$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

4 stars
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
82 reviews
Awesome hotel , amazing staff !

I just came back from my stay in HHI and I gotta say I will be back ! I picked the sonesta resort... See full review

  • Brazuka
  • Aug 20, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Great place to stay on HHI! Very nice remodel, ocean front, lots of amenities. See full review

  • KellySw
  • Jul 7, 2014
Southern hospitality and natural island elegance On Hilton Head Island
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head, located in Shipyard Plantation on the island's semi-tropical  south end, offers an elegant setting for events and romantic retreats. This oceanfront haven is a AAA Four Diamond award-winner featuring lush gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, a 24-hour fitness center and on-site dining and shopping. Flexible indoor and outdoor event space accommodates groups of all sizes. The resort is conveniently located near championship golf, nature preserves, shopping and white sand beaches.
Highlights
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Private balconies on all guest rooms
  • Convenient to beach, golf, tennis, fishing and outdoor activities
  • On-site restaurants, Sunday champagne brunch
Rooms
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features 340 guest rooms, including nine suites, in a U-shaped, five story building. Decorated in a luxurious Lowcountry style and native color palette, all rooms feature high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and a private balcony. Other amenities include a Keurig coffee and tea station, 46-inch LCD Internet-ready television, electronic safe deposit box, and iron and ironing board.
Features
For your dining convenience and enjoyment, Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offers several restaurants, with both indoor and outdoor dining options. All dining outlets are open to resort guests and area residents.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island features bike paths, a 24-hour fitness center and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Guests have access to all the outdoor activities Shipyard Plantation has to offer, including tennis and golf. See the concierge to book a fishing excursion, horseback ride, boat tour or Southern style adventure. Unwind with a relaxing treatment at Arum Spa (fees apply) or spend an afternoon on the white sand beach and the world go by.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (7 mi/11 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (48 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Harbour Town (5.8 mi/9 km)
  • Shelter Cove Mall (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Mall (13 mi/21 km)
  • Beaufort, South Carolina (35 mi/56 km)
  • Savannah, Georgia (45 mi/72 km)
Business
  • More than 20,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor event space including ballroom, oceanfront pavilion and beach club
  • Facilities for all size groups, from 10-person meetings to elaborate theme dinners for 800
  • Large pre-function area with outdoor view
  • 4 spacious hospitality suites
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Personalized catering services
  • 24-hour business center (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • Dogs up to 35 pounds accepted. There is a $150 cleaning fee per stay. All pet rooms are either King Standard or Two Queens Standard guestrooms located on the first floor.  Dogs are required to be crated if the guest is going to leave them unattended in the room.
  • The property charges $16 resort fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.1543 -80.7318
Nearby airports
Savannah International Airport, (SAV), 40.00, MI, SW; Hilton Head Airport, (HHH), 7.00, MI, E; Charleston AFB/International Airport, (CHS), 100.00, MI, S; Jacksonville International Airport, (JAX), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Resort Hilton Head also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Rooms

King Standard
Superior King bed - non view balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Garden View One-Bedroom Suite
Courtyard Suite 950 Sq ft garden view dbl balcony sofa bed
Presidential Suite
One bedroom suite, king bed, 1200 sq ft, ocean view
Communications Accessible King
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 450 sq ft, non view
Comm Access Garden Vw One-Bedroo
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed, 950 sq ft suite, garden view
Comm Access Two Queens Garden Vi
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, garden view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible Two Queens B
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Accessible King Bathtub
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden Roll-in
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, roll-in shower, garden view, 450 sq ft
Comm Acc Hospitality Suite with
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, 900 sq ft suite, garden view, sofa bed
Mobility Acc Two Queens Roll-in
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Standard
Two queen beds, 450 sq ft, balcony, non view
Mobility Access Garden Vw Suite
Mobility accessible suite, one king bed w/pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub, 950 sq ft
Executive King Corner Ocean View
King with 500 sq ft, ocean view, balcony, sofa bed, oversize shower
King Ocean Horizon View
King bed with queen pull out sofa, ocean horizon view, 450 sq ft
Mobility Acc King Garden View Ba
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, garden view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner Garden Vie
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, sofa-bed, oversize shower, view of garden, pool or lagoon
Communications Access King Ocean
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, king bed w/pull-out sofa, ocean view
Comm Access Two Queens Ocean Hor
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, ocean horizon view
Communications Access Two Queens
Communications accessible, strobe light smoke detector, two queen beds, 450 sq ft, non view
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Roll-i
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, roll-in shower with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access Exec King Corner
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, corner room, bathtub w/grab bars, 500 sq ft
King Garden View
Deluxe King Tropical Garden View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe
Mob Acc Two Queens Garden Vw Bat
Mobility accessible, two queen beds, garden view, bathtub with grab bars, 450 sq ft
Mobility Access King Ocean View
Mobility accessible, king bed with pull-out sofa, ocean view, bathtub w/grab bars, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Garden View
Two queen beds, garden view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Two Queens Ocean Horizon View
Two queen beds, ocean horizon view, balcony, 450 sq ft
King Ocean View
Deluxe King Ocean Horizon View balcony-hi speed int-ac-safe coffee maker-iron and board
Two Queens Ocean View
Two queen beds, ocean view, balcony, 450 sq ft
Executive King Corner
King with 500 sq ft, balcony, oversize shower, view of resort grounds
Ocean View Studio Suite
King Bed, 900 sq ft suite, ocean view, wet bar

