$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

4 stars
40 Folly Field Road, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
24 reviews
Great Experience!!

I booked reservation at the Hilton Head Island Tennis and Beach Resort for my 6 yr anniversary for... See full review

  • Painful Payne
  • May 19, 2014
Good Beach Stay!

Stayed there many times. Held up to expectations! Good for family and multiple families to stay.... See full review

  • Livd2000
  • Jul 2, 2014
Hilton Head resort with convention center, tennis courts, pro shop
The Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort offers a comfortable oceanfront home-away-from-home, complete with a fully equipped kitchen and a sleeper sofa. Book a lesson with the on-site tennis pro while the kids enjoy special summertime activities. Or rent a bike at the resort and explore the island’s many natural wonders.
Highlights
  • 10 lighted tennis courts, pro shop; tennis pro available
  • Convention center, accommodates up to 2,000 people
  • Villas with fully equipped kitchens and living areas
  • Oceanfront swimming pool, kid's pool
  • Outdoor barbecue areas
Location
Guests at the Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort take advantage of miles of pristine beaches and some of the best golf courses in the country. Explore the island’s natural wonders by bike or head into town for fine dining and upscale shopping.
Rooms
Choose from villas in three areas of the resort. Some offer ocean views or easy access to the large outdoor pool or tennis courts. Each villa includes a full kitchen, dining area and a sleeper sofa. Some have bunk beds. All are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, data port, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board, DVD player and satellite television.
Features
The Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort boasts a large oceanfront pool, and a kiddie pool. Tennis enthusiasts can try out ten lighted courts, visit the pro shop and book a lesson with the tennis pro. Kids enjoy the on-site playground and summertime crafts and games like sand dollar decorating contests, underwater limbo, face painting and more.

There are several options for casual dining and drinks at the resort, including Jamaica Joez Beach Bar and the Jamaica Monz Ice Cream Hut. The Shanty offers shrimp and oysters and the Island Traderz general store covers the essentials.
Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (40 mi/65 km)
  • Charleston International Airport (105 mi/168 km)
Attractions
  • Adventure Cove Fun Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Harbour Town Lighthouse (9 mi/15 km)
  • Historic Savannah, Georgia (37 mi/62 km)
Business
  • 15,000 square feet of conference facilities accommodating up to 2,000 people
  • Event space on deck overlooking lagoon
  • Business center
  • Copy service
Policies and fees
  • Please note: Office hours are Mon-Sun 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.
  • There is a $25 USD resort fee per stay. Minimum age required at check-in is 21.
  • Check-in is at 4 p.m. and check-out is at 10 a.m. All guests should go to the welcome center upon arrival to the resort. Minimum age required at check-in is 21. If you plan to arrive after the scheduled check-in time, please call ahead at 1-843-842-4402 so that we can arrange your after-hours check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2029 -80.6925
Area served
Hilton Head Island
Nearby airports
SAV
Area description
This popular barrier island destination is located off the coast of South Carolina. The pristine natural environment offers a relaxing, hospitable atmosphere. Fertile salt marshes and sandy beaches are interspersed with championship golf and tennis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort Rooms

Deluxe one bedroom resortview condo
This 500 sq. ft. one bedroom unit features a full kitchen, dining area, and is steps away from the sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island. The unit features a queen bed in the bedroom, a sleeper sofa in the living area, and 2 captain bunk beds.
Deluxe two bedroom resortview condo
This 850 sq. ft. two bedroom unit features a full kitchen, dining area and is steps away from the sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island. There is a queen bed in the master, two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa in the living area.
Deluxe one bedroom oceanfront condo
This 500 sq. ft. one bedroom unit features a full kitchen, dining area, and is steps away from the sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island. The unit features a queen bed in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living area.
Deluxe one bedroom oceanview condo
This 500 sq. ft. one bedroom unit features a full kitchen, dining area, and is steps away from the sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island. The unit features a queen bed in the bedroom, 2 captain bunk beds, and a sleeper sofa in the living area.
Deluxe two bedroom oceanview condo
This 850 sq. ft. two bedroom unit features a full kitchen, dining area and is steps away from the sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island. There is a queen bed in the master, two twin beds in the second bedroom, and a sleeper sofa in the living area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foley Mom
Foley, Alabama
May 5, 2013

Quiet and restful hotel

Everything was great. The only downfall was poor cellphone service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ksbikr
Business
Midwest
Mar 1, 2014

Needs updating.

Paid for ocean view and had to stand on tiptoes of balcony to get a glimpse of the water. Don't accept a first floor room if you expect to see the ocean. Very small outdated bathroom and bedroom. Couldn't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sbreuer
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Be careful of this place!

