$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
View map of 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacks
Business
Fox Lake, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Hilton Head Vacation

The pool was awesome. We loved being so close to the beach. More food options at/near the hotel would've been nice as we didn't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PC Girl
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 27, 2010

Mom and daughter celebration and getaway

My daughters and I decided to getaway for the weekend to celebrate my oldest (19) passing her latest course work with flying colors! Also, we needed some time together plus SHOP! So taking two teenage daughters (19 & 13) can be risky but the hotel impressed them so much and having room service the first night maybe put them in a state of....WOW~! So we had a great time! [...] the Valet who helped us the first night gave us some GREAT tips for around the area and told us about the restaurants in the hotel. Great advice and a very wonderful personality!! The weekend when by VERY fast but we will return soon! Of course next time just my husband and me because this place has great potential for a weekend getaway for LOVERS!! ****And then with the lack of cell coverage we might actually have a quiet weekend!****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crazy Crab! Loved it! Food was wonderful! People where very curtious even when we arrived late after a long afternoon of shopping at the Outlets!

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilton Head 1st-Timer
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 8, 2010

Everything but the hotel restaurant

A friend and I stayed for two nights, and the hotel itself is very reasonable. I read a lot of reviews complaining about the "nickel and diming" aspect of this hotel, but they must have missed the part of the resort fee benefits. The $12.95/night covers almost everything and gives a discount on the hotel restaurants/shops so it's not bad. Plus, the fee is per room, not per person, and the access to the beach and free parking make it completely doable. The restaurant staff in the first hotel restaurant we attempted to dine in (first night) was terrible! We sat for about 10 minutes before someone even acknowledged us. When we finally got the menus, the waiter didn't even pause to ask about drinks, and we never saw anyone again. We left after another 5-10 minutes of waiting. The hotel restaurant right next door was the complete opposite, but as with most hotel restaurants, the prices were exorbitant. Save your effort and money and eat locally; there are at least two great restaurants close by that have a wide variety and are relatively inexpensive. Other than that, the hotel staff was okay (bellhops are the friendliest). The location is perfect; it's close to a lot of things, and I can't stress the importance of having such close access to the beach. I enjoyed my stay, and I'm pretty sure my friend did as well. I would recommend this hotel for its location and reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Skillets and The Crazy Crab are excellent! We went to Skillets twice for breakfast. The Crazy Crab is like a Chili's but nautical themed and with fresh seafood. They also serve delicious hush puppies right off the bat. Both have extensive menus and reasonable prices, and if you hit them at the right times (like we did), you don't have to wait forever.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vidalia, GA
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent location, top flight service

From check-in to checkout, staff was friendly and helpful. Location is great with easy access by car or bike to all of Hilton Head Island. Beach is within easy walk and beautifully kept. Everything you need for the beach, pool, or fitness center is available for nominal charges. Beach gear can be picked up conveniently on the path to the beach. Facilities for weddings or business meetings were also available and in gorgeous, relaxing settings. Internet access was available throughout the hotel as well. About the only negative comment would be that the TV's are old style standard definition sets which surprised me from a modern resort, but then, who goes to the oceanfront to watch TV?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a fireworks display on Tuesday evenings in the summer. The best seats are on the boats in the river. We took a 2.5 hour boat tour concluding with the fireworks and it was the highlight of our trip. It was fun to watch the dolphins as well. Contact Outside Hilton Head for these tours. They also arrange kayaking and fishing trips.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dunkirk, ny
Aug 2, 2010

Excellent accomodatons, wonderful people

The staff were wonderful and very informative in helping select area restaurants. The beaches were absolutely beautiful and the pool and surrounding areas were relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alexanders near Palmetto Dunes

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anntee
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jul 10, 2010

not 4 stars

This hotel is like a Ramada or a La Quninta, bad music pumping and crowded pool and bar area. It was fine but not 4 star and not worth all the money we paid. It was not quiet, the walls were very thin and we cold hear everything. The hotel staff were very nice and the breakfast was good at Brella's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Fish

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G-MO
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 4, 2010

Amazing Accomodations!

It was great! A honeymoon with my wife would be great if we went to a Motel 6 in West Virginia. But this resort had it all. Great private beach, fun and relaxing bars, nice helpful staff. Parking lot gets a little congested anywhere close to the hotel but it's a small sacrifice for the plush conditions of the resort itself. We already have plans to go back next year this time with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Bamboo Cafe. Located in Coligny Square. It looks like a dive bar but when you read the story on the menu it all becomes clear that was the intention. Amazing food. Just plain amazing food.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Suwanee, GA
Apr 4, 2010

Nice stay

Nice location, close to the beach, perfect infrastructure, just like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weav1
Business
Atlanta,Ga
Oct 28, 2009

great getaway

Our stay was very pleasent-room service was excellent-would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

the crowne plaze visit

Basically a good trip. We enjoyed the beach. The room was nice. Not much ocean view from rooms. We ate our meals at the hotel and were pleased with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley island tour...helps to understand the island much better.

Back to menu Return to top