$202 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
View map of 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
heffay
Business
Fort myers , florida
Aug 6, 2011

certainly not what I expected

The location was fine for the resort. Right near the beach. The staff was polite and friendly. The parking was fine, valet available. The lobby was nice. The resort offered internet access, and a fitness center, an indoor pool, outdoor pool, towels at the pool, and several spots to eat and drink. My biggest complaint was the room. It was spacious, but very old and outdated, and frankly not the cleanest I've seen by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there is much to do on the island, however it can be very difficult to find even shops or restaurants, unless you take advantage of the maps and knoweledge of the locals. Things are hidden among the beautiful landscapes of the island. One can get lost or search for a long time without a simple map, which was provided at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
May 2, 2011

Wonderful family getaway!

Our trip to Crown Plaza was awsome! I can't find a negative word to say about this hotel. It is close to the beach. The hotel is the cleanest I have ever been in. The staff was sooooooooo friendly. That is a biggy for me. WE loved the pool. The landscaping is beautiful. It was like walking through a story book garden. Oh and let me tell you the breakfast served in the lobby restaurant is the best! Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Loved the bicycle trails. We will definitely visit Crown Plaza again. Thanks for a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel often family
Business
oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

Not the best, but not bad

The hotel was located in a great spot for the beach and down a nice wooded road. However, the decor was dated, it took way to long to check in, the food was bismal, and the parking was a mess. The room view was of ac units that were loud in our room all evening. The rooms were dated, and stale. The patio was dirty, had not been washed in months. LOTS of small children wandering around, not the place for honeymoon. Might work good for families, beach access nice and pool good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great short walk to beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Mar 9, 2011

Cold

No hot water the entire weekend. I took two cold showers and asked about some sort of compensation they said there was nothing they could do. Old... very much in need of updating. System unable to use a visa check card as a credit card. Porches so small you cant sit on them. Do not recommend since there was no compensation for no HOT water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jazz Corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
williston sc
Jan 24, 2011

Fantastic relaxation time

Absolutely wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bridgewater,NH
Dec 9, 2010

Very nice and great staff

I was on business I did not have time to enjoy all that they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swissie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2010

Great stay

Room was large, spotless, and very comfortable. Unlike many reviews, we didn't find the parking to bne a problem. Staff was good--friendly, helpful. Concierge was absolutely great. We'd return to this property which offers excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim & Tim
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 29, 2010

Loved it!

This was our first time at Hilton Head Island, and we were there to celebrate both of our birthdays and wedding anniversary. The staff treated us great! The bellman, [...], was helpful when we arrived. [...] at the Front Desk made check-in easy and surprised us that night with champagne and strawberries in our room. [...] at the pool bar gave excellent service and gave us a good dinner recommendation. The housekeeping staff was very courteous. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the pool bar food was good. Our only complaint was that we wish we had at least another day at the hotel, so we could have taken advantage of the biking and tennis that was available. This hotel doesn't have as many restaurants or services as some of the larger resorts, but we found it just the right size for us and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to watch any sports on TV and get a cheap bite to eat, Casey's was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacks
Business
Fox Lake, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Hilton Head Vacation

The pool was awesome. We loved being so close to the beach. More food options at/near the hotel would've been nice as we didn't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacks
Business
Fox Lake, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Hilton Head Vacation

The pool was awesome. We loved being so close to the beach. More food options at/near the hotel would've been nice as we didn't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top