$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Hampton Inn Hilton Head

3 stars
1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
62 reviews
Clean, Friendly, Great Value

Competent check-in and our room was ready a couple of hours early! Clean, clean, clean. microwave... See full review

  • karenhar07
  • Apr 1, 2014
Hotel Stay

It was the prefect location for me and nice choices on the breakfast. The weather was great... See full review

  • Names all taken
  • Feb 16, 2014
Hilton Head Island getaway to natural wonders and upscale fun
At the Hampton Inn Hilton Head, budget travelers can enjoy all the golf, dining, shopping and outdoor fun the island has to offer. Go on a late-night turtle watch at the Coastal Discovery Museum to observe endangered loggerhead turtles or head to the outlet mall for a bargain. Breakfast is free, and so is high-speed Internet access in the spacious rooms. Hampton Inn Hilton Head also has a fitness center and pool.
Highlights
  • Convenient to outdoor activities and outlet shopping
  • Free high-speed Internet in guest rooms, Wi-Fi in lobby and public spaces
  • Free breakfast, available to-go during the week
  • Fitness center, swimming pool
  • Complimentary parking
Rooms

All tastefully decorated rooms at the Hampton Inn Hilton Head include comfy Clean and Fresh Hampton Beds, a coffee-maker and an iron and ironing board. Some units include a microwave and refrigerator. Bathrooms feature a WaterPik showerhead and a curved shower rod. All rooms at the Hampton Inn Hilton Head include free high-speed Internet access.

Features

Hampton Inn Hilton Head breakfast is free and available to-go during the week. A variety of restaurants are close by. Laundry and valet service is available as well (fees apply). The Hampton Inn Hilton Head features a fitness center and swimming pool. Parking on-site is free.


Take in the island's natural wonders at the Newhall Audubon Nature Preserve and Sea Pines Forest Preserve or observe the endangered loggerhead turtles during mating season. A host of bargains await at the Tanger Outlet Malls and Shelter Cove.

Transportation
  • Hilton Head Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Savannah International Airport (38 mi/61 km)
Attractions
  • Coastal Discovery Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Shelter Cove mall and shops (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Newhall Audubon Nature Preserve (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Tanger Outlet Malls (8 mi/13 km)
  • Harbour Town Lighthouse (10 mi/16 km)
  • Harbour Town marina (10 mi/16 km)
  • Sea Pines Forest Preserve (10 mi/16 km)
  • Parris Island (38 mi/61 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in public spaces
  • Meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed for renovation from Monday, April 21 until Friday, May 16.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Hilton Head also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couch potato turned adventurer
Business
Orwigsburg, PA
Oct 24, 2009

Fresh & Clean

The Hampton Inn is centrally located on Hilton Head Island with easy access to beaches, marinas, restaurants, etc. It was clean and inviting, and the thing that impressed me most was that upon entering the room, it smelled so fresh and clean and looked modern. The beds were especially comfy, with white down comforters and lots of pillows; our standard room had two queen size beds. The microwave and minifridge were also convenient, and the room was a nice size for the price -- a good value. Views from the room were only of the parking lot or pool, but the hotel is surrounded by trees and had a pleasant secluded feel. The hotel did not have a lot of amenities, but the surrounding areas of Hilton Head provide more than enough entertainment and relaxation. There are restaurants and a movie theater nearby. The hotel also has a little "store" area to buy snacks, drinks, and ice cream, rather than just vending machines. The daily free breakfast was pretty standard, but nicely laid out and fairly generous. There were also cookies provided in the afternoon. It was a great home away from home during our long weekend to Hilton Head. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My teenage son and I thoroughly enjoyed the two excursions that we went on. One evening, we took a sunset dolpin-watch cruise on a catamaran called Pau Hana. The owner, [...], was wonderful and made us feel so welcome. It is a small sailing vessel, so it was quiet and not crowded, and you are allowed to bring coolers with snacks & drinks. Many couples brought wine and cheese, and it was just spectacular sighting the dolphins while Jeannie shared information about Hilton Head, and then relaxing while watching the beautiful sunset. They let my son "captain" the ship for a few minutes and took our picture. Our other excursion was a 2-hour kayaking trip up the inlet with an outfit called Kayaks Hilton Head. Our guide was very friendly, offering to take our photo for us and jumping off the dock with my son at the end of the trip. Both of these trips were quite inexpensive. Check their websites (can search the names or follow links thru Hilton Head Chamber of Commerce website) for coupons. We saved $15 each on the kayaking trip and paid only $25.00 each. Young kids are cheaper, and they have double kayaks and kid-sized oars so that families with kids as young as 3 or 4 can have a great time. Dolphins popped up near the kayaks every few minutes, which made for a very memorable and fun experience. Also check out Caligny Beach -- with its interactive fountain, clean and modern bathrooms, porch swings, and beautiful fine white sand beach, it is perfect for a family or couple.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnson City, TN
Oct 16, 2009