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Sweet Cane Bar and Grille
Sweet Cane is the pool-side place to be featuring outdoor service of refreshing beverages and food. A casual and relaxed atmosphere with polished and professional service.
Bayleys Bar and Terrace
A liquid Art Lobby Bar and Terrace Lounge at the Sonesta Resort. The greeting place for fresh morning coffee and hand crafted cappuccinos/ delightful afternoon refreshments and sophisticated evening cocktails.
Heywards Restaurant
Heywards serves both breakfast and dinner daily. Featuring a Friday night Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet or Saturday night with remarkable steaks/ succulent seafood and exceptional wine.
Seacrest Terrace and Patio
A lively location for island inspired lunches and small plate evening appetizers. A lounge to sip a cocktail and sit by the fire and to enjoy a menu reflecting Lowcountry cuisine. A perfect hideaway for a glass of wine or martini or classic cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CassLea
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 27, 2014

Last minute mini-vacation!

The resort was newly renovated and the rooms were extremely nice! The outside of the hotel looked very dated, but once you stepped inside you were shocked at the clean modern appearance. I travel a lot on business so I've become a bit of a hotel snob when it comes to the cleanliness of the rooms...I was thoroughly impressed. It's a MUST STAY! The only drawback, not a lot of activities for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend traveler123
Business
Csra, ga
Mar 10, 2014

Weekend getaway

The location of the hotel/resort is awesome. Very close to restaurants and entertainment and the beach!! Most of the staff was helpful and kind except for the manager who was trying to make quota for their rewards program. Once denied, she became unprofessional and held the grudge until check out. It was very odd and unusual so we brushed it off thinking it was just her character. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. The area where the hotel is situated is quiet but still active. Many people were ou biking during the day. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nightlife doesn't pick up for ther younger crowd until after 11. Don't be discouraged if lookin for a club and find one that is empty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Dreamer
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Mar 6, 2014

Relaxing spring break getaway

We particularly enjoyed the jacuzzi. The room was clean and big. Large TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcr1109
Business
Clay ny
Feb 23, 2014

Sonesta

Great place to stay. Right on the beach heated pool $150 pet fee a little steep, usually it's $75. They did reduce it to 75 as a courtesy though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NoraPaige
Business
Bristol, TN
Feb 5, 2014

Beautiful Resort

We only wish our stay could have been longer! Service was good, the resort was very well taken care of and our room was nice and clean. The décor was modern and the beds were comfy. We loved that the pools were heated so we could enjoy them during the chilly times! We will definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miranda C
Business
savannah, GA
Jan 1, 2014

bugs

We've stayed at the Sonesta in Hilton Head several times and had talked up the hotel to family we had visiting from California. We were excited to get a night away at this lovely hotel, but were sorely disappointed when we found several dead cockroaches in the pull out sofa our children were going to sleep on. It took management about 40 min to respond to the complaint and they failed to do so professionally. The staff seemed to be unsure of how to handle the situation. We asked to be moved to a different room because our 3 and 4 year old were ready for bed and were becoming increasingly irritated as it was getting later and later. Management got us another room of equal value on a different floor but did not even send up a cart to help us move. They refunded the resort fee of $17 per room for our two rooms and a $30 charge for bike rental the previous day. In the past we had frequented this hotel, but will be finding a different hotel to stay at when we are in the area now. Had the management handled the situation more professionally and better compensated us for the inconveniences perhaps we would still frequent the hotel. Bugs in the South are occasionally understandable, but the apparent lack of concern and professionalism from the management at this caliber of resort is disheartening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at One Hot Mama's! Awesome BBQ/Beer joint. Everything on the menu is outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rums
Business
Georgia
Dec 23, 2013

Very good family resort

Excellent experience however beach view is not the best. Even after paying extra for the ocean view room the view wasn't very good, we saw more trees and hardly any beach. Hotel staff was excellent and very courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BurrrrColdShower
Business
London, KY, USA
Dec 3, 2013

Couldn't be better

Beautiful facility in a fabulous location! This was our first stay at the recently renovated Sonesta Resort Hilton Head. Everything was top of the line. Weather was a little cool even for November, but everything else was nice enough to make up for that. Great stay and great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hudson's is great. Excellent food in a very casual waterside setting with a truly island feel and appeal and decades of service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yggep
Business
Montgomery Tx
Oct 7, 2013

Perfect Location

Great building perfect beach so beautiful too bad the desk staff is so unfriendly. I arrived and signed in . I think the gentleman had ADD he kept looking all around at other people and the area AND HE WAS TRAINING SOMEONE. No welcome No glad to have you. When I completed the sign in he just pushed the room key across the desk to me. it was a 4 digit number. I give up. I am from Texas could you tell me where my room might be? When I pulled up the staff did not offer to take my luggage to the room. I saw many other people pulling their own luggage. If you need service pick somewhere else. I will pick another hotel in this beautiful place .Housekeepers friendly and welcoming and cheerful and did a great job

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MACATL
Business
Atlanta,GA
Sep 16, 2013

Quick Trip out of time

It was a good time but definitely resorty on prices for stuff in the restaurant and bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Charlie's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top