$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of Two Grasslawn Avenue, Two Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Amazing experience

My stay at The Westin Hilton Head Island was nothing short of amazing, the staff was very friendly... See full review

  • Joseph M.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Hotel takes care of guests very well

We found that there was not a single staff person who did not smile or say something pleasant... See full review

  • Jeff Q.
  • May 23, 2015
Located in historic Port Royal Plantation, the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers white sand beaches and outdoor fun for all ages. This AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort boasts bicycle and jogging paths, 14 tennis courts and convenient access to three championship golf courses and activities such as kayaking, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding.
Dining
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort offers a variety of dining options, including The Carolina Cafe, known for its seafood buffet. Splash offers cocktails and Caribbean-inspired light fare. Oceans serves up fresh seafood, late-night drinks and a breathtaking panoramic view.
Rooms

Each comfortable room at the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa features a private balcony, many with panoramic views of the beach and dunes. Sink into the Westin hotel's signature Heavenly Bed and enjoy elegant Old South furnishings. Starbucks coffee is complimentary for in-room brewing. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Property features

The family-friendly Westin Hilton Head Island Resort can offer babysitting referrals, and children ages 4 to 12 can enjoy summertime fun at the Westin Kids Club. The hotel offers a shuttle service to golf, tennis and shops in the area (fees apply). Valet and self-parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Convenient to three championship golf courses
  • Private balconies, many with panoramic ocean and dune views
  • Beach, five pools, tennis courts and biking and jogging paths
  • Ranked one of the "Top 50 Greatest U.S. Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Concierge can help arrange activities such as kayaking, deep-sea fishing, and horseback riding
Nearby attractions
  • Palmetto Dunes (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Pinckney Island Wild Refuge (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Shelter Cove Mall (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Stores (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Historic Savannah, GA (40 mi/64.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • More than 30,500 square feet of event space
  • Audiovisual and presentation services
  • 24-hour business center
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (39 mi/63 km)
Recreation
Get a full-body workout at the fitness center (fees apply) or try out one of the resort's many bicycle and jogging paths. 14 outdoor tennis courts boast Har-Tru clay and Nova hard courts (fees apply). Five outdoor and indoor heated pools offer year-round swimming for working out or winding down. And a pristine white sand beach is just steps away.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Dining

ingredients
Let ingredients kick-start your day with your favorite morning drink. Come back any time for a healthy SuperFoodsRx™ snack or frozen treat. From wraps and salads to frozen yogurt and fruit cups, you’ll find something perfect to hold you over.
Oceans
Let the waves of the Atlantic beckon you to Oceans for fresh, locally-sourced seafood, Lowcountry-inspired dishes, and one of Hilton Head Island’s best panoramic ocean views.
View 32
This exciting new restaurant and bar is the perfect place to cool off with a frozen, 32-degree drink, or simply take in panoramic views of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean at the 32nd parallel.
The Carolina Room
A casual, family-friendly venue, The Carolina Room serves fantastic seasonal offerings and unique Lowcountry cuisine.
Splash
Located next to our main pool, just steps away from the beach, Splash is a relaxing place for comfortable dining with your favorite tropical drink as you feel the warm ocean breeze.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph M.
Business
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Amazing experience

My stay at The Westin Hilton Head Island was nothing short of amazing, the staff was very friendly and always willing to help, the scenery was incredible, everything from the koi pond to the swimming pools were amazing. The rooms were great and very clean, the hotel was very nice and clean, food at the hotel was a little pricy but there are a bunch of places to eat nearby as long as you don't mind the short drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff Q.
Business
Camby
May 23, 2015

Hotel takes care of guests very well

We found that there was not a single staff person who did not smile or say something pleasant during our stay at the Westin. In the halls, on the elevator, or behind the desk, all the employees of the Westin brought a pleasant personality to their work. The hotel has great beach access, a wonderful setting, and complementary charging stations for both Teslas and other electric vehicles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDJB Stew
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Sep 15, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better vacation!!

My husband just separated from the military after 9 years and went straight into a civilian career. We never had a honeymoon, never went on a vacation where we weren't visiting family, and spontaneously decided to take a 3 day trip to the beach. We saw this hotels rates and location and decided to make it our first ever real vacation. We booked two days before coming and were nervous we didn't research enough hotels. WE COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE SATISFIED!!!! The staff were incredibly accommodating and polite. The resort is beautiful and magical at night. We will be staying at this hotel every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nicks steak and seafood was delicious and nicely priced.

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ in Georgia
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2014

Great location, overall pleasant experience...

