hadn’t ever been cleaned. Thankfully I did not need to plug anything into those. Was worried I would burn the whole building down if I plugged anything into them. The caulking from one of the sinks and some of the bath tub was missing, sheet rock above the bath was peeling up the walls and a tile was moved out of place in the shower and it looked like there could have been mold behind that. Not only that, but on my first day there, no maid service came into the room to make the bed. I brought this to the attention to the person at check out, showed him the photos, he apologized & took notes, but that was it. I was very surprised and shocked that a hotel with that reputation had such an inferior room and unwilling to try to correct the situation. Now I know that I will not be going back to that hotel. The valet staff was awesome! Always very helpful and gave some good recommendations on places to eat and also how to get over to see Patriots Point and the H.L. Hunley Sub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JE avid shopper
Aiken, SC
Jan 25, 2013

High class luxury at a reasonable price

The location of the Wild Dunes provides guests with a spectacular view of the ocean. The rooms are up to date, clean and very comfortable. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The bartender told us about the Charleston Tea Plantation (a hidden Charleston gem). We visited the plantation and had a wonderful time. There are many amenities on the Wild Dunes site. But, people come the Charleston area for not only the water, but the charm of the South.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Charleston Tea Plantation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bkkbigbuddy
hilton head
Jan 22, 2013

I felt cheated!

There is no way that this property deserves a 4 star, it is in many ways an upscale 2 star chain brand resort and does not meet the same standard in room ammenties as any 3 or 4 star i have ever stayed in except the linens. I will never stay there again and I am complaining to the other agancies that give ratings as well. All property inspectors should take a second look and I am sure the rating will drop to a 3 star max.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

take a gps and within a 20 minute drive you can reach some good sea food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Litchfield Lady
South Carolina
Jan 21, 2013

Nice overnight getaway

We had a very enjoyable overnight stay at Wild Dunes. The staff certainly exemplified Southern Hospitality! Our room was ready promptly at check in time. Both self parking and valet parking were available. The beach was clean and beautiful, and easily accessible for our beachwalk. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant. We regretted that we had not made reservations, as the wait was over an hour. The salmon was particularly good. We ordered room service breakfast, which was delivered at the requested time. The breakfast portions were generous, and the blueberry pancakes were made with fresh blueberries and served very hot! Due to the winter season, there was limited entertainment available at this location, but Charleston is an easy drive. We did not play tennis or golf on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sewanee traveler
Sewanee, TN
Jan 6, 2013

Christmas vacation

The facilities are lovely, and we were just steps from the beach. Beautiful 2 BR apartment. Restaurang very good. Staff very attentive. We had a problem with internet that took 2 days to resolve and turned out to be an unplugged router hidden behind a TV console! Very frustrating that the staff were unable to solve such a simple problem. However, they were all very nice, and management offered us a lovely dinner in compensation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brose82
dawsonville ga
Jan 2, 2013

super happy

My gps didnt send me to the right place,the hotel was on the wild dunes resort. The place had valet parking, which was free, except u had to tip the valet everytime you got your car. you were NOT allowed to park it yourself, did not like that. Other than that, the room was wonderful, really comfortable bed, lots of space and two robes(which i am not used to having in a hotel room). The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay with wild dunes again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go where the locals go, less crowed and great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regvau
South Carolina
Dec 24, 2012

Great Quick Getaway

Very friendly staff and comfortable room. We will be back in the spring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea biscuit for Sunday breakfast was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonder pets
Isle of palms
Nov 25, 2012

Great getaway

Very convenient location. Wonderful customer service. The only thing is the hot water tank is too small. It is only good for one person to take a shower each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Atkins
Greenville, SC
Nov 7, 2012

Excellent Honeymoon!

The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. Great locations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wild Dunes - Destination Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Wild Dunes customer
Long Island NY
Oct 23, 2012

Wild Dunes was a great get away

I highly recommend Wild Dunes. The hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade that was incredible! We had a spacious suite with a beautiful balcony view of the beach, the pool and the golf course. It was complete with flat screen TVs, DVD players, jacuzzi tub, and a washer/dryer. The resort had so many things to do that we didn't get to all of them... a spa, a fitness room, tennis, golf and paddle boarding & bike rentals. A beautiful setting and lots of fun. We'll go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shem Creek is a short drive away in Mount Pleasant, and is a nice place to dine and enjoy night life. It offers dining with beautiful water and marsh views. Several fun places for drinks and great food, with in and outdoor dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search