$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
82 reviews
Awesome hotel , amazing staff !

I just came back from my stay in HHI and I gotta say I will be back ! I picked the sonesta resort... See full review

  • Brazuka
  • Aug 20, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Great place to stay on HHI! Very nice remodel, ocean front, lots of amenities. See full review

  • KellySw
  • Jul 7, 2014
Southern hospitality and natural island elegance On Hilton Head Island
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head, located in Shipyard Plantation on the island's semi-tropical  south end, offers an elegant setting for events and romantic retreats. This oceanfront haven is a AAA Four Diamond award-winner featuring lush gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, a 24-hour fitness center and on-site dining and shopping. Flexible indoor and outdoor event space accommodates groups of all sizes. The resort is conveniently located near championship golf, nature preserves, shopping and white sand beaches.
Highlights
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Private balconies on all guest rooms
  • Convenient to beach, golf, tennis, fishing and outdoor activities
  • On-site restaurants, Sunday champagne brunch
Rooms
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features 340 guest rooms, including nine suites, in a U-shaped, five story building. Decorated in a luxurious Lowcountry style and native color palette, all rooms feature high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and a private balcony. Other amenities include a Keurig coffee and tea station, 46-inch LCD Internet-ready television, electronic safe deposit box, and iron and ironing board.
Features
For your dining convenience and enjoyment, Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers several restaurants, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. All dining outlets are open to resort guests and area residents.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features bike paths, a 24-hour fitness center and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Guests have access to all the outdoor activities Shipyard Plantation has to offer, including tennis and golf. See the concierge to book a fishing excursion, horseback ride, boat tour or Southern style adventure. Unwind with a relaxing treatment at Arum Spa (fees apply) or spend an afternoon on the white sand beach and the world go by.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (7 mi/11 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (48 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Harbour Town (5.8 mi/9 km)
  • Shelter Cove Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (13 mi/21 km)
  • Beaufort, South Carolina (35 mi/56 km)
  • Savannah, Georgia (45 mi/72 km)
Business
  • More than 20,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor event space including ballroom, oceanfront pavilion and beach club
  • Facilities for all size groups, from 10-person meetings to elaborate theme dinners for 800
  • Large pre-function area with outdoor view
  • 4 spacious hospitality suites
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Personalized catering services
  • 24-hour business center (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs up to 35 pounds accepted. There is a $150 cleaning fee per stay. All pet rooms are either King Standard or Two Queens Standard guestrooms located on the first floor.  Dogs are required to be crated if the guest is going to leave them unattended in the room.
  • The property charges $16 resort fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.1543 -80.7318
Nearby airports
Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 40.00, MI, SW; Hilton Head Airport, (HHH), 7.00, MI, E; Charleston AFB/International Airport, (CHS), 100.00, MI, S; Jacksonville International Airport, (JAX), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Resort Hilton Head also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Rooms

King Standard
Superior King bed - non view balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Garden View One-Bedroom Suite
Courtyard Suite 950 Sq ft garden view dbl balcony sofa bed
Presidential Suite
One bedroom suite, king bed, 1200 sq ft, ocean view
Communications Accessible King
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 450 sq ft, non view
Comm Access Garden Vw One-Bedroo
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 950 sq ft suite, garden view
Comm Access Two Queens Garden Vi
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, garden view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible Two Queens B
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible King Bathtub
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden Roll-in
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, roll-in shower, garden view, 450 sq ft
Comm Acc Hospitality Suite with
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, 900 sq ft suite, garden view, sofa bed
Mobility Acc Two Queens Roll-in
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Standard
Two queen beds, 450 sq ft, balcony, non view
Mobility Access Garden Vw Suite
Mobility accessible suite, one king bed w/pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub, 950 sq ft
Executive King Corner Ocean View
King with 500 sq ft, ocean view, balcony, sofa bed, oversize shower
King Ocean Horizon View
King bed with queen pull out sofa, ocean horizon view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden View Ba
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner Garden Vie
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, sofa-bed, oversize shower, view of garden, pool or lagoon
Communications Access King Ocean
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed w/pull-out sofa, ocean view
Comm Access Two Queens Ocean Hor
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, ocean horizon view
Communications Access Two Queens
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, 450 sq ft, non view
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Roll-i
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access Exec King Corner
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, corner room, bathtub w/grab bars, 500 sq ft
King Garden View
Deluxe King Tropical Garden View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Vw Bat
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access King Ocean View
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, ocean view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Garden View
Two queen beds, garden view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Ocean Horizon View
Two queen beds, ocean horizon view, balcony, 450 sq ft
King Ocean View
Deluxe King Ocean Horizon View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe coffee maker-iron and board
Two Queens Ocean View
Two queen beds, ocean view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, oversize shower, view of resort grounds
Ocean View Studio Suite
King Bed, 900 sq ft suite, ocean view, wet bar

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Sweet Cane Bar and Grille
Sweet Cane is the pool-side place to be featuring outdoor service of refreshing beverages and food. A casual and relaxed atmosphere with polished and professional service.
Bayleys Bar and Terrace
A liquid Art Lobby Bar and Terrace Lounge at the Sonesta Resort. The greeting place for fresh morning coffee and hand crafted cappuccinos/ delightful afternoon refreshments and sophisticated evening cocktails.
Heywards Restaurant
Heywards serves both breakfast and dinner daily. Featuring a Friday night Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet or Saturday night with remarkable steaks/ succulent seafood and exceptional wine.
Seacrest Terrace and Patio
A lively location for island inspired lunches and small plate evening appetizers. A lounge to sip a cocktail and sit by the fire and to enjoy a menu reflecting Lowcountry cuisine. A perfect hideaway for a glass of wine or martini or classic cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobbyWeck
Greensboro, NC
Oct 1, 2012

outstanding resort with great location!