Overall, our experience at the Westin was pleasant. This hotel is at a great location on the Island with a great stretch of beach front. They did a renovation project here within the last year or two to my understanding, and it shows in many areas but not in some. The rooms are comfortable and our air conditioning worked fantastic, which was important when we were there when it was 100 degrees and 90% humidity. So some parts of the facility are still a bit dated, but not in such a way that it created a negative experience. On a summer weekend, the parking can be a challenge. We went ahead and used the valet because you could drive around for 20 minutes in the evening and not find a spot in the self park area. The spa was terrific. My wife said that the gal that worked on her was the best that she has ever had, and we've been to a few of the best spas in the southeast (Old Edwards, Grove Park). Highly recommend, and the prices at the spa were reasonable. There were two observations that I would make, not complaints but rather recommendations for the hotel. First, they should consider a redesign of their main pool. Over half of the pool is 5 ft deep. The other half is 4 ft or less. So on a very crowded weekend, the 4ft and less side of the pool is standing room only, because it is the only part of the pool that 98% of the people can stand up in and hang with their friends and talk, The other half of the pool has maybe 10 people in it, and another 15 or so hanging on the side of the pool because they aren't tall enough to stand. I'm 6'4", and was able to stand on my toes and barely breathe. Half of the pool is wasted space, because it is not being properly utilized. Second thought to the hotel staff is to get rid of the lame policy of not allowing coolers at the pool. Of course, have and enforce a no glass policy, but a no cooler policy is just stupid. Folks are going back and forth between the beach and the pool, and of course they are going to bring a cooler with them to the beach. Don't know what the hotel is trying to accomplish with that rule, but it is lame and useless. I had a pool attendant approach me and tell me I had to take my cooler to my room, they weren't allowed. I took a look around and saw 5 coolers within 50 feet of me sand said to him "really, are you kidding?". When he walked away, I threw a towel over my cooler and continued my day. Other than those two annoyances, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leading lady
Business
Cincinnati OH
Aug 12, 2014

Weekend getaway

The staff at the Westin were outstanding. Very helpful and accommodating. Great amenities and a wonderful place for families. The beds were comfortable. The only concern with the room was the temperature control. It seemed to be either too cool or too warm. We kept adjusting up or down. Perhaps a user error, but other people we were traveling with indicated the same problem. Overall a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K.E.M.
Business
Kentucky, USA
Jul 20, 2014

Worth it.

Wonderful. Pool and outdoor accmmodations were fabulous. Very comfortable. Beach was close and beautiful. Service was great. Staff was very helpful. Only have 2 minor issues. 1. Closet doors in room were hard to open & close because of design. To close them I had to slam the door to engage the door latch. It would make a loud popping noise. This is not 4-5 star material. Really should be changed. 2. Some of waiters/waitresses in restaurant too busy talking with customers ( which is good ) but no one was there to back them up. Better presence from supervision on the floor would have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TigerRadioVoice
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Fantastic east coast beach resort

I've always appreciated the quality and cleanliness of Westins and this was no different. The rooms were large, the lobby had a nice hardwood finish, and the pools and access to the beach, although a public beach, was ultra-convenient. The main restaurant, Ocean, and the outdoor bar/cafe View32 were just mediocre. Had they been excellent I would have given them a 5/5 as well. Parking is free if you self-park and the underground self-park was a lifesaver during the torrential rain during one of the days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
repeat performer
Business
montgomery, al
Jul 7, 2014

maybe too kid friendly?

If you're looking for a romantic getaway for two, this may not be the place. A lot of families with kids. With the noise and buzyness kids bring. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

reserve a chair(s) near the pool early in the a.m.; otherwise they are gone

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBinNC
Business
Washington
Jul 6, 2014

Great Hotel

My only complaint is I booked and paid for a Ocean View room but only got a courtyard view. We were told there were no guarantees to get one even though we paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Needing Vacation 2014
Business
Richmond Kentucky
Jun 19, 2014

Very nice, but hidden fees and overpriced food

Things started bad as our oceanfront room had a 4 foot wall that blocked the ocean view when sitting on the balcony. You had to stand to see the ocean. We complained and they gave us an ocean view room, with no reduction in price. View was much better and the room was just as nice. However this complex is so large, we had to lug all of our luggage to another wing. This had to be at least a 1000 yard walk with multiple trips with luggage. I would recommend to not get the oceanfront room. Definitely not worth the extra money. Food on site is double the cost of regular food. I assume they think you will eat there and not travel outside the resort to eat. Go out and try other restaurants for a better experience. Great access to the beach and pool area is awesome. When checking out there is another fee added for each day of your stay. It is a resort fee...???. It is another $20 per day. For our five night stay it was another $100 we didn't expect to pay. Parking under the hotel is great, although no one told us about it. We found it on our own. Also the resort is very large and a map of the building with elevators and stairs shown would be great, but it was not found or offered to us. Staff was always courteous and friendly. If you want to defer the daily maid service, you will receive a $5 coupon per day to use toward on site food. (Not alcohol). With the expensive food on site I would keep the maid service and go off site to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hilton Head Diner very good. The Smokehouse was very good food and really reasonable. Nice place. Rielleys Bar/Pub was good atmosphere and food.

Back to menu Return to top