$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
View map of 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anntee
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jul 10, 2010

not 4 stars

This hotel is like a Ramada or a La Quninta, bad music pumping and crowded pool and bar area. It was fine but not 4 star and not worth all the money we paid. It was not quiet, the walls were very thin and we cold hear everything. The hotel staff were very nice and the breakfast was good at Brella's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Fish

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G-MO
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 4, 2010

Amazing Accomodations!

It was great! A honeymoon with my wife would be great if we went to a Motel 6 in West Virginia. But this resort had it all. Great private beach, fun and relaxing bars, nice helpful staff. Parking lot gets a little congested anywhere close to the hotel but it's a small sacrifice for the plush conditions of the resort itself. We already have plans to go back next year this time with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Bamboo Cafe. Located in Coligny Square. It looks like a dive bar but when you read the story on the menu it all becomes clear that was the intention. Amazing food. Just plain amazing food.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Suwanee, GA
Apr 4, 2010

Nice stay

Nice location, close to the beach, perfect infrastructure, just like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weav1
Business
Atlanta,Ga
Oct 28, 2009

great getaway

Our stay was very pleasent-room service was excellent-would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tennessee
Oct 26, 2009

the crowne plaze visit

Basically a good trip. We enjoyed the beach. The room was nice. Not much ocean view from rooms. We ate our meals at the hotel and were pleased with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley island tour...helps to understand the island much better.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tn
Oct 16, 2009

trip to hilton head island

we like every thing the clean room the beautiful room the way the bed was make up and good to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

take your bike

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Returning Sandlapper
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 5, 2009

Great Girls Weekend

The staff at this hotel is excellent. They are friendly, but unobtrusive, responsive, never rushed and give excellent recommendations on local spots. We spent Thurs - Sun at the resort for a girls weekend. The property is beautiful and flawlessly maintained. We enjoyed the 2 minute walk to the beach, the great restuarant recommendations, and close self-parking options. We only ate one meal on property, but it was very nice. The only real drawback to the experience (and its a tiny one) is the extra fees. The daily required resort fee does not cover valet parking, room fridges, bicycles, or beach chairs/unbrellas. This was a bit of a surprise since most of the caribbean and european resorts we've stayed at have included at least the use of chairs, umbrellas, and bikes as part of the resort fee. I'd rather have a higher daily resort fee and not feel a bit "nickeled and dimed" each time we set out on an activity. In short, we would highly recommend this as a relaxing, beautiful getaway. The nature is amazing, there is delicious dining and shopping within biking or driving distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't listen when reviewers say its near Charleston! The 2.5 hour ride into the city really messed up our agenda. If you need a historic city fix, choose Savannah. Its less than an hour away and offers similar attractions.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter Super Uncle
Business
Albany NY
Aug 31, 2009

HH Crown Plaza

Fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach was magnificent.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 18, 2009

Wonderful hotel and beach access

Tremendous beach and wonderful rooms as well as overall hotel amenities. Access to other area attractions requires a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coligny plaza has many very good options.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnnyrodrod
Business
Huntersville North Carolina
Aug 5, 2009

Boring boring boring !

Nothing to do at "resort". The little pool filled with teenagers and little kids to capacity. no availble chairs. Water had a tinge of "yellow". chairs had stains. Beach chairs for another fee ( carry your wallet you will need it ) Room had a musty smell and I had requested a fresh room due to allergies. That was a waste of time. Good thing I brought my ventilator could not breath. Locally little to do unless you like burning at the beach or sweating while bike riding. Bring a bke or rent 22 bucks a week. All in all could not wait to get out of there. What a waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

supermarkets close by for water and snacks. Fast food places as well.

Back to menu Return to top