$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
82 reviews
Awesome hotel , amazing staff !

I just came back from my stay in HHI and I gotta say I will be back ! I picked the sonesta resort... See full review

  • Brazuka
  • Aug 20, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Great place to stay on HHI! Very nice remodel, ocean front, lots of amenities. See full review

  • KellySw
  • Jul 7, 2014
Southern hospitality and natural island elegance On Hilton Head Island
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head, located in Shipyard Plantation on the island's semi-tropical  south end, offers an elegant setting for events and romantic retreats. This oceanfront haven is a AAA Four Diamond award-winner featuring lush gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, a 24-hour fitness center and on-site dining and shopping. Flexible indoor and outdoor event space accommodates groups of all sizes. The resort is conveniently located near championship golf, nature preserves, shopping and white sand beaches.
Highlights
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Private balconies on all guest rooms
  • Convenient to beach, golf, tennis, fishing and outdoor activities
  • On-site restaurants, Sunday champagne brunch
Rooms
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features 340 guest rooms, including nine suites, in a U-shaped, five story building. Decorated in a luxurious Lowcountry style and native color palette, all rooms feature high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and a private balcony. Other amenities include a Keurig coffee and tea station, 46-inch LCD Internet-ready television, electronic safe deposit box, and iron and ironing board.
Features
For your dining convenience and enjoyment, Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers several restaurants, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. All dining outlets are open to resort guests and area residents.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features bike paths, a 24-hour fitness center and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Guests have access to all the outdoor activities Shipyard Plantation has to offer, including tennis and golf. See the concierge to book a fishing excursion, horseback ride, boat tour or Southern style adventure. Unwind with a relaxing treatment at Arum Spa (fees apply) or spend an afternoon on the white sand beach and the world go by.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (7 mi/11 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (48 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Harbour Town (5.8 mi/9 km)
  • Shelter Cove Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (13 mi/21 km)
  • Beaufort, South Carolina (35 mi/56 km)
  • Savannah, Georgia (45 mi/72 km)
Business
  • More than 20,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor event space including ballroom, oceanfront pavilion and beach club
  • Facilities for all size groups, from 10-person meetings to elaborate theme dinners for 800
  • Large pre-function area with outdoor view
  • 4 spacious hospitality suites
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Personalized catering services
  • 24-hour business center (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs up to 35 pounds accepted. There is a $150 cleaning fee per stay. All pet rooms are either King Standard or Two Queens Standard guestrooms located on the first floor.  Dogs are required to be crated if the guest is going to leave them unattended in the room.
  • The property charges $16 resort fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.1543 -80.7318
Nearby airports
Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 40.00, MI, SW; Hilton Head Airport, (HHH), 7.00, MI, E; Charleston AFB/International Airport, (CHS), 100.00, MI, S; Jacksonville International Airport, (JAX), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Resort Hilton Head also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Rooms

King Standard
Superior King bed - non view balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Garden View One-Bedroom Suite
Courtyard Suite 950 Sq ft garden view dbl balcony sofa bed
Presidential Suite
One bedroom suite, king bed, 1200 sq ft, ocean view
Communications Accessible King
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 450 sq ft, non view
Comm Access Garden Vw One-Bedroo
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 950 sq ft suite, garden view
Comm Access Two Queens Garden Vi
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, garden view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible Two Queens B
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible King Bathtub
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden Roll-in
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, roll-in shower, garden view, 450 sq ft
Comm Acc Hospitality Suite with
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, 900 sq ft suite, garden view, sofa bed
Mobility Acc Two Queens Roll-in
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Standard
Two queen beds, 450 sq ft, balcony, non view
Mobility Access Garden Vw Suite
Mobility accessible suite, one king bed w/pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub, 950 sq ft
Executive King Corner Ocean View
King with 500 sq ft, ocean view, balcony, sofa bed, oversize shower
King Ocean Horizon View
King bed with queen pull out sofa, ocean horizon view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden View Ba
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner Garden Vie
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, sofa-bed, oversize shower, view of garden, pool or lagoon
Communications Access King Ocean
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed w/pull-out sofa, ocean view
Comm Access Two Queens Ocean Hor
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, ocean horizon view
Communications Access Two Queens
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, 450 sq ft, non view
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Roll-i
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access Exec King Corner
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, corner room, bathtub w/grab bars, 500 sq ft
King Garden View
Deluxe King Tropical Garden View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Vw Bat
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access King Ocean View
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, ocean view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Garden View
Two queen beds, garden view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Ocean Horizon View
Two queen beds, ocean horizon view, balcony, 450 sq ft
King Ocean View
Deluxe King Ocean Horizon View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe coffee maker-iron and board
Two Queens Ocean View
Two queen beds, ocean view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, oversize shower, view of resort grounds
Ocean View Studio Suite
King Bed, 900 sq ft suite, ocean view, wet bar