Honeymoon

The hotel was in a great location! We were never more than 10 mins from any place we wanted to go. The staff was friendly and very helpful too. The rooms were super clean and quiet. The bed was ever so relaxing! I slept like a baby! Overall the Hampton Inn is a great, inexpensive place to stay if you ever travel to Hilton Head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at some great places around the area. Hot dog Harbour was a great little hotdog joint we found. The dogs there were awesome! Also check out Wild Wings. Their wings were great and they had a huge selection to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Retirees
Business
Greenville and Columbia, SC
Sep 8, 2009

A Great Getaway

My sisters and I were there to relax and take in the beach and do shopping. We enjoyed the short drive to the beach and other places. The continental breakfast was a variety of healthy and tasty items: biscuits, eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, Danish and muffins, packaged grits and oatmeal,juice, and coffee. The desk clerks were cheerful and friendly. Sitting by the pool early morning was relaxing and peaceful. There was an exercise room and pool but not a sauna. We were located at the very end of the hallway, which we didn't like, but the room was comfortable. It was annoying for the exhaust fan to be tied into the light. Sometimes you want to use the restroom without all the noise from the fan. If you don't have a laptop, you can check your mail in a little room off from the outdoor pool and dining room. Overall, we liked the hotel and would stay here again. This trip met all our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel price was not expensive and if you are on a strict budget, you will appreciate the continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia sc
Sep 4, 2009

Hilton Head Hampton

Very peaceful and great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sun princess
Business
maryland
Aug 27, 2009

OK stay

The hotel is in a good location. The rooms were fine, beds comfy. Our AC was broken the first night, and there were ants in the room. We were told we would be moved the next day, but when we asked for the new room keys, they said they didnt have any rooms. When we showed them that the room still had ants, we were told we had to move to another room, which at 8 PM was not ready, so we had to wait till 9:30 for them to fix the AC in that room. We thought that due to these problems, and their 100 percent satisfaction guarentee, we should not have to pay the first 2 nights, but they were only willing to refind one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

excellent breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylva, NC
Aug 13, 2009

4 day vacation for family of 3

Good location on Hilton Head Island. Great free breakfast from 6-10 am. 5 minutes from beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

When going on "dolphin" excursions, the dolphins will not come up to your boat because they know that you cannot feed them. Feeding dolphins has been illegal since early 1990's. The only way a dolphin will come up to you is if you are on a rented boat.....some of the older dolphins who remember the good old days will approach these boats looking for a handout. They are very smart and know that the excursion boats will give them nothing, so they don't waste their time. Otherwise, you will be paying for essentially what is a boat ride in the Intercoastal waterway and get sort of close to oyster beds, pelicans, and a few other birds. I think the pictures on the dolphin excursion websites are VERY misleading.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheSparo
Business
Cookeville, TN
Aug 12, 2009

Very Home-like

Staff was VERY friendly and helpful whenever possible! Housekeeping staff was short-staffed so it was late at time to have fresh towels and asking for them. But, everything else was amazingly comforting! Beds were much more comfortable than expected and very quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, North Carolina
Aug 9, 2009

Honeymoon Stay

Our room was nice but they were renovating the rooms around us with a lot of people coming in and out all day. The overall stay was good though with a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the restaurant menu guide they give you when you check in. It is a great way to plan your meals as they give you early bird specials and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 18, 2009

Wedding Weekend

My friends and I went to Hilton Head for a wedding on the beach and we stayed here. The beach was not far from our hotel. When I arrived, I had booked the wrong room and they were able to switch me the next night. On the day of the wedding, I needed a hair stylist and the receptionist called hair salons for me. She definitely went above and beyond for me!!! The breakfast was also very good as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 26, 2009

Great location

Just 5 minutes from the beach. Clean rooms. Will definetly be our annual vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top