$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
84 reviews
Awesome hotel , amazing staff !

I just came back from my stay in HHI and I gotta say I will be back ! I picked the sonesta resort... See full review

  • Brazuka
  • Aug 20, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Great place to stay on HHI! Very nice remodel, ocean front, lots of amenities. See full review

  • KellySw
  • Jul 7, 2014
Southern hospitality and natural island elegance On Hilton Head Island
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head, located in Shipyard Plantation on the island's semi-tropical  south end, offers an elegant setting for events and romantic retreats. This oceanfront haven is a AAA Four Diamond award-winner featuring lush gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, a 24-hour fitness center and on-site dining and shopping. Flexible indoor and outdoor event space accommodates groups of all sizes. The resort is conveniently located near championship golf, nature preserves, shopping and white sand beaches.
Highlights
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Private balconies on all guest rooms
  • Convenient to beach, golf, tennis, fishing and outdoor activities
  • On-site restaurants, Sunday champagne brunch
Rooms
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features 340 guest rooms, including nine suites, in a U-shaped, five story building. Decorated in a luxurious Lowcountry style and native color palette, all rooms feature high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and a private balcony. Other amenities include a Keurig coffee and tea station, 46-inch LCD Internet-ready television, electronic safe deposit box, and iron and ironing board.
Features
For your dining convenience and enjoyment, Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers several restaurants, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. All dining outlets are open to resort guests and area residents.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features bike paths, a 24-hour fitness center and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Guests have access to all the outdoor activities Shipyard Plantation has to offer, including tennis and golf. See the concierge to book a fishing excursion, horseback ride, boat tour or Southern style adventure. Unwind with a relaxing treatment at Arum Spa (fees apply) or spend an afternoon on the white sand beach and the world go by.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (7 mi/11 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (48 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Harbour Town (5.8 mi/9 km)
  • Shelter Cove Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (13 mi/21 km)
  • Beaufort, South Carolina (35 mi/56 km)
  • Savannah, Georgia (45 mi/72 km)
Business
  • More than 20,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor event space including ballroom, oceanfront pavilion and beach club
  • Facilities for all size groups, from 10-person meetings to elaborate theme dinners for 800
  • Large pre-function area with outdoor view
  • 4 spacious hospitality suites
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Personalized catering services
  • 24-hour business center (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs up to 35 pounds accepted. There is a $150 cleaning fee per stay. All pet rooms are either King Standard or Two Queens Standard guestrooms located on the first floor.  Dogs are required to be crated if the guest is going to leave them unattended in the room.
  • The property charges $16 resort fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Resort Hilton Head also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Rooms

King Standard
Superior King bed - non view balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Garden View One-Bedroom Suite
Courtyard Suite 950 Sq ft garden view dbl balcony sofa bed
Presidential Suite
One bedroom suite, king bed, 1200 sq ft, ocean view
Communications Accessible King
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 450 sq ft, non view
Comm Access Garden Vw One-Bedroo
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 950 sq ft suite, garden view
Comm Access Two Queens Garden Vi
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, garden view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible Two Queens B
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible King Bathtub
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden Roll-in
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, roll-in shower, garden view, 450 sq ft
Comm Acc Hospitality Suite with
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, 900 sq ft suite, garden view, sofa bed
Mobility Acc Two Queens Roll-in
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Standard
Two queen beds, 450 sq ft, balcony, non view
Mobility Access Garden Vw Suite
Mobility accessible suite, one king bed w/pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub, 950 sq ft
Executive King Corner Ocean View
King with 500 sq ft, ocean view, balcony, sofa bed, oversize shower
King Ocean Horizon View
King bed with queen pull out sofa, ocean horizon view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden View Ba
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner Garden Vie
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, sofa-bed, oversize shower, view of garden, pool or lagoon
Communications Access King Ocean
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed w/pull-out sofa, ocean view
Comm Access Two Queens Ocean Hor
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, ocean horizon view
Communications Access Two Queens
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, 450 sq ft, non view
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Roll-i
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access Exec King Corner
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, corner room, bathtub w/grab bars, 500 sq ft
King Garden View
Deluxe King Tropical Garden View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Vw Bat
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access King Ocean View
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, ocean view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Garden View
Two queen beds, garden view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Ocean Horizon View
Two queen beds, ocean horizon view, balcony, 450 sq ft
King Ocean View
Deluxe King Ocean Horizon View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe coffee maker-iron and board
Two Queens Ocean View
Two queen beds, ocean view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, oversize shower, view of resort grounds
Ocean View Studio Suite
King Bed, 900 sq ft suite, ocean view, wet bar