We were able to find an incredible deal at this resort at the last second. The fact that it was an outstanding resort was a complete bonus. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel often family
Business
oklahoma
Apr 11, 2011

Not the best, but not bad

The hotel was located in a great spot for the beach and down a nice wooded road. However, the decor was dated, it took way to long to check in, the food was bismal, and the parking was a mess. The room view was of ac units that were loud in our room all evening. The rooms were dated, and stale. The patio was dirty, had not been washed in months. LOTS of small children wandering around, not the place for honeymoon. Might work good for families, beach access nice and pool good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great short walk to beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Mar 9, 2011

Cold

No hot water the entire weekend. I took two cold showers and asked about some sort of compensation they said there was nothing they could do. Old... very much in need of updating. System unable to use a visa check card as a credit card. Porches so small you cant sit on them. Do not recommend since there was no compensation for no HOT water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jazz Corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
williston sc
Jan 24, 2011

Fantastic relaxation time

Absolutely wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bridgewater,NH
Dec 9, 2010

Very nice and great staff

I was on business I did not have time to enjoy all that they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swissie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2010

Great stay

Room was large, spotless, and very comfortable. Unlike many reviews, we didn't find the parking to bne a problem. Staff was good--friendly, helpful. Concierge was absolutely great. We'd return to this property which offers excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim & Tim
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 29, 2010

Loved it!

This was our first time at Hilton Head Island, and we were there to celebrate both of our birthdays and wedding anniversary. The staff treated us great! The bellman, [...], was helpful when we arrived. [...] at the Front Desk made check-in easy and surprised us that night with champagne and strawberries in our room. [...] at the pool bar gave excellent service and gave us a good dinner recommendation. The housekeeping staff was very courteous. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the pool bar food was good. Our only complaint was that we wish we had at least another day at the hotel, so we could have taken advantage of the biking and tennis that was available. This hotel doesn't have as many restaurants or services as some of the larger resorts, but we found it just the right size for us and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to watch any sports on TV and get a cheap bite to eat, Casey's was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacks
Business
Fox Lake, IL
Sep 28, 2010

Hilton Head Vacation

The pool was awesome. We loved being so close to the beach. More food options at/near the hotel would've been nice as we didn't rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PC Girl
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 27, 2010

Mom and daughter celebration and getaway

My daughters and I decided to getaway for the weekend to celebrate my oldest (19) passing her latest course work with flying colors! Also, we needed some time together plus SHOP! So taking two teenage daughters (19 & 13) can be risky but the hotel impressed them so much and having room service the first night maybe put them in a state of....WOW~! So we had a great time! [...] the Valet who helped us the first night gave us some GREAT tips for around the area and told us about the restaurants in the hotel. Great advice and a very wonderful personality!! The weekend when by VERY fast but we will return soon! Of course next time just my husband and me because this place has great potential for a weekend getaway for LOVERS!! ****And then with the lack of cell coverage we might actually have a quiet weekend!****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Crazy Crab! Loved it! Food was wonderful! People where very curtious even when we arrived late after a long afternoon of shopping at the Outlets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilton Head 1st-Timer
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 8, 2010

Everything but the hotel restaurant

A friend and I stayed for two nights, and the hotel itself is very reasonable. I read a lot of reviews complaining about the "nickel and diming" aspect of this hotel, but they must have missed the part of the resort fee benefits. The $12.95/night covers almost everything and gives a discount on the hotel restaurants/shops so it's not bad. Plus, the fee is per room, not per person, and the access to the beach and free parking make it completely doable. The restaurant staff in the first hotel restaurant we attempted to dine in (first night) was terrible! We sat for about 10 minutes before someone even acknowledged us. When we finally got the menus, the waiter didn't even pause to ask about drinks, and we never saw anyone again. We left after another 5-10 minutes of waiting. The hotel restaurant right next door was the complete opposite, but as with most hotel restaurants, the prices were exorbitant. Save your effort and money and eat locally; there are at least two great restaurants close by that have a wide variety and are relatively inexpensive. Other than that, the hotel staff was okay (bellhops are the friendliest). The location is perfect; it's close to a lot of things, and I can't stress the importance of having such close access to the beach. I enjoyed my stay, and I'm pretty sure my friend did as well. I would recommend this hotel for its location and reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Skillets and The Crazy Crab are excellent! We went to Skillets twice for breakfast. The Crazy Crab is like a Chili's but nautical themed and with fresh seafood. They also serve delicious hush puppies right off the bat. Both have extensive menus and reasonable prices, and if you hit them at the right times (like we did), you don't have to wait forever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vidalia, GA
Aug 14, 2010

Excellent location, top flight service

From check-in to checkout, staff was friendly and helpful. Location is great with easy access by car or bike to all of Hilton Head Island. Beach is within easy walk and beautifully kept. Everything you need for the beach, pool, or fitness center is available for nominal charges. Beach gear can be picked up conveniently on the path to the beach. Facilities for weddings or business meetings were also available and in gorgeous, relaxing settings. Internet access was available throughout the hotel as well. About the only negative comment would be that the TV's are old style standard definition sets which surprised me from a modern resort, but then, who goes to the oceanfront to watch TV?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a fireworks display on Tuesday evenings in the summer. The best seats are on the boats in the river. We took a 2.5 hour boat tour concluding with the fireworks and it was the highlight of our trip. It was fun to watch the dolphins as well. Contact Outside Hilton Head for these tours. They also arrange kayaking and fishing trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top