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Sweet Cane Bar and Grille
Sweet Cane is the pool-side place to be featuring outdoor service of refreshing beverages and food. A casual and relaxed atmosphere with polished and professional service.
Bayleys Bar and Terrace
A liquid Art Lobby Bar and Terrace Lounge at the Sonesta Resort. The greeting place for fresh morning coffee and hand crafted cappuccinos/ delightful afternoon refreshments and sophisticated evening cocktails.
Heywards Restaurant
Heywards serves both breakfast and dinner daily. Featuring a Friday night Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet or Saturday night with remarkable steaks/ succulent seafood and exceptional wine.
Seacrest Terrace and Patio
A lively location for island inspired lunches and small plate evening appetizers. A lounge to sip a cocktail and sit by the fire and to enjoy a menu reflecting Lowcountry cuisine. A perfect hideaway for a glass of wine or martini or classic cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaterBaby
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 21, 2013

Great Stay!!

Very beautiful and well kept grounds. Short walk to beach. Great for couples or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemymountains
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 16, 2013

Mother/daughter getaway

We had a wonderful time. Got a good deal and loved the hotel. Decor is beautiful, location is great, food is good and not too over priced. We had a room with "no view" but knew that ahead of time. Part of the discount I'm sure. Loved this place. We hope to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pool bar food is good and not too over priced. Try it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
llew
Business
aiken sc
Jun 1, 2013

holiday

excellent time all around.would return.thestaff was very friendly and helpful. we loved the pool area in addition to the beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaNard
Business
Orangeburg, SC
Apr 29, 2013

Wonderful experience

My experience at Sonesta was wonderful. I was only there for one, but I definitely would stay there again. Great staff, wonderful experience. I will recommend to others that are traveling to Hilton Head Island. Extra compliments to the lady working in the gift shop on Saturday afternoon - 4/27/2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired again
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 10, 2013

Overnight trip

The hotel was still under a facelift construction phase so the courtyard, pool area, and beach access was off limits. That was disappointing. The room was nice and fresh and the staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several good sea food restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica89
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 7, 2013

Should list on the website they are under construction.

Felt that we were over charged for what the hotel actually had to offer. Hotel is currently under construction, which we were not informed of. All but one restaurant and bar was open, which was situated right in the middle of the lobby (not very personable when trying to have a nice sit down dinner). Pools and spas were also all closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DSL67
Business
Rincon GA
Oct 24, 2012

Beautiful grounds...nice front desk staff...HOWEVER.

My husband and I visited Sonesta Hilton Head for the first time this past weekend. The grounds are beautiful and the front desk staff are super nice, HOWEVER other staff were borderline rude and the bed was like laying on a brick. After my stay I found an extra charge as well as holds on my debit card and had to deal with the accounting staff, the gentleman argued with me about my bill and was very rude. I have been overcharged for room service and will not receive a refund, and the holds on my account will just fall off when the bank decides they can be removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobbyWeck
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 1, 2012

outstanding resort with great location!

We were able to find an incredible deal at this resort at the last second. The fact that it was an outstanding resort was a complete bonus. We will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luv HHI
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 24, 2012

Great hotel

This was a perfect way to end the perfect vacation. The room was great with great amenities and the staff were very friendly. Would definitly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leannah
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Great stay at Sonesta

My husband and I decided on a last minute getaway to Hilton Head Island for one night. I found this great deal for $97.00 for a Saturday night garden view. The Sonesta Hilton resort was beautiful. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some bad reviews. The resort has two pools, one indoor and one out. The indoor one has a great (very hot) hottub. The outdoor pool has plenty of comfortable lounge chairs in the shade or sun. We ate the seafood buffet at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the plentiful steamed crab legs and great desserts. The hotel staff were very friendly and we are planning on a return visit very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top