$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
View map of 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel often family
Business
oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

Not the best, but not bad

The hotel was located in a great spot for the beach and down a nice wooded road. However, the decor was dated, it took way to long to check in, the food was bismal, and the parking was a mess. The room view was of ac units that were loud in our room all evening. The rooms were dated, and stale. The patio was dirty, had not been washed in months. LOTS of small children wandering around, not the place for honeymoon. Might work good for families, beach access nice and pool good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great short walk to beach

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Mar 9, 2011

Cold

No hot water the entire weekend. I took two cold showers and asked about some sort of compensation they said there was nothing they could do. Old... very much in need of updating. System unable to use a visa check card as a credit card. Porches so small you cant sit on them. Do not recommend since there was no compensation for no HOT water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jazz Corner

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
williston sc
Jan 24, 2011

Fantastic relaxation time

Absolutely wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bridgewater,NH
Dec 9, 2010

Very nice and great staff

I was on business I did not have time to enjoy all that they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swissie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2010

Great stay

Room was large, spotless, and very comfortable. Unlike many reviews, we didn't find the parking to bne a problem. Staff was good--friendly, helpful. Concierge was absolutely great. We'd return to this property which offers excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim & Tim
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 29, 2010

Loved it!

This was our first time at Hilton Head Island, and we were there to celebrate both of our birthdays and wedding anniversary. The staff treated us great! The bellman, [...], was helpful when we arrived. [...] at the Front Desk made check-in easy and surprised us that night with champagne and strawberries in our room. [...] at the pool bar gave excellent service and gave us a good dinner recommendation. The housekeeping staff was very courteous. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the pool bar food was good. Our only complaint was that we wish we had at least another day at the hotel, so we could have taken advantage of the biking and tennis that was available. This hotel doesn't have as many restaurants or services as some of the larger resorts, but we found it just the right size for us and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to watch any sports on TV and get a cheap bite to eat, Casey's was a lot of fun.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PC Girl
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 27, 2010

Mom and daughter celebration and getaway

My daughters and I decided to getaway for the weekend to celebrate my oldest (19) passing her latest course work with flying colors! Also, we needed some time together plus SHOP! So taking two teenage daughters (19 & 13) can be risky but the hotel impressed them so much and having room service the first night maybe put them in a state of....WOW~! So we had a great time! [...] the Valet who helped us the first night gave us some GREAT tips for around the area and told us about the restaurants in the hotel. Great advice and a very wonderful personality!! The weekend when by VERY fast but we will return soon! Of course next time just my husband and me because this place has great potential for a weekend getaway for LOVERS!! ****And then with the lack of cell coverage we might actually have a quiet weekend!****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crazy Crab! Loved it! Food was wonderful! People where very curtious even when we arrived late after a long afternoon of shopping at the Outlets!

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilton Head 1st-Timer
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 8, 2010

Everything but the hotel restaurant

A friend and I stayed for two nights, and the hotel itself is very reasonable. I read a lot of reviews complaining about the "nickel and diming" aspect of this hotel, but they must have missed the part of the resort fee benefits. The $12.95/night covers almost everything and gives a discount on the hotel restaurants/shops so it's not bad. Plus, the fee is per room, not per person, and the access to the beach and free parking make it completely doable. The restaurant staff in the first hotel restaurant we attempted to dine in (first night) was terrible! We sat for about 10 minutes before someone even acknowledged us. When we finally got the menus, the waiter didn't even pause to ask about drinks, and we never saw anyone again. We left after another 5-10 minutes of waiting. The hotel restaurant right next door was the complete opposite, but as with most hotel restaurants, the prices were exorbitant. Save your effort and money and eat locally; there are at least two great restaurants close by that have a wide variety and are relatively inexpensive. Other than that, the hotel staff was okay (bellhops are the friendliest). The location is perfect; it's close to a lot of things, and I can't stress the importance of having such close access to the beach. I enjoyed my stay, and I'm pretty sure my friend did as well. I would recommend this hotel for its location and reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Skillets and The Crazy Crab are excellent! We went to Skillets twice for breakfast. The Crazy Crab is like a Chili's but nautical themed and with fresh seafood. They also serve delicious hush puppies right off the bat. Both have extensive menus and reasonable prices, and if you hit them at the right times (like we did), you don't have to wait forever.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vidalia, GA
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent location, top flight service

From check-in to checkout, staff was friendly and helpful. Location is great with easy access by car or bike to all of Hilton Head Island. Beach is within easy walk and beautifully kept. Everything you need for the beach, pool, or fitness center is available for nominal charges. Beach gear can be picked up conveniently on the path to the beach. Facilities for weddings or business meetings were also available and in gorgeous, relaxing settings. Internet access was available throughout the hotel as well. About the only negative comment would be that the TV's are old style standard definition sets which surprised me from a modern resort, but then, who goes to the oceanfront to watch TV?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a fireworks display on Tuesday evenings in the summer. The best seats are on the boats in the river. We took a 2.5 hour boat tour concluding with the fireworks and it was the highlight of our trip. It was fun to watch the dolphins as well. Contact Outside Hilton Head for these tours. They also arrange kayaking and fishing trips.

Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dunkirk, ny
Aug 2, 2010

Excellent accomodatons, wonderful people

The staff were wonderful and very informative in helping select area restaurants. The beaches were absolutely beautiful and the pool and surrounding areas were relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alexanders near Palmetto Dunes

Back to menu Return to top