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Sweet Cane Bar and Grille
Sweet Cane is the pool-side place to be featuring outdoor service of refreshing beverages and food. A casual and relaxed atmosphere with polished and professional service.
Bayleys Bar and Terrace
A liquid Art Lobby Bar and Terrace Lounge at the Sonesta Resort. The greeting place for fresh morning coffee and hand crafted cappuccinos/ delightful afternoon refreshments and sophisticated evening cocktails.
Heywards Restaurant
Heywards serves both breakfast and dinner daily. Featuring a Friday night Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet or Saturday night with remarkable steaks/ succulent seafood and exceptional wine.
Seacrest Terrace and Patio
A lively location for island inspired lunches and small plate evening appetizers. A lounge to sip a cocktail and sit by the fire and to enjoy a menu reflecting Lowcountry cuisine. A perfect hideaway for a glass of wine or martini or classic cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luv HHI
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 24, 2012

Great hotel

This was a perfect way to end the perfect vacation. The room was great with great amenities and the staff were very friendly. Would definitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leannah
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Great stay at Sonesta

My husband and I decided on a last minute getaway to Hilton Head Island for one night. I found this great deal for $97.00 for a Saturday night garden view. The Sonesta Hilton resort was beautiful. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some bad reviews. The resort has two pools, one indoor and one out. The indoor one has a great (very hot) hottub. The outdoor pool has plenty of comfortable lounge chairs in the shade or sun. We ate the seafood buffet at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the plentiful steamed crab legs and great desserts. The hotel staff were very friendly and we are planning on a return visit very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack the Driver
Business
Baltimore md
Sep 23, 2012

Fantastic experience

More than we ever expected for the place! An awesome experience and a perfect beach day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping centers in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lucy M
Business
South Carolina
Sep 23, 2012

Daughter's birthday weekend

we went for my daughter's birthday weekend....the lobby, cafe,and pool area are nice. The room along with the hallways seem very outdated. Our tub had women's hair on the wall of the tub, floors looked dirty, our tub did not drain!!, and the sink leaked. The front desk did apologize at checkout but overall I would not plan to stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howard W.
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 29, 2012

A wonderful property

Before booking my hotel, I read all the reviews on this property and was a little uneasy about what my experience may be based on some of the negative reviews. I am happy to report that my stay was wonderful! The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable, and the hotel ammenities great. I didn't interact very much with the staff, but every staff member greeted me and my wife with a friendly "hello" or "good morning." This property is nicely located on Hilton Head - you are close to a lot of stuff if you leave the plantation. The only reason I didn't give Sonesta 5 stars is I know there are higher end/"fancier" properties on the island that may offer bigger or better stuff. However, for the middle to upper middle class traveler, this is a great hotel. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snow White28
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Wonderful trip! Please improve odor in rooms..

Relaxing experience, great staff, & weird smell!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat @ Skillets & @ It's Greek to me 2

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeralguter John
Business
Charlotte
Jan 2, 2012

Disappointed

Location is good. No refrigerator in the room. You have to walk more than hundred yards from the lift to the room. It is not easy for senior people with luggage or beach things. They added additional "Facility" charge to my bill. This charge include Internet access - not Wi-Fi, regular Internet. For Wi-Fi they will charge more and it will be separate charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oldman
Business
Colorado
Sep 13, 2011

Oldman

Rooms are very dated,bed are to firm ,beach is a long walk.This property needs a facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biltmore Visitor
Business
West Chester, OH
Aug 9, 2011

Beautiful Resort

The hotel is in a beautiful location. Everything was 1st class. It couldn't get any better! We had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ms. mlm
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

not worth it

I find the Hotel to be overpriced for what is offered. The Hotel is completely outdated, smells musty/mildewy in the hallways, bedrooms, and bathrooms. The A/C unit doesn't work well in the hotel room. The restaurants onsite are not enjoyable. To rent an umbrella and two chairs at the beach for a day was expensive. There is no spa onsite, so I am unsure as to why this hotel is called a resort and spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Don't rely on hotel staff or concierge(who was never around during my whole stay) on what to do and where to go on the island. You get more information from the cab drivers on where to go and what to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top