$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

2 stars
2 Tanglewood Dr., Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
61 reviews
Great value for a hotel close to the beach!

Hotel was clean, offered free breakfast, had a gym and was only a ten minute walk from the beach!... See full review

  • TeacherNC
  • Jun 24, 2014
Quick trip

Very clean room. Only stayed one night off-season but very nice! See full review

  • Drbones
  • Jan 20, 2014
The Comfort Inn located a short two block walk from the famous sandy beaches of Hilton Head Island, is just minutes from world class golf, tennis, shopping and dining. All guest rooms are well appointed with hairdryer, iron/board, coffee makers, voicemail and free high speed internet access, both wired and wireless. Our outdoor resort-style pool has a spacious, tropical sunning deck and we also offer the convenience of bike rentals and guest laundry. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast each morning, featuring hot fluffy Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and more. Pet accommodation: 25.00 USD first night, 10.00 USD thereafter. Pet limit: max 2 pets per room, up to 40 pounds. Unregistered pets will incur a 100.00 USD penalty fee. Tybee Island: about 80 minutes.

Hotel Map

32.1409 -80.7553
Nearby airports
Hilton Head Airport, (HHH), 8.00, MI, S; Savannah/Hilton Head Int'l, (SAV), 45.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Resort, Close to Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Aug 17, 2010

Lies, lies and more lies

They advertised on your web site that they were one block from ocean - total lie. They advertised that they had a fitness center when no such thing existed. This will be my very last time booking anything through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Aug 17, 2010

Lies, lies and more lies

They advertised on your web site that they were one block from ocean - total lie. They advertised that they had a fitness center when no such thing existed. This will be my very last time booking anything through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Augusta GA
Jun 16, 2010

Lots of room for improvement.

Hotel was not clean, lobby and elevators were disgusting. Hotel rooms are 1/4 mile from registration, nothing is clearly marked. Not a single sign on the room areas that clearly indicate what hotel you are in, given the amount of hotels in the area; you are clearly on your own to figure out how to find your room. Arrived back at hotel around 10 pm ande had to park at registration due to not a single parking space available. Area had no appropriate lighting and had to walk to hotel location in the dark. Was very concerned for the safety of my vehicle (which signs indicate hotel bears no responsibilty for break ins or theft, indicating their are obvious issues) and my person. Def would pay more next time to stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long long long walk to the beach. Would recommend pool to anyone based on cleanliness of rest of hotel.

Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte,NC
May 23, 2011

Terrible experience

Rude unprofessional front desk, no consideration or concern for guests. False representaation of location. The two block walk to the beach is from the driveway of the check in not from where the rooms are located which are another 200+ yards away. The walk to the beach, restaurants, shops etc is more likely 6-8 blocks with limited options. Would not recommend and without a doubt will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike&Elena
Bonaire, Ga
Jun 21, 2010

Rancid smell, soggy carpets

We arrived in our first room and there was a rancid smell. We noticed the floor under the air conditioner was soggy wet. So we requested another room. The staff was very helpful in getting us another room but when we checkd into the second room the same problem existed except even worse! We could not take our shoes off or lay anything on the carpet inside our room the entire stay(two days)The mell was terrible throughout due to the wet carpets. The remote on the TV didnt work properly. Small bath rooms,just a very unpleasent experience. I'm afraid all the economy hotels and motel in Hilton Head are like this though. All very old buildings. We had simliar experience in a Holiday Inn last year. We have a time share in the Shipyard and it is great. i don't recommend using any low cost economy hotel. Stick with the Marriott or a time share. Pay the price for rest, sleep, enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte,NC
May 23, 2011

Terrible experience

Rude unprofessional front desk, no consideration or concern for guests. False representaation of location. The two block walk to the beach is from the driveway of the check in not from where the rooms are located which are another 200+ yards away. The walk to the beach, restaurants, shops etc is more likely 6-8 blocks with limited options. Would not recommend and without a doubt will never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Augusta GA
Jun 16, 2010

Lots of room for improvement.

Hotel was not clean, lobby and elevators were disgusting. Hotel rooms are 1/4 mile from registration, nothing is clearly marked. Not a single sign on the room areas that clearly indicate what hotel you are in, given the amount of hotels in the area; you are clearly on your own to figure out how to find your room. Arrived back at hotel around 10 pm ande had to park at registration due to not a single parking space available. Area had no appropriate lighting and had to walk to hotel location in the dark. Was very concerned for the safety of my vehicle (which signs indicate hotel bears no responsibilty for break ins or theft, indicating their are obvious issues) and my person. Def would pay more next time to stay anywhere but here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long long long walk to the beach. Would recommend pool to anyone based on cleanliness of rest of hotel.

Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alpharetta friends
Alpharetta, GA
Jun 14, 2009

So so hotel

While the staff was accomodating and the location was good, the property is very old and outdated. Had we known we would have to upgrade (at an additional cost) to have a refrigerator in the room, we wouldn't have booked it. Also, there were many pets at the property and this was another unpleasant factor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is just a short walk to Coligny Plaza, which has many stores and restaurants. Also, it is a short walk to the beach.

Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaveyG
Upstate NY
Dec 5, 2011

Motel 6 with a nice name

Outside is lovely. Inside it is just Motel 6. Old style heat/AC units sticking out the window. Rooms with overwhelming sweet room freshner smell. Lobby musty and nasty smelling. Free breakfast has to be walked too (1/2 block) or driven to, and food really not very good at all. Did have a nice balcony off the room but no chairs on it. It was cheaper than many other options. If money is tight, this is an OK place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just up the street a mile or so, shopping center with super market and some places to eat.

Review of Comfort Inn - South Forest Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sunny dee
Georgia
Jun 20, 2009

the bad, and the good

Was there something missing that would made your stay more enjoyable? Yes when I booked my resevation, I booked a room with two dbs beds, sofabed,balcony, view pool.when I got there my room had no sofa,fridge nor a microwave and the lady charge me ten dollar a day to have a sofabed,fridge,microwave in the room. The bathroom had no airconitioner & elevater.I stay at the Park Lake hotel, in Hilton Head and got a studio room for less price than what this one charges. This had no jacuzzi and when I asked the front about one they said we can use one down the road for seven dollars a day. This hotal advertised thing they don't have. The pool was dirty and the breakfast was to far away from the hotel. We had no control of how cold we wanted the room at, it got very stuffy and hot at nite when your trying to sleep. I wouldn't recomend this to anyone, I would tell them about the other hotel we stay at. The park lane had great breakfast,mini golf, great pool & a jacuzzi with no charge and they didn't charge me extra for fridge,sofabed, microwave. I had a kitchen,w/ cooking supply to cook with and room upstair with tv,bathroom, for a cheaper price, I wish I had just booked that instead of this one. I was really disapointed on comfort inn,there usally nice place to stay at, but not this one. I had never stay at a place that charges for this and that. It also said free internet, couldn't get on the internet with my laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top