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our wedding anniversary. As soon as we approached the door to our room, I could tell it wasn't going to be great. Cleaning staff approached the door to our unit as we were bringing our things in and said they were supposed to clean the room that we had just checked into. We told them that we were told at the front desk it was ready and one of the staff said, "Well, is it dirty?" to my husband who shrugged and said he didn't know and that maybe they should check. One of the girls went inside briefly and popped back out and said it SHOULD be fine, I don't really think she cared very much. When I asked where the ice machine was, they laughed at me. Jeez. Upon entering, the unit smelled TERRIBLY of smoke! I'm not particularly sensitive to smells, but this was bad! Everything was saturated with the smell of stale cigarette smoke (the furniture, the sheets, blankets and comforters, the bath towels, EVERYTHING), as if it were primarily a smoking room. I re-checked to make sure and it was clearly labeled a non smoking room. Aside from the smell, the furniture and rooms were fine, nothing fancy. The main queen sized bed was pretty hard though. The bathroom was fine, though the doors to both the bathroom and leading from there into the master bedroom would cut off much of the space in the bathroom. There were holes throughout the shower curtain and liner. The towels were shabby and, let's just say, "well used." The living room area was nice enough. There was a soft microfiber couch to sit on. Again, my complaint would just be that it smelled badly of smoke with cigarette burns in the carpet. The kitchen area was decent with a full size fridge. The oven and dishwasher were smaller, which was fine for us. Take care if you use their glassware as several of the glasses were found to have pretty large chips in them. If I hadn't pointed it out to my husband, he would've cut his lip. I'm not sure if the smoke issue was specific to the unit we got or if that's how all of them are. This is just something I wanted others to be aware of. I wish I would've known this before booking as I would've looked elsewhere. (As it was, I strongly considered finding another place to stay for the two nights we were there but, because of how busy the island was with spring breakers, I chose not to. I later regretted that decision though.) For the price, the place was decent. As long as you're not expecting nice accommodations, you should be fine. I probably wouldn't recommend this place for a family getaway but it would be fine for college kids or anyone who doesn't plan on spending much time in the room. One other thing that bothered me a little was the security situation. There was no safe in the room and the lock to the door would've been easy to overcome. If you were in the unit, you could use the deadbolt and chain, but the only key we were given was to the bottom push button lock (not the deadbolt). I brought all of my valuables with me whenever I left just to be on the safe side. Just a heads up, no beach towels or beach equipment on site. We brought our own as we called ahead to ask, but just letting others know. Also, no shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom, just bars of hotel soap. (My husband wanted me to make sure to mention this!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Palmetto Bay Sunrise Cafe is a cute little breakfast spot. The service is super fast and the mimosa's are HUGE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Northern American Traveler
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 25, 2011

2 day stay

Walked on the beach. Restaurants were closed during our stay. Bicycles were not part of the room rate. Hotel not up to Hilton Head expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy food/wine for eating on the deck. View was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Expected More Michael
Business
Suwanee, GA
Jun 29, 2010

Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Reso

For the money, the room was very small and outdated. The furniture was dirty - we covered them with sheets. It did have free wireless internet in the room and a large pool area and it is right on the beach. The grounds were quite neat as well. I would not stay there again and would not recommend it unless you ask for a newer and updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksbikr
Business
Midwest
Feb 28, 2014

Outdated

Room was like stepping into 1960's. Pretty sure no improvements made since original construction. Thought my foot was going to go through the floor in the bathroom. Paid for an ocean view-- might have been able to see the ocean with a step ladder on the balcony. If you pay for an ocean view don't accept a room on the 1st floor. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Acushman
Business
Augusta Ga
Apr 22, 2014

It's ok

I was very disappointed in the room. It was very small with only 1 tv in living room. The balcony was so nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The front bar has some great food and staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vondajenn
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 30, 2013

Just average really

My boyfriend and I were very excited about staying in HHI as it was Memorial Day weekend and our 1 year anniversary. We primarily booked through here because of the availabiltiy of a beachfront hotel and the oceanview condo we reserved. We checked into the hotel with 4 -5 ladies just standing there having conversation and then one young lady walked over and checked us in. Very mediocre customer service. I work in hotels so I know how it should be done. Imagine my suprise when I saw on the form that it was a resort view room..not oceanview which was what I reserved. I even showed her the email from my phone and she quoted.."Sorry thats not how it came over to us...nothing I can do." Obviously, I was not very happy. When we reached the condo, we were pleasantly surprised, it was nice and updated and clean and had a view of the tennis courts...Our condo was a 4-5 minute walk to the beach which wasnt bad I guess. The location of the hotel was nice and close to everything. The outlets and restaurants there left something to the imagination. We walked up after lunch and there was nothing open until 4pm on Sunday of Memorial Day...go figure! Overall we had an excellent time in HHI, but next time we will not be selecting this hotel...and probably not o..z either as what was promised and paid for was not what we received at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 6, 2011

Our Hilton head stay

We enjoyed tennis lessons for the kids, the pool and visiting the beach. The condition of our unit was not as good as we are accustomed to. We had to have housekeeping to come and clean the inch of dust off all the ceiling fans. We could not get a towel change without paying for it and had to wash resort towels and washcloths. There were NO washers/dryers in the unit so we had to tote our clotes to the community laundry room. To make matters worse, the dryers did not dry the clothes and they were too expensive. All of this took some enjoyment out of the vacation. I would get a different cleaning service. They did not clean up to standards we have seen in other resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the chicken fingers at the beach restaurant. They are delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 29, 2011

The good and the bad

We've been going to Hilton Head since 1981 and we've always enjoyed our trips. All of the places we've stayed have been fabulous until this year. I was under the assumption we were staying closer to the beach and we weren't. I went to the office to get another garbage bag and they told me that was a starter set and you don't get anymore. The same with towels they wanted to charge $13 for a bundle of towels. There was no washer and dryer in the facility either. We had stayed at that complex before and there was a washer and dryer and their wasn't in this one. Just very disappointed in that and will not stay in that resort anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ktcfam
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 27, 2014

Had a good time but won't be back

Let me start by saying we had a good time! The beach was clean and the weather was perfect. But one afternoon we wanted to take our kids to the play ground, as soon as we walked onto the sand I got bit by an ant. Then we saw ants everywhere! We has to carry our boys off the play ground because they were getting bit all over their feet. Next we went to Gator pizza for dinner. The staff seemed very inexperienced. We ordere drinks from the cooler but the cooler was broke and all the drinks were warm. We stayed at the same place last year and had a wonderful time. This go- a - around was much different. We will definitely go beck to HHI but we'll stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring bug spray